• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

yperic

Instead of just complaining, I have to do something about it: WP Chair Sylvia Lim & new face Jackson Au on why they chose to join the opposition​

"If you are sincere in your beliefs and you are sincere in serving residents [...] I don’t think there’s anything you need to fear."

Worker’s Party Chair Sylvia Lim and Jackson Au sat down for a conversation on Mothership’s podcast, “Mothership Podcast with XQ”, where they shared their thoughts on a range of issues, including GE2025.

Lim is no stranger to the local political scene, a veteran who has been a member of WP since 2001 and has served as chairwoman of the opposition party since 2003.

Au, a communications executive, has been a volunteer since 2022 and served as former WP MP Leon Perera’s legislative assistant before his resignation. He is a potential new candidate who has been spotted walking the ground at both Aljunied and Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC.

When asked how he felt about stepping into this GE, Au replied, “I think there’s a lot of scrutiny on a lot of new faces such as myself, but I think if you are sincere in your beliefs and you are sincere in serving residents [...] I don’t think there’s anything you need to fear.”

Here’s an excerpt from our conversation with Lim and Au:

Why join politics​

Jackson, as a new face to local politics, we have to know - what made you join politics?

Au:
My wife inspired me to follow my heart and align myself with a cause that I believe in.

After GE2020, in the afterglow of the Worker’s Party winning another GRC - I was caught up in that fever but I didn’t really use my time productively.

And my wife was volunteering then in Tanjong Pagar, where we were staying, with Joan Pereira. She was quietly contributing, helping her community, and giving her part back to society. And I was just so embarrassed with myself [...] So I just said “Enough is enough. I’ve got to put my money where my mouth is,” and I wrote to Leon Perera, who was at that time the Media Team Head for the Worker’s Party [...] And that is how it started. So the joke I always tell people who ask me [about] this is you need that stubbornness [to volunteer for the] opposition. [For example, in the case of my wife,] “Oh you volunteered with Pereira? I also find my own Perera.”

Sylvia, what about you? Do any of Jackson’s motivations mirror yours?

Lim:
Well, I certainly didn’t do it because of my partner [laughs]. [My reason] was born out of what I felt was a necessity at that time. In 2001 was when I joined WP [...] At that time, what really bothered me was the fact that we just had a General Election and two-thirds of the seats were not contested because it was a snap election in the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks in the US.

Being a person that believes in democracy, I just felt that I have to do my part to ensure - or try to ensure - that our elections don’t go down this road of multiple walkovers. So instead of just complaining [...] I said that “I have to do something about it because my conscience dictates that I do it.”

WP-Jackson-Au-Sylvia-Lim2.jpg
Image by Mothership

Residents’ concerns​

What are the main concerns residents have highlighted to you during walkabouts?

Lim:
I think it’s quite obvious that cost of living is [on the] top of people’s mind. I think the government is also aware of this [...] There is [also] concern about HDB housing prices. In terms of ‘bread and butter’ [issues], I think that, to me anyway, these are the two things that are top most [on] people’s minds.

Au: ‘Bread and butter’ [issues are] the most prominent. But I think the electorate, if I can speak for them, is becoming more sophisticated [in] that they are looking at wider governance issues and how a democracy functions and they do care about issues in our society. In that regard, they worry about whether there might be executive overreach [and] how certain laws translate into [the level of] freedom of expression or freedom of information.

Setbacks since GE2020​

For the past few years, WP has experienced quite a few setbacks. Can you guys share your thoughts and reflections on them?

Lim:
There will always be setbacks [...] Being in an opposition party in Singapore, the reality is that you’re subject to a lot of scrutiny, right? And there will be some issues and problems from time to time, I mean - we’ve seen it all before.

[...] It is a resilience in the party to overcome these setbacks, to learn from them, and to move on from there. So going forward, I will not be able to say that there won't be anything that comes our way in the future because that's impossible, right? The landscape is such, but the fact is that there's a team, there's an organisation, [and] so there is some capacity there for us to redeploy or reorganise ourselves in such a way that the party can move on.

Au: I had a front row seat to what happened with Leon and Nicole, and I think that whole incident emphasised to me the finality and how immediate things can be for you if you are with opposition, because we did not have the luxury of transitional arrangements or making accommodations for our constituents over the course of several years.

