CPF Account Value Thread 2025

henrylbh

Note again please that CPF LIFE is not actually compulsory. Only a little longevity insurance is compulsory (only effectively if you can afford it, and only if you maintain Singaporean citizenship or Permanent Residence). Got another pension or life annuity? (Or found better longevity insurance?) Opt out of CPF LIFE (and CPF RA) if you wish.
Unbelievable that you so fixated with CPFL that you go to the extent of trying to tell others it's not actually compulsory .... What a load of rubbish.

kelhot2001

The assumption that the public is broadly content with CPF LIFE simply because there are no major complaints or political attacks overlooks the complex realities beneath the surface. In truth, opposition parties avoid rocking the boat on CPF LIFE and related policies because these are deeply entrenched, technically complex, and politically sensitive issues tied to seniors' security and family obligations. The lack of loud criticism is as much about political pragmatism and risk aversion as it is about genuine satisfaction. So, it’s more than meets the eye—apparent ‘contentment’ is often a reflection of political strategy and cultural norms, not necessarily unanimous approval.

(another good example is Closure of SA, if you understand the underlying reason - not expresssly mentioned!)

I always wonder why the closure of SA. It is like a slight cut on the leg, instead of applying an bandage, they decide amputated it instead. LOL

royalmix

Does it matter? What're you looking for?

The person who moved over from RSS to CPFL just got self con due to lack of knowledge and now blames others. But can't blame the person as many educated people at that time and now still do not have good knowledge of CPFL, or CPF in general.
Kena con by CPFB, kept quiet at briefing, nothing written in Booklet that 4% will go into the pool! Those are facts at that time!

Do you know when then they started talking about Risk Pooling?

royalmix

I always wonder why the closure of SA. It is like a slight cut on the leg, instead of applying an bandage, they decide amputated it instead. LOL
I contributed to SA Shielding RIP! :cool:

It is a big loophole the CPFB scholars created to benefit, who else? Is a conflict of interest! Now they kill it by Closing SA! Just like someone here posted FAKE NEWS in the morning, then later kill his own FAKE News yesterday, but still refuse to admit by deleting the FAKE NEWS! :ROFLMAO:

royalmix

I was fortunate to be the 'last batch' (born on the last week of Year 1957) to stay on with the RSS scheme. My wife was not so, she was born 1959 - hence put under CPF Life (Basic).

We topped up our balance to ERS when it was introduced it in 2016. Since I am on RSS, I do occassionaly top up excess cash to my RA with a request to CPF such as my payouts will stretch to at least 90 years of age.

Does it matter? What're you looking for?

The person who moved over from RSS to CPFL just got self con due to lack of knowledge and now blames others. But can't blame the person as many educated people at that time and now still do not have good knowledge of CPFL, or CPF in general.
Here is a real case, if he care to share, maybe he has more knowledge than others, ie not conned?

His damage is less cos his wife chose CPF Life Basic!

(Ignore the RSS to CPFL, it is just dramatising like Kelhot did. It meant RSS was killed, then force new cohorts to CPFL. Focus on the bigger picture, which is the real issue! :LOL: Dun miss the forest for the trees! Anyone who is aware knows what is happening during those period)

kelhot2001

I contributed to SA Shielding RIP! :cool:

It is a big loophole the CPFB scholars created to benefit, who else? Is a conflict of interest! Now they kill it by Closing SA! Just like someone here posted FAKE NEWS in the morning, then later kill his own FAKE News yesterday, but still refuse to admit by deleting the FAKE NEWS! :ROFLMAO:

I think they could just set that any investment from SA, earning and inclusive of principal amount that is not back to SA account before the RA creation, can only be transfer back to OA. ( Bandage solution)

But instead they decide to close SA altogether. IMHO, I speculate that many
choose not too fund too much into CPLife, but let the funds remain in SA. Provide liquidity and enjoy the old RSS method

royalmix

I think they could just set that any investment from SA, earning and inclusive of principal amount that is not back to SA account before the RA creation, can only be transfer back to OA. ( Bandage solution)

choose not too fund too much into CPLife, but let the funds remain in SA. Provide liquidity and enjoy the old RSS method
You have to understand the politics, just like BBC refuse to admit he posted fake news yesterday !

They cannot slap their own face, tell the world they created a loophole, so now patching it with your solution!:ROFLMAO:

kelhot2001

I wouldn't say its fake news outright. It's more like selling koyok and to the extent of absurdity like no one looses in CPFL.
I agree on this, just not showing the number to you is not fake news, you need to go calculate yourself

Like they use to have a bequest calculator comparison. But they have since remove it from CPF website. Why so, because there is a huge discrepancy in between the 2 in 100 thousands

henrylbh

Lucky they did not close OA altogether once a person reaches age 55 with full FRS and any nflow thereafter would be refunded quarterly.

