CPF vs SRS advice

xiaosinsinful

Lets say you are in your late 20s in the 7% bracket.

to reduce tax would you

1. topup SRS / CPF /Both / None(pay taxes)
2.justify your choice and why not the other?

I understand that both gives a 1:1 tax relief , however why is one better then the other, also is it better to just pay taxes and keep cash liquid considering other financial goals e.g getting a house.

reddevil0728

Lets say you are in your last 20s/early 20s in the 7% bracket.

to reduce tax would you

I understand that both gives a 1:1 tax relief , however why is one better then the other, also is it better to just pay taxes and keep cash liquid considering other financial goals e.g getting a house.
if you are in the 7% tax bracket, is the amount of tax you are paying such a big priority to you?

I think what you should be thinking of when you are deciding to either top up CPF SA or SRS is more about what you are trying to get out it rather than just looking at reducing tax. reducing tax is kind of like a byproduct of whatever you are doing.

e.g. you are topping up CPF SA cause you want to get 4% interest and the consequence of that you also get tax relief.

To me given that there is a lower cap for CPF SA to get tax relief and it is a tax relief for the entire amount and for life, i will top-up CPF SA first to get the guaranteed higher interest, before thinking about topping up SRS.

Cause SRS, you top-up now, you are saving tax now. but when you withdraw out when the time comes only the first x amount is tax free. if you have other income, then you tax free portion from SRS becomes even lower.

SRS you also must consciously go do something with it, if not you end up earning pathetic interest which might be worse than holding it as cash.

If you go do something with SRS, and earn higher returns. you end up paying tax on that. cause if you think about it. if you got 10k to put into SRS.

you put in already you go invest. when it is time for you to withdraw, maybe you returns become 25k (include Principal) then u go withdraw up. you kena taxed 5k on investment returns.

had you go just use 10k in cash to invest and get by the time comes when you return, you returns from investment become 25k. u don't get taxed on it. so by investing with your SRS you are like end up paying capital gain tax?

Chances are that if you are willing to put money in SRS means you will likely not plan to take it out also, so kind of no diff from just putting into CPFSA, though the diff might be CPF definitely can't take out but SRS can but with penalty.

If that is the concern, i will do a monthly top-up for CPFSA up till 7k for the year. and you can stop anytime so liquidity is less of a concern.

if you are still worried. then maybe just do 1/2 the amount you willing to put in total into CPFSA so that you enjoy the perks of CPFSA and the other half into SRS. so that you still have the option to draw it out.

xiaosinsinful

if you are in the 7% tax bracket, is the amount of tax you are paying such a big priority to you?

I think what you should be thinking of when you are deciding to either top up CPF SA or SRS is more about what you are trying to get out it rather than just looking at reducing tax. reducing tax is kind of like a byproduct of whatever you are doing.

e.g. you are topping up CPF SA cause you want to get 4% interest and the consequence of that you also get tax relief.

To me given that there is a lower cap for CPF SA to get tax relief and it is a tax relief for the entire amount and for life, i will top-up CPF SA first to get the guaranteed higher interest, before thinking about topping up SRS.

Cause SRS, you top-up now, you are saving tax now. but when you withdraw out when the time comes only the first x amount is tax free. if you have other income, then you tax free portion from SRS becomes even lower.

SRS you also must consciously go do something with it, if not you end up earning pathetic interest which might be worse than holding it as cash.

If you go do something with SRS, and earn higher returns. you end up paying tax on that. cause if you think about it. if you got 10k to put into SRS.

you put in already you go invest. when it is time for you to withdraw, maybe you returns become 25k (include Principal) then u go withdraw up. you kena taxed 5k on investment returns.

had you go just use 10k in cash to invest and get by the time comes when you return, you returns from investment become 25k. u don't get taxed on it. so by investing with your SRS you are like end up paying capital gain tax?

Chances are that if you are willing to put money in SRS means you will likely not plan to take it out also, so kind of no diff from just putting into CPFSA, though the diff might be CPF definitely can't take out but SRS can but with penalty.

If that is the concern, i will do a monthly top-up for CPFSA up till 7k for the year. and you can stop anytime so liquidity is less of a concern.

if you are still worried. then maybe just do 1/2 the amount you willing to put in total into CPFSA so that you enjoy the perks of CPFSA and the other half into SRS. so that you still have the option to draw it out.