I was with Leon on Sunday doing house visits [and] on Monday morning, it was absolute bedlam. There was a lot of chaos and confusion and I think the CEC had back to back to back meetings in the next two days, and Leon ultimately resigned on Wednesday.

[...] But I think over time, the party really moves in that direction where we have a responsibility to the residents of Aljuined and the residents of Serangoon—we have to take care of them. We have to continue essential services. We have to give them that commitment that “Don't worry, you'll still be taken care of by our volunteer teams.” The Aljuined MPs all stepped up to take turns [and] to share the load.

And I hope that the residents will look favorably upon us in a very difficult time. We did try to make the best of it and continue to serve them.

Check out the video podcast here:

Tom Sawyer

I have no side unlike you. I only post what I see in front of me.
I don't understand... When I said "PAP supporter", you get so "enthusiastic" but now you say that you have no sai... oops...sorry side. You must have read a lot of Straits Times... yeah... Why not? Hence, I admit that my standards is not comparable to yours... truly sorry.. I don't want to cause any troubles... Very fearful now ..

Medicated Oil

Very hard not to vote fot PAP when TV keep on showing Ah Gong here Ah Gong there everyday
The present gen dun have any feeling for him or lao goh.
And they dare not showcase some one else who are in charge for 20 years ?

And they dun watch TV any more.

Alphidius

I remember that election, all the channels changed schedule. Almost everyday playing PAP and LKY features hours after hours. How to don't vote for them?!

Yup, it was overwhelming majority were going to sympathize and lean towards PAP that year no surprises...
I consider that year an outlier actually and the norm is having low to mid 60% popular votes depending on how much anger there is on the ground...
I've got a friend who measure this by what he calls "caipngnomics" lol
If the price of caipng keep increasing, he will get angrier and angrier... :s13:

eatingtunic

Every election I still hold grudges.

My 2004 born daughter didnt get her primary 1 school near to our home...there are 3 primary sch within walking distance.

Reason is that my area there are lots of PR kids...that era...Singaporean & PR kids same phase & ballot. Meaning your kids and PR kids ballot together...3 times ballot different sch and all failed. My daugher was force posted to futher sch..for 6 years she need wake up way earlier to catch the school transport.

Life was not fair last time...no one listen to our plight...

Medicated Oil

So happy that Sylvia went for one! I have been waiting to hear her speak. Hope got Pritam next…
I am not sure about PS.
Seems like he dun do podcast so far.
Or he dun want to be cornered on any questions about his court case and RK.
WP wise, I guess Jamus is the regular guy.

parchiao

Tell VB for what? It's his own private decision to live wherever he wants and has nothing to do with me or anyone. You need to get with the times if you are so sure that s'poreans want to live with 3 gens in the same big house. They can still get a big house without living with parents/grandparents if they can and willing to. MND hasn't said anything, just you only. They are only addressing the changing needs and trends of s'poreans.

What a hypocritical reply. So VB have 3 generations is okay for you while 3 generations for Sinkies is not?

Here is a suggestion for PAP to copy. Build more 5 room flats with 4 bedrooms and sell to extended families who want to live together. Oh wait, they already used to do it, but it seems they do not want to anymore? Oh, not enough space as import too many foreigners Oh, must also rape Sinkies reserves to top up reserves. Oh, just tell Sinkies cost of materials has gone up, but keep quiet about land cost making up more than half of the cost of a flat.

Everything is related. PAP only wants your money and your vote. Everything else in between is, can have double standard, like the above.

Can Or Not

I mean they should be focusing on the latter lei, and not the former.
True, it will be a sure vote from me.
But what he can bring at the moment is to delay/oppose unpopular policies… eg Too much influx of FTs…

Eureka75

The present gen dun have any feeling for him or lao goh.
And they dare not showcase some one else who are in charge for 20 years ?

And they dun watch TV any more.
The constant showing of Ah Gong's videos reinforce the elderlies admiration and respect for Ah Gong but I never vote PAP that time because I am not voting for a dead person and a dead person can't say anything about whether Pinky has honoured his wishes

couch.potato

I am not sure about PS.
Seems like he dun do podcast so far.
Or he dun want to be cornered on any questions about his court case and RK.
WP wise, I guess Jamus is the regular guy.
Ya quite hard. But the mothership interviewer a bit cmi also so idk if going on these podcasts will help optics for PS so much so I understand if he does not go for any.
Recently on tdk I think tingru also spoke pretty well and got quite good response.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.