[CONTEST] Boost My PC - Part 3

and_who

I studied hard to get an engineering degree that didn't lead me anywhere (and from our world crass university too). No point in studying unless you want to work for the gahmen. What you need are marketing skills so that you can earn in the private sector.

But I digress...

Anyway, I have parts to assemble a working Pentium 4 system...

not enough, you need to pretend to be some underprivileged kid with a sympathetic back story. mother father family all poor eat grass and you as the innocent helpless kid in between.

then out of nowhere the asus people swoop in with free parts (which are totally disproportionate to what the kid needs) (really? 14 yr old kid and mei mei need 4770k and high end motherboard??? going to overclock is it?)

actually abit like our gahmen - just dont work hard laze around the whole day and earn minimum wage, then you pay minimal or no taxes, and get shitloads of gahmen subsidies to relax.

but I digress....

devilwahaha

not enough, you need to pretend to be some underprivileged kid with a sympathetic back story. mother father family all poor eat grass and you as the innocent helpless kid in between.

then out of nowhere the asus people swoop in with free parts (which are totally disproportionate to what the kid needs) (really? 14 yr old kid and mei mei need 4770k and high end motherboard??? going to overclock is it?)

actually abit like our gahmen - just dont work hard laze around the whole day and earn minimum wage, then you pay minimal or no taxes, and get shitloads of gahmen subsidies to relax.

but I digress....

I agree too, the way that they're marketing their brand's presence and products through this Boost PC shenanigan is way too ridiculous and doesnt make any sense at all, whichever way you look at it.

tuckloong

I agree too, the way that they're marketing their brand's presence and products through this Boost PC shenanigan is way too ridiculous and doesnt make any sense at all, whichever way you look at it.

maybe can give suggestions or personal opinion for Asus Asus?

wtfh4x

fklYTmo.jpg

and_who

Please 14 years ago using Nokia 8210 that kind of phone, no camera one leh. I also want to see if have also!

If want to help these kids donate charity lah. Their family all so poor then suddenly one member got a supercomputer while the others can't even afford to get a proper house door(see first episode) or put food in a table. I really want to see what effect the free pc will have on the first kid's life. At age 14 already say build computer as a hobby- at age 14 I didn't even have time to do all my homework cos there was so much.

I'm just jealous lah. But objectively the choice of components was total bs. If need a proper computer a 4670k or even non oc part can already. Go ngiam ngiam give high end 4770k and z87 deluxe (face palm)

and_who

Not wine, but probably vinegar. Since you are here commenting, possible to assume you would like and have no objections to partake of some jealousy/sour grapes/wine?

Personally I'm not jealous at the components cos mine are higher end. (Edit - I'm jealous that these people get their hands on high end stuff without even working for it)

I'm also wondering about the logic of dumping so much high end stuff on young kids for free while at the same time pricing margins on asus hardware being so high.

Asus hardware sells itself well enough without having to resort to publicity stunts which cost a huge amount and do not accomplish much in particular.

Could the amount that went into the 2 high end pcs have gone into building 4 basic pc for a underprivileged orphans home for example? Food (or wine Phelan if you prefer) for your thoughts

summersky1986

wah wah wah :D

Got saga to sic? :evil:

peeeeekture leh :D

Nothing to wah wah wah about la.. We were young and were each others' first bf/gf.. notice I didn't use the word 'first love'..

She lived somewhere near Loyang and I was in somewhere in Jurong.. so it didn't work out very well.. I probably still got the neoprint or photocard thingy of us with our sheepish teenage smile somewhere in this memory box I keep.. but I can't post it without her consent :o

I'm so glad to see her doing well :o

hengheng220

Nothing to wah wah wah about la.. We were young and were each others' first bf/gf.. notice I didn't use the word 'first love'..

She lived somewhere near Loyang and I was in somewhere in Jurong.. so it didn't work out very well.. I probably still got the neoprint or photocard thingy of us with our sheepish teenage smile somewhere in this memory box I keep.. but I can't post it without her consent :o

I'm so glad to see her doing well :o

wa loyang to jurong love story

_____8888888888____________________
____888888888888888_________________
__888888822222228888________________
_88888822222222288888_______________
888888222222222228888822228888______
888882222222222222288222222222888___
8888822222222222222222222222222288__
_8888822222222222222222222222222_88_
__88888222222222222222222222222__888
___888822222222222222222222222___888
____8888222222222222222222222____888
_____8888222222222222222222_____888_
______8882222222222222222_____8888__
_______888822222222222______888888__
________8888882222______88888888____
_________888888_____888888888_______
__________88888888888888____________
___________8888888888_______________
____________8888888_________________
_____________88888__________________
______________888___________________
_______________8____________________

summersky1986

Not wine, but probably vinegar. Since you are here commenting, possible to assume you would like and have no objections to partake of some jealousy/sour grapes/wine?

