• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

TopGun

Sengkang got retained with a larger WP margin and PAP completely dominated their guaranteed wins; otherwise (assuming NCM's margin holds) everything tracks.

All the mosquito parties (and to a smaller extent PSP/SDP minus CSJ) got completely smashed. The margins we're seeing are historic. Yet at the same time, with such a decisive swing, the happy silent majority is also very firm about keeping WP around as the credible opposition.

Other than the active threat to Singapore that NCM getting back in Parliament poses, I think this is all I can ask for.

People are now voting based on party branding. And there's also the thing with giving LW a chance as a first time PM. So long as WP can field good candidates, the electorate will give the WP candidate due consideration, and they won't be so kind in 2030.

CyberTan

People are now voting based on party branding. And there's also the thing with giving LW a chance as a first time PM. So long as WP can field good candidates, the electorate will give the WP candidate due consideration, and they won't be so kind in 2030.
You also buy Toyota, LV right? That's why you must respect marketers.

JohannSu1864

I think Singaporeans still value stability, especially with the election is the leadership transition from the 3G to 4G team

In uncertain times, many prefer steady governance over disruptive change
We are a democracy country, so I accept it since that's what the majority want. Give WP candidates time to grow n mature , next GE 1 shot win 3GRC.

testart

Maybe the opposition parties like PPP SUP PAR NSP are too weak

There may come a day when WP have enough candidates to challenge the 97 seats

Vegitto

Have to hand it to LW.
Substituted so many players and can win by a larger margin.
Brushed the OPP and his ex-boss completely.

His gamble paid off.

Sub out a couple of the jlb ones that made many people dulan (eggmy)... so gives the impression that this pm listen to the people.

Too bad many fell for it. We could have made him sub out even more jlb

LAMtopia

Fully agreed.
With such high credible candidates for WP and SDP especially at j kayu and still lost is proof sg doesn’t appreciate credibility n integrity…

My niece a lawyer also called to V for oppo while her parents are pap supporters…

My kids too are for pee ah pee cos they are self entitled people

Sad reality…
Andre Low kena sabo by leaked telegram chat. I am sure some residents do not appreciate F words being used on one of them post the MPS session. The other parts of the chat are actually quite ok. But the MPS one is quite damning.

Nuclear Boy

sure or not. i am ah sia kia still vote oppo cause i always support the underdogs and i hate 9% gst, ceca, national service, gerrymandering

maybe i am the 1% minority
If you being ASK if real, then yeah... But your cohorts voting oppo would most likely be for alternative policies, more diverse representation etc instead of bread-and-butter issues, since you guys don't really have anything to lose.

Medicated Oil

Fully agreed.
With such high credible candidates for WP and SDP especially at j kayu and still lost is proof sg doesn’t appreciate credibility n integrity…

My niece a lawyer also called to V for oppo while her parents are pap supporters…

My kids too are for pee ah pee cos they are self entitled people

Sad reality…
Just share with you.
You should be the few that rooted for OPP.
All of the female on my chat group are shouting for voting wisely in their message when I send the VoteQ website link.

I respect what the others vote for.
Dun really slap them for voting for the white side.

blurpandasg2014

Millennials are hopeless

They are too young to go through the pains from pap (still sheltered by parents from all the bills and stuff). And totally apolitical. They don't even know the big mishaps like the ACRA NRIC saga and stuff.
Genz not millennials. The gen Z are the new voters. Millennials were when WP won

junjie433

ya need to consolidate..and find qualified ppl + charismatic ppl to join them

AND next election must use the BY-ELECTION TACTIC but need other oppo to agree lo

Nomination day let PAP win more than half, then form govt liao.. then election is by-election then very high chance ppl will dare to vote for oppo liao.. problem is those stupid lousy oppo spoil the whole thing by contesting areas like AMK etc.. sure lose one go contest.. damn

ya lousy opposition parties push up PAP percentage of votes. Even the Independent candidates can get better % than those opposition parties.

Encouragesome1

Same feel here…
It is not credibility that counts…
It is vouchers and old brand that counts…
Those with 6x % incumbent wins : We are a bunch of useless gutless folks who care abt 1.00 deals and voucher rebate n gstIsToHelpThePoor and Inc my caipng 20-30%

couch.potato

Millennials are hopeless

They are too young to go through the pains from pap (still sheltered by parents from all the bills and stuff). And totally apolitical. They don't even know the big mishaps like the ACRA NRIC saga and stuff.
That’s what I keep saying.
Online rhetoric can blame the boomers the Gen Zs the new citizens. I know for a FACT it’s the millennials who benefited from the system (btocontributing a whole lot to this mess.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.