Copen Grand EC

yun10

Maybe I'm wrong, but the marketing was like quite aggressive for CG. Neighborhood, letterbox, Online, etc. Still got agents do all sort of tik tok style, dancing videos. lol. Hence, more people interested.

Plus, the fact that the price gap between private and EC were widen.
Those in the income ceiling cannot consider private anymore, hence all cheong to EC.

I also feel most buyers don't come forums and can only see what was presented to them.

Based on my experience with a few agents and at the sales gallery. Below are the things that were presented to me:
  • 1st Mover advantage
  • Near to MRT
  • Exciting Jurong Innovation, etc.
  • Most important -> Strong profits, recent article mentioned EC averaged gains $300k. Buy at $1M, easily sell at $1.3M = growth of $300k. Confirm guarantee profits.
But nobody mention or discuss with me on the below:
  • Airbase. Paya Lebar shifting over.
  • Car park potential issue. Each family can only have 1 car and only 80% get a lot. This town is also car-lite, prepared to give up your car.
  • MRT is fully up only in 2029.
  • Town may take up to 10 years to develop
  • Be prepared to stay up to 10 years for full potential
  • Some of the losses to consider:
    • Stamp duty + legal + resale levy (if any) -> $80k to $100k
    • Interest -> This is subjective to your unit, loan, interest and age. I just take mid point. $1M loan over 25 years 3% interest (of course cannot be 3% all the way, but it can also go higher at some point)
      • 5 years interest -> $140k
      • 10 years interest -> $255k
  • With the above, for a start, potential losses about $200k-$300. So, whether you have profit, really depend how long you hold and when you sell.
  • Currently there's still a mentality EC is EC, private is private. For selling, people will still use EC price instead of private price. Because some told me private 2000 psf already, next time can sell at even higher.
  • When motivated, you see nothing except "I want this!" Hence, need to stay calm and really weight out what is your objective.

These are for illustrations, a quick calculation, apologies in advance if I got anything wrong somewhere. You can use lower interest to be more comfortable on the interest losses. Or, maybe to some these are not losses? But I'm sure each person has their own way of reasoning and calculations. Anyway, these are not shared to argue with anyone or to prove any point.

Conclusion for me is I feel, majority don't come forums or consider so much. They see what they were shown or want to see. They will wack and worry later. I'm an interested buyer in this EC too! But maybe thinking too much. Haha.

Anyway, hope for the best, everyone has an equal chance. Good luck to all who are going for this!

abcde83

Maybe I'm wrong, but the marketing was like quite aggressive for CG. Neighborhood, letterbox, Online, etc. Still got agents do all sort of tik tok style, dancing videos. lol. Hence, more people interested.

Those in the income ceiling cannot consider private anymore, hence all cheong to EC.

I also feel most buyers don't come forums and can only see what was presented to them.

Based on my experience with a few agents and at the sales gallery. Below are the things that were presented to me:
  • 1st Mover advantage
  • Near to MRT
  • Most important -> Strong profits, recent article mentioned EC averaged gains $300k. Buy at $1M, easily sell at $1.3M = growth of $300k. Confirm guarantee profits.
  • Car park potential issue. Each family can only have 1 car and only 80% get a lot. This town is also car-lite, prepared to give up your car.
    • Interest -> This is subjective to your unit, loan, interest and age. I just take mid point. $1M loan over 25 years 3% interest (of course cannot be 3% all the way, but it can also go higher at some point)
  • With the above, for a start, potential losses about $200k-$300. So, whether you have profit, really depend how long you hold and when you sell.
  • Currently there's still a mentality EC is EC, private is private. For selling, people will still use EC price instead of private price. Because some told me private 2000 psf already, next time can sell at even higher.
  • When motivated, you see nothing except "I want this!" Hence, need to stay calm and really weight out what is your objective.

These are for illustrations, a quick calculation, apologies in advance if I got anything wrong somewhere. You can use lower interest to be more comfortable on the interest losses. Or, maybe to some these are not losses? But I'm sure each person has their own way of reasoning and calculations. Anyway, these are not shared to argue with anyone or to prove any point.

Conclusion for me is I feel, majority don't come forums or consider so much. They see what they were shown or want to see. They will wack and worry later. I'm an interested buyer in this EC too! But maybe thinking too much. Haha.

Anyway, hope for the best, everyone has an equal chance. Good luck to all who are going for this!
U over think.