BBCWatcher

Does it matter?
Yes, probably. Especially the when part.
The person who moved over from RSS to CPFL just got self con due to lack of knowledge and now blames others.
The complaint is at least hard to parse. I'm not aware of any scenario in which someone was involuntarily moved from the classic Retirement Sum Scheme to CPF LIFE at age 55. It's a bit pedantic perhaps, but AFAIK you didn't enter the classic RSS until age 55 when your RA was created and your "minimum sum" (later BRS or FRS) was set aside. I don't see how it's possible to be moved from a scheme you never entered. You might've had an expectation of entering a particular scheme, I suppose.
But can't blame the person as many educated people at that time and now still do not have good knowledge of CPFL, or CPF in general.
I'm not blaming anybody. I'm just trying to understand the complaint.

BBCWatcher

Unbelievable that you so fixated with CPFL that you go to the extent of trying to tell others it's not actually compulsory .... What a load of rubbish.
CPF LIFE (specifically) is not compulsory. That's just a simple statement of fact. Longevity insurance is effectively compulsory (but still with caveats).

As a contrasting example, CareShield Life is compulsory for Singaporean citizens and Singapore Permanent Residents born in 1980 or later once they reach age 30. AFAIK there's no permitted substitute to CareShield Life.

Here is a real case, if he care to share, maybe he has more knowledge than others, ie not conned?

His damage is less cos his wife chose CPF Life Basic!
Wife (Born 1959) had no choice, but had to choose either Basic or Standard Plan when she turned 55 (in year 2014). Going back 11 years ago, I had to give myself a 'small pat on the shoulder' to choose Basic Plan for her, and I assumed you guys understood the maths behind 'Basic' and 'Standard'. As for me, I was fortunate to be the last batch (born 1957) to qualify for the RSS cohort and was no way seduced into joining CPFL.

henrylbh

CPF LIFE (specifically) is not compulsory. That's just a simple statement of fact. Longevity insurance is effectively compulsory (but still with caveats).

As a contrasting example, CareShield Life is compulsory for Singaporean citizens and Singapore Permanent Residents born in 1980 or later once they reach age 30. AFAIK there's no permitted substitute to CareShield Life.
Must be stupid to buy what you say or believe that it is not compulsory however you put it. It IS not only compulsory, but t is also NOT transparent and it is a BET that all are forced to join in so that some must lose for others to gain.

royalmix

Wife (Born 1959) had no choice, but had to choose either Basic or Standard Plan when she turned 55 (in year 2014). Going back 11 years ago, I had to give myself a 'small pat on the shoulder' to choose Basic Plan for her, and I assumed you guys understood the maths behind 'Basic' and 'Standard'. As for me, I was fortunate to be the last batch (born 1957) to qualify for the RSS cohort and was no way seduced into joining CPFL.
Thanks for sharing. Were you/wife told about risking pooling? ie 4% on the premium paid at 55 goes to the pool? With standard will be worst!

Yes, probably. Especially the when part.

The complaint is at least hard to parse. I'm not aware of any scenario in which someone was involuntarily moved from the classic Retirement Sum Scheme to CPF LIFE at age 55. It's a bit pedantic perhaps, but AFAIK you didn't enter the classic RSS until age 55 when your RA was created and your "minimum sum" (later BRS or FRS) was set aside. I don't see how it's possible to be moved from a scheme you never entered. You might've had an expectation of entering a particular scheme, I suppose.

I'm not blaming anybody. I'm just trying to understand the complaint.
Let me clear this to my best memory. Back in 2014, not long after the Basic and Standard plans were introduced, those turning 55 (Year my wife did), she had to pick either Basic Plan or Standard Plan, failing which after 6 months, CPF will default it to Standard Plan. So, it is possible for someone who did not take any action to pick an option, will be 'automatically' moved to CPFL Standard Plan.

DevilPlate

Must be stupid to buy what you say or believe that it is not compulsory however you put it. It IS not only compulsory, but t is also NOT transparent and it is a BET that all are forced to join in so that some must lose for others to gain.

Thanks for sharing. Were you/wife told about risking pooling? ie 4% on the premium paid at 55 goes to the pool? With standard will be worst!
Ok lah to make you guys feel better…..

You can opt for bare min BRS and others gong kias like me pump 4XBRS to make the pooling system sustainable.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.