CPF Account Value Thread 2025

henrylbh

I lazy to cpf and read, so entertain me

So assuming at age 55 today with Full FRS of $213k, I do not going touch it till say age 65 (10yrs later, ok can be 15yrs later, but let stick with 10yrs).

My balloon sum will be ard $348K using only 213k FRS

Questions

1) As FRS increase every year, will my FRS be locked at $213K

2) So if FRS increases
and I am still contributing CPF for the next 10 yrs, will this contribution go into RA and OA as usual or all will goes to OA

3) At 65, can I still option for BRS based on 348K or the full amount of RA (assuming the frs increase and I still contribute into the RA)
From what I understand when you opt for BRS at any time from age 55, you can only withdraw the principal amount or half of FRS of $213k at age 55 even though RA has increased with interest over the years from age 55. In other words, withdrawal amount (of principal) is fixed at age 55 regardless when you decide to pledge and withdraw amount of RA above BRS after age 55. Once FRS is met at 55, all future contributions will flow to OA are withdrawable any time.

henrylbh

Always do your own fact check by reading the rules at CPFB website and if you dun understand, you can post your questions here together with the CPFB rules or ask CPFB!

There is a whole section on Voluntary Housing Refund and implications.

For eg

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/arti...-after-making-a-full-voluntary-housing-refund

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/service/arti...-brs-in-cash-after-discharging-the-cpf-charge

Pls correct/amend your mistakes/errors/misinformation in your posts too to avoid misleading others!
Like me if you are not using CPF at time of purchase better indicate that you want to use CPF and a charge will be created at no cost and you will be free to use CPF later on when you need to conserve/invest cash

BBCWatcher

Like me if you are not using CPF at time of purchase better indicate that you want to use CPF and a charge will be created at no cost and you will be free to use CPF later on when you need to conserve/invest cash
When you create a charge on a HDB flat there could be a cost in the form of premiums for the Home Protection Scheme (HPS) or substitute insurance, such as term life insurance.

henrylbh

When you create a charge on a HDB flat there could be a cost in the form of premiums for the Home Protection Scheme (HPS) or substitute insurance, such as term life insurance.
Only hps if you below age x and use cpf for hdb property, not for private property even if charge exists.

henrylbh

That's not a property cost. It's is compulsory when using cpf and it's insurance cost. And who won't want such a low cost insurance and I think that's not available for private property.

kelhot2001

From what I understand when you opt for BRS at any time from age 55, you can only withdraw the principal amount or half of FRS of $213k at age 55 even though RA has increased with interest over the years from age 55. In other words, withdrawal amount (of principal) is fixed at age 55 regardless when you decide to pledge and withdraw amount of RA above BRS after age 55. Once FRS is met at 55, all future contributions will flow to OA are withdrawable any time.

Means to say at age 65, my cpf plus accumulated interest is now 348k
the sum i can take out is still based 50% of 213k which is $106500. The rest stay on in RA as CPF life. Is that correct?

kelhot2001

You should add more assumptions into your scenario eg.

If you join CPF Life Standard/Escalating Plan at 65, what happens if you do item 3 there after?
Na, I belong to the RSS cohort but is forced into CPF life. I am not interested in FRS nor ERS

highsulphur

Na, I belong to the RSS cohort but is forced into CPF life. I am not interested in FRS nor ERS

Pls clarify. You are supposed to be RSS, who force you into CPF Life?

have you joined CPF Life yet?

I am not talking about FRS or ERS. Are you now at FRS in RA and not yet joined CPF LIfe until 65?

Do you plan to join CPF Life at 65, choosing Standard/Escalating plan?
Think he meant he started out on the RSS when he first contributed but wasn't forced into CPFL

kelhot2001

Pls clarify. You are supposed to be RSS, who force you into CPF Life?

have you joined CPF Life yet?

I am not talking about FRS or ERS. Are you now at FRS in RA and not yet joined CPF LIfe until 65?

Do you plan to join CPF Life at 65, choosing Standard/Escalating plan or Basic Plan. Plans has nothing to do with BRS/FRS/ERS!

Started work in 1990s , that time u understand that CPF is RSS or MSS. But after 19 yrs later. CPF tell me, no more RSS, please join CPF life because I am not at the cut off year to remain in RSS (1958 if not wrong)

henrylbh

??? sounds like some grants/subsidy that tie you down to CPFL. You bought flexi flat?

You can only say you are under RSS if you are borne before 1958.

highsulphur

Sad, must redo calculation again liao
Since it's compulsory, just need to learn, understand and embrace CPFL and work it into your retirement framework. There is certainly a part for it in everyone's retirement planning

kelhot2001

I understand, that was an unlucky year, as I knew someone in same situation as you!

So you are already with CPF Life at 55, which plan did you choose? Basic Plan?

Have you started payout?
Still got 2 years, but try to see what is the better option to minimize my funds in RA or cpf life

kelhot2001

??? sounds like some grants/subsidy that tie you down to CPFL. You bought flexi flat?

You can only say you are under RSS if you are borne before 1958.
Nah, house fully paid in CPF, FRS and MA already max. Trying my best to minimize fund in RA and CPF lfe after 55

royalmix

Still got 2 years, but try to see what is the better option to minimize my funds in RA or cpf life
So you have not reached 55? ok

Go one big round to clarify, now I deleted all the clarifications posts! :ROFLMAO:

Everyone here born after 1958 are like you, belong to the RSS cohort but forced into CPF Life because of a change in CPF goalpost/rule! :LOL: ( by your definition only!)

I was fortunate to be the 'last batch' (born on the last week of Year 1957) to stay on with the RSS scheme. My wife was not so, she was born 1959 - hence put under CPF Life (Basic).

We topped up our balance to ERS when it was introduced it in 2016. Since I am on RSS, I do occassionaly top up excess cash to my RA with a request to CPF such as my payouts will stretch to at least 90 years of age.

royalmix

I was fortunate to be the 'last batch' (born on the last week of Year 1957) to stay on with the RSS scheme. My wife was not so, she was born 1959 - hence put under CPF Life (Basic).

We topped up our balance to ERS when it was introduced it in 2016. Since I am on RSS, I do occassionaly top up excess cash to my RA with a request to CPF such as my payouts will stretch to at least 90 years of age.
On RSS is best, just dump all in!

kelhot2001

So you have not reached 55? ok

Go one big round to clarify, now I deleted all the clarifications posts! :ROFLMAO:

Everyone here born after 1958 are like you, belong to the RSS cohort but forced into CPF Life because of a change in CPF goalpost/rule! :LOL: ( by your definition only!)
Hahaha, thanks for the clarification. I think the more correct way is to enforce CPFlife in 2009 to those who just start work in 2009. While those already contributed to CPF when have the option to stay on RSS or opt for CPF life. But then………

royalmix

Hahaha, thanks for the clarification. I think the more correct way is to enforce CPFlife in 2009 to those who just start work in 2009. While those already contributed to CPF when have the option to stay on RSS or opt for CPF life. But then………
I prefer to spend my time productively to "geng" how to move forward to my best advantage!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.