CPF Account Value Thread 2025

DevilPlate

Imo, it could be wise to lock up/top up let say 5% up to 30% of yr liquid NW into CPFLife for those 55+ due to AI deepfake advancements and growing hungry bad actors eyeing our dumb monies. :(

Purely personal and subjective.
Don’t even try to argue…..do what u please :)

royalmix

kelhot2001

[/QUOTE]
Ok lah to make you guys feel better…..

You can opt for bare min BRS and others gong kias like me pump 4XBRS to make the pooling system sustainable.
There isnt any gong kia so to speak. When u celebrate your 93 birthday, you will be like heng ah I choose ERS. Or when I am on my deathbed at age 81, I will be like heng ah I choose BRS. No right or wrong. Just a bad bet on CPF life

DevilPlate

The way private health insurance is designed has led to its current unsustainable state.

Private healthcare insurers urged to relook overly generous products: MOH​

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...vekUFoehjQ8ElizJy6_aem_nqpsF_KD-0z6C_fm4NY_lQ

Insurance companies are very creative, they even teach you what other insurance policies to buy so you get covered 100%! :ROFLMAO:
Past few years Medishield and pte plan has risen significantly.

Older folks are greatly subsidised but younger folks jialat liao moving forward.

Expect Careshield life premium to keep rising every few yr or even every yr :(

henrylbh

look at CPF system as a whole.

Lesser CPF contributions
Ofc some argue js import more but try to turn them to citizens so that their contributions would be sticky lol
What talking you? CPF egg and yearly inflows are growing every single year with higher wages, more voluntary contributions, top-ups and more living CPF behind after they are allowed to take out from age 55.

Anyway the growing CPF got nothing to do on sustainability of CPFL payouts nor turning SPR to SP.

BBCWatcher

Even more stupid statement when the option is almost non-existent. For you, unlike those with pink NRIC, got that option. So it easy you speak with ....
That's false. The option to opt out of CPF LIFE is available on equal terms to both pink and blue NRIC holders.

But if you want to discuss pink and blue differences, you could do that. Just do it honestly, fairly, and truthfully. For example, pink NRIC holders are eligible for free CPF top ups; blue holders are not. As another example, it's easier for pink NRIC holders to reduce their RA balances to the Basic Retirement Sum if they wish because they enjoy myriad housing preferences including housing grants and lower ABSD rates that blue NRIC holders don't. These differences generally make it easier for them make housing pledges (or have sufficiently large housing charges) so they can drop down to the BRS (if they wish). As yet another example, pink NRIC holders enjoy MediShield Life premium discounts that blue NRIC holders don't, and that it turn makes it more likely their MediSave Accounts will reach (and stay at) the Basic Healthcare Sum, resulting in more SA/RA/OA dollars. (They also pay lower rates for medical care in Singapore's public medical system, reducing MediSave withdrawals and thus increasing net CPF savings.) Pink NRIC holders also enjoy the privilege of indefinite overseas residence and can (after 5 years) opt out of MediShield Life if they wish; blue NRIC holders cannot do any of that.

Both pink and blue NRIC holders can terminate or lose their statuses — and will receive all their CPF savings in a lump sum at that point in time. A pink holder needs to acquire another citizenship, but that's rather easy in many countries. Some foreign citizenships can even be acquired while still in Singapore. The (former) pink NRIC holder does not have to refund any of the CPF-related benefits (lower MediShield Life premiums, free CPF top ups, etc.) that he/she enjoyed while being a Singaporean citizen. The lump sum CPF payout includes those pink-only benefits.

henrylbh

If allow to choose, i think majority don’t even want CPF at all.

Why force us to contribute a part of our salary and lock up till 55/65 :s13:
So you prefer social security tax? Contribute to CPF is yours forever except that now you are force to take bet on CPFL with an amount at age 55 or FRS.

kelhot2001

How can not be sustainable? All they do, if every one and most are living beyond 90, is to recalculate the payouts.
I think otherwise, once it is not sustainable, they will throw out to external insurer and let they do the dirty work.

Or they can unilateral revert back to RSS again.

DevilPlate

What talking you? CPF egg and yearly inflows are growing every single year with higher wages, more voluntary contributions, top-ups and more living CPF behind after they are allowed to take out from age 55.

Anyway the growing CPF got nothing to do on sustainability of CPFL payouts nor turning SPR to SP.
Not i say one. Expert say one :s13:

royalmix

I think otherwise, once it is not sustainable, they will throw out to external insurer and let they do the dirty work.