Sprinkles of Joy

Let’s see cheques collected. Lots of non serious buyers filling e-apps, because once you have an e-app you will have to stick to the same agent. Will almost certainly be much higher than NG & my guess will be 65% sold on launch day, average price 13xx psf for NPS.
Why e app means stick to same agent?

n3v3rmind

Yeah man fully agree.. need to have a honest agent and banker to do EC calculation for u especially taking DPS and bridging loan. The factors to consider for the repayment may not be so obvious to buyers... usually ownself calculate will overstretched urself due to blinded by good picture of the project.

ypurple

• 1st Mover advantage
  • Near to MRT

Agree with you, agents and newspaper will only present gross profit, otherwise hard to sell with net profit netting off interest, agent fee, stamp duty, Also prevoiusly buying 1mio and selling with 300k gross profit is 30% upside while nowadays buying at 1.5mio and selling with 300k gross profit is only 20% upside. Minus all the other cost and inconvenience, it may not be worth it as an investment. The other forumer has mentioned about SSB can get you 3%+ annualized profit without loc- in like EC for 10 years (but of coz un-leveraged,so it is not an apple to apple comparison).
I would think choosing EC should be whether you like the condo lifestyle in the location, if you like, then it outweighs the profits calcuation, in long term, you can enjoy some appreciation, which is not bad.

haido80

• 1st Mover advantage
  • Near to MRT

Ya agents will always emphasize on the pros cause they want to sell, cant really blame them actually. So buyers have to find out cons themselves. This thread is great for that purpose! We can definitely ask them the hard questions and see what they answer (and then kind of evaluate them.. kekeke...).

Financial wise, agent should had handled to certain extent (how much you can loan, legal, levy... etc). Loan interest wise, they can only calculate base on current rate, nobody will know if it will increase or decrease in future.

This is a good article about sales proceeds, though it's for HDB - https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/pgf-selling-hdb-flat-sales-proceeds-66565

Rxgn

price list is out

3br 2nd highest level #13 got hit until 1359 psf
4br 2nd highest level #13 got hit until 1384 psf

2br starts from 1.08m

momoeagle

momoeagle

There is this saying : Boat when reach bridge end auto straight. 船到桥头自然直
Government already say 80% carpark lot for Copen Grand means 80% :ROFLMAO: If the car park lot you find it a big issue then bo pian skip this project. It is true that some existing ECs even with 100% car park lots have very limited visitor lots and limited car park lots, but you have to know those ECs cost 600+ PSF where a lot of SG households have 2 cars as well.

Copen Grand is going to be twice the price of the ECs, I don't think most residents there can afford 2 cars, 1 car also might be a problem for young couples based on the MSR, but potentially car park will be a headache for the MCST for CG.
Good idea. Must charge high high price, limit income ceiling, so that use $ to buy the property and then not enough for a car.

Tada! Car-lite.

momoeagle

Thanks for sharing. So for Copen and Greenwich, question is how are they going to accommodate visitor car lots in the future? Those ec which have 1 to 1 lots may already be facing an issue of a lack of visitor lots.
If really really need to park, Parc Greenwich is situated just beside a HDB with MSCP. Don't even need to cross road. It's not ideal, but it works well.

No comments on other locations as I only know the area around Parc Greenwich.

cyberklan

Copen Grand developers must love buyers like me… no car… so, can give me discount or not? Kua kua kua

neighbours with cars will also love me, coz I have no car..so will they invite me during festive season? Kua kua kua

momoeagle

• 1st Mover advantage
  • Near to MRT

I had similar thoughts and calculations earlier when I was consider Parc Greenwich. In fact, I walked away from a very very good queue number.

The main difference between then and now is that interest rates has risen substantially, and likely here to stay for some time. So the interest payment in the first 5 years is much more than before.

For the advantages presented to you, it is almost the same advantage presented for every property new launch. For some reason, the same advantage applies for every property.

Then again, I probably think too much because I low income and don't have enough $$. Too poor liao.
Rich and high income peeps will just buy and don't need look.

cyberklan

I had similar thoughts and calculations earlier when I was consider Parc Greenwich. In fact, I walked away from a very very good queue number.

The main difference between then and now is that interest rates has risen substantially, and likely here to stay for some time. So the interest payment in the first 5 years is much more than before.

For the advantages presented to you, it is almost the same advantage presented for every property new launch. For some reason, the same advantage applies for every property.

Then again, I probably think too much because I low income and don't have enough $$. Too poor liao.
Don’t like that lahhhhh, u and me same same… I won’t say low income.. I will say we are alright… Coz if low income also have to be realistic mahhh and won’t consider EC coz it’s a different price bracket then hdb units

yun10

hahaa.. ya, if rich enough, won't bother to think liao..

But hor, I think usually say poor one confirm rich... haha.. plus, don't stay condo or landed doesn't mean poor also, I feel many cash rich people all stay HDB, behind invest property, stocks or other areas. Have cash, play stocks more exciting. Everyone has their own considerations and choice. So, to each their own.

GalacticA

I'm epecting ec income ceiling to be raised very very soon. Land price for upcoming tenet and bukit batok ec was bought substantially higher then copen. Avg price for tenet maybe 1.4k psf? Harder and harder to upgrade from hdb with the rising prices and stricter loan regulations. Even with rising interest rates, nobody seems to care.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.