Personally I'm not jealous at the components cos mine are higher end. (Edit - I'm jealous that these people get their hands on high end stuff without even working for it)

I'm also wondering about the logic of dumping so much high end stuff on young kids for free while at the same time pricing margins on asus hardware being so high.

Asus hardware sells itself well enough without having to resort to publicity stunts which cost a huge amount and do not accomplish much in particular.

Could the amount that went into the 2 high end pcs have gone into building 4 basic pc for a underprivileged orphans home for example? Food (or wine Phelan if you prefer) for your thoughts
I have higher end parts too :o so if I may say a few words.. It IS really a publicity stunt.. but fortunate or unfortunate.. those were 2 kids who are in worse position than us who can afford our own high end rig.. By your logic, the poor should only be given the bare minimum to survive..

Why can't we think that hey those were 2 kids in sh!ttier financial positions.. can we for once tend to their wants instead of just their needs? It doesn't come out of our pockets anyway.. so why be so bitter about us working so hard and rushing so much in this rat race to afford high end rigs while poorer kids have it for free? They got the rigs as a gift, they didn't scam anyone or the country for benefits/welfare..

I agree with this saying that it is not your fault to be born poor, but it is your responsibility to make sure you don't die poor. They're young, it was a gift.. give them a break :o

summersky1986

wa loyang to jurong love story

_____8888888888____________________
____888888888888888_________________
__888888822222228888________________
_88888822222222288888_______________
888888222222222228888822228888______
888882222222222222288222222222888___
8888822222222222222222222222222288__
_8888822222222222222222222222222_88_
__88888222222222222222222222222__888
___888822222222222222222222222___888
____8888222222222222222222222____888
_____8888222222222222222222_____888_
______8882222222222222222_____8888__
_______888822222222222______888888__
________8888882222______88888888____
_________888888_____888888888_______
__________88888888888888____________
___________8888888888_______________
____________8888888_________________
_____________88888__________________
______________888___________________
_______________8____________________

Wah lau chill man.. just a teenage r/s..

hengheng220

I have higher end parts too :o so if I may say a few words.. It IS really a publicity stunt.. but fortunate or unfortunate.. those were 2 kids who are in worse position than us who can afford our own high end rig.. By your logic, the poor should only be given the bare minimum to survive..

Why can't we think that hey those were 2 kids in sh!ttier financial positions.. can we for once tend to their wants instead of just their needs? It doesn't come out of our pockets anyway.. so why be so bitter about us working so hard and rushing so much in this rat race to afford high end rigs while poorer kids have it for free? They got the rigs as a gift, they didn't scam anyone or the country for benefits/welfare..

I agree with this saying that it is not your fault to be born poor, but it is your responsibility to make sure you don't die poor. They're young, it was a gift.. give them a break :o

hahahaha its ok la bro chill everyone got their own opinion. for me i think Asus want be good guy greg might as well every week give one winner one com, hahaha this once in a bluemoon things don't work well ba... anyway their motive of the event is met. They got the people talking, hahaha like marketers always says, small talk is better than no talk

summersky1986

hahahaha its ok la bro chill everyone got their own opinion. for me i think Asus want be good guy greg might as well every week give one winner one com, hahaha this once in a bluemoon things don't work well ba... anyway their motive of the event is met. They got the people talking, hahaha like marketers always says, small talk is better than no talk

Precisely! Lololol.. :D:D:D

Can't wait for Sat go find GS bro at SLS zhng my rig, SLI 780ti :eek:

and_who

I agree to some extent with what you spoke about, but the point is rather than doing a publicity stunt of high end components for a few people who don't really need such high end, why not spend the money towards more basic capability rigs for orphanages etc? Surely there are enough around who need it. Am at the "rat race" now struggling to survive, so I can actually pay for my stuff, so back to this thread later tonight :)

summersky1986

lols whats your current specs?

Currently using a gaming laptop leh (Asus G73JH).. I don't know about Asus customer service or how chui is it (everyone's saying chui lulz)

But in 3+ years the laptop never gave me as much as a hiccup of problem.. Okay the battery is dead but it's still relatively fast.. and I still can play FF14 on max with it.. gonna retire the lappy soon and pass it to my mom to upgrade her netbook :s13:

I posted in the other thread (sorry to digress)

maximus formula
evga 780ti classified ed
corsair doms. plat. 2400hz 16gb
2 x 240 gb ssd (evo)
1 x 2tb wd red
corsair plat psu 860w
h100i
corsair 650d (this sh!tty case is big ass, a bit regret buying)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.