Or they can unilateral revert back to RSS again.
Henry is right, CPFB mentioned it as a policy, if you read carefully! Payouts will reduce! Read escalation plan - they can reduce before adding the 2%! :LOL:

No need to dream about others you wish will happen! No reversal like ezlinkcard! :ROFLMAO:

DevilPlate

So you prefer social security tax? Contribute to CPF is yours forever except that now you are force to take bet on CPFL with an amount at age 55 or FRS.
I satki able to grow my wealth what. :s13:
Why lock my monies up when i can invest more without any restrictions and even buy more properties last time! :s13:

henrylbh

That's false. The option to opt out of CPF LIFE is available on equal terms to both pink and blue NRIC holders.

But if you want to discuss pink and blue differences, you could do that. Just do it honestly, fairly, and truthfully. For example, pink NRIC holders are eligible for free CPF top ups; blue holders are not. As another example, it's easier for pink NRIC holders to reduce their RA balances to the Basic Retirement Sum if they wish because they enjoy myriad housing preferences including housing grants and lower ABSD rates that blue NRIC holders don't. These differences generally make it easier for them make housing pledges (or have sufficiently large housing charges) so they can drop down to the BRS (if they wish). As yet another example, pink NRIC holders enjoy MediShield Life premium discounts that blue NRIC holders don't, and that it turn makes it more likely their MediSave Accounts will reach (and stay at) the Basic Healthcare Sum, resulting in more SA/RA/OA dollars. (They also pay lower rates for medical care in Singapore's public medical system, reducing MediSave withdrawals and thus increasing net CPF savings.) Pink NRIC holders also enjoy the privilege of indefinite overseas residence and can (after 5 years) opt out of MediShield Life if they wish; blue NRIC holders cannot do any of that.

Both pink and blue NRIC holders can terminate or lose their statuses — and will receive all their CPF savings in a lump sum at that point in time. A pink holder needs to acquire another citizenship, but that's rather easy in many countries. Some foreign citizenships can even be acquired while still in Singapore. The (former) pink NRIC holder does not have to refund any of the CPF-related benefits (lower MediShield Life premiums, free CPF top ups, etc.) that he/she enjoyed while being a Singaporean citizen. The lump sum CPF payout includes those pink-only benefits.
Don't mumbo jumbo. Just allow opt in instead of opt out and there would not be so much disagreement and oppression. To opt out by giving up citizenship is like cutting of one's nose ....

DevilPlate

In case u guys are wondering why this kumgong decide to top up to max ERS?

Mainly due to various intangible benefits. I never even calculate simi returns lah….breakeven age lah

kelhot2001

You are not trying to understand what is being discussed. CPFB is not transparent when they introduced CPFL from 1958, those cohorts have been "conned"!

Do you know who qualifies for BRS?

Just like CPFB is not transparent about SA shielding! :ROFLMAO:

And there are more "hacks" they are not transparent about, altho some have been killed! :cool:
An example on regret after 20 years although this case is about voluntary conversion from pension to CPF scheme. The regret came 20 years later

https://www.elitigation.sg/gdviewer/s/2006_SGHC_151

From above

Introduction

1 This is an appeal by Mr Tee Soon Kay, together with and on behalf of 99 public officers (collectively, “the appellants”), against the trial judge’s decision in Originating Summons No 618 of 2006 (“the OS”) holding, inter alia, that the appellants were not entitled to revert to the pension scheme as they had opted to convert from the pension scheme to the Central Provident Fund (“CPF”) scheme in 1973.

royalmix

In case u guys are wondering why this kumgong decide to top up to max ERS?

Mainly due to various intangible benefits. I never even calculate simi returns lah….breakeven age lah
No need to explain lah, each person's needs, wants, objective, standard of living/lifestyle etc are different! We just need to acknowledge and accept our differences!

But to me, the main reason should be you have a long life - healthspan and lifespan! Plus you want to do your final national service!

DevilPlate

No need to explain lah, each person's needs, wants, objective, etc are different!

But to me, the main reason should be you have a long life - healthspan and lifespan!
Long life anot idk but trying /working hard to prolong my healthspan to travel and jiak good food ;)

Also i was trying to reply to fellow Kelhot but then got some text issues…

DevilPlate

No need to explain lah, each person's needs, wants, objective, standard of living/lifestyle etc are different! We just need to acknowledge and accept our differences!

But to me, the main reason should be you have a long life - healthspan and lifespan! Plus you want to do your final national service!
Thats why i made an intelligent assumption that given a choice, most people would want to opt out CPF entirely right from the start! :s13:

Who wants to serve NS if given a choice? :s13:

*Last Last time me and some of my peers were quite proud serving NS though…..don’t get me wrong….
But i believe Not anymore for our younger gen

henrylbh

I satki able to grow my wealth what. :s13:
Why lock my monies up when i can invest more without any restrictions and even buy more properties last time! :s13:
You talk like everyone can think like you. The gov got to consider the whole population and not few individuals like you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.