Hi Reddevil , I appreciate you sharing your view (just like every other advice you have ever given)

And you got it right, the issue is not so much paying tax but how to better optimize it so that i am able to kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

Why im considering of going SRS route vs CPF route is because
#1 im looking into long term equity investments potentially returning higher then CPF. So SRS is quite attractive since i get the do investments that i would do normally + benefits of reduced tax

#2 stability. I understand that SRS locks in your withdrawal age from your 1st contributing year. however, can you tell me honestly that in 30-40 years time CPF withdrawal age will stay the same and the retirement sum will stay the same or the CPF rates will stay the same? Or that govt wont come out with some funny scheme halfway and i have no choice but auto-enrolled into it. like the retirement scheme > CPF life .with the govt recently coming out with careshield ,eldershield and auto enrolling people into it without any choice, I have lost faith in the current system.I have 0 control over CPF but with SRS i have some flexibility

#3 liquidity. yes SRS is for long term investment but if worst come to the worst i am able to tap into that fund (yes i am aware of the penalty)

Hence the dilemma.

BBCWatcher

I think there's pretty good value in a CPF top up with tax relief from the 7% tax bracket. I favor a MediSave voluntary contribution as a slightly higher priority than your Special Account, if you have room below the CPF Annual Limit and Basic Healthcare Sum. That's mainly because MA dollars can be useful at any/every age. The value is particularly good if you still qualify for bonus interest. (5% interest plus tax relief is really quite compelling.)

Andrew833

Lets say you are in your last 20s/early 20s in the 7% bracket.

to reduce tax would you

I'm not that good in tax relief thing so I will skip it.
CPF SA - 4% interest and lock till minimum 55 years.
SRS - low interest mean you need to invest well but very difficult to get compounding interest of 4%.
SRS - cannot invest as freely as cash, it's limited.
SRS - con - withdrawal will be tax, you withdraw more tax more.

Think twice.

Nofear40

There is a 5% penalty if you withdraw SRS before 62 and the amount will be taxable.
But I believe that I will only need to touch the money before 62 if I lost my job, ie no income to tax. My current tax bracket is more than 5% so there is still some tax savings for me if I need to withdraw. If you contribute to SA, you can only withdraw at 55 if you opt for FRS or ERS.

I do both till I max out the min sum.

However, if I am in my 20s, i.e your painted scenario, my focus will be to build up my liquid funds instead of locking it for decades, as at this stage, one will need cash to build up a family. But maybe others will have a different opinion

reddevil0728

Hi Reddevil , I appreciate you sharing your view (just like every other advice you have ever given)

And you got it right, the issue is not so much paying tax but how to better optimize it so that i am able to kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

Why im considering of going SRS route vs CPF route is because
#1 im looking into long term equity investments potentially returning higher then CPF. So SRS is quite attractive since i get the do investments that i would do normally + benefits of reduced tax

#2 stability. I understand that SRS locks in your withdrawal age from your 1st contributing year. however, can you tell me honestly that in 30-40 years time CPF withdrawal age will stay the same and the retirement sum will stay the same or the CPF rates will stay the same? Or that govt wont come out with some funny scheme halfway and i have no choice but auto-enrolled into it. like the retirement scheme > CPF life .with the govt recently coming out with careshield ,eldershield and auto enrolling people into it without any choice, I have lost faith in the current system.I have 0 control over CPF but with SRS i have some flexibility

#3 liquidity. yes SRS is for long term investment but if worst come to the worst i am able to tap into that fund (yes i am aware of the penalty)

Hence the dilemma.

Technically speaking, CPFSA can also invest, just more restrictive.
SRS is also more restrictive than cash. and if the available options can't get you "risk-free guaranteed" returns of what CPFSA can give you (even without investing), CPFSA (at least for a portion of what you intend to put in) still seems more attractive and the tax relief is for good.

If not, I really think this tax relief thing you are gunning for is really quite immaterial. You are essentially just delaying your tax burden. Not say the first 20k tax free (talking in nominal terms, given that this will likely change) when you retire is that material. You might still end up paying more tax that you are paying now.

Had you kept it as cash with more flexibility, any capital gains you get might be more (by virtue of you having more options) and you don't get taxed for capital gains. Lets assume that you get on par returns with your SRS approach of investing, you might save tax now, but you kena capital gains tax later which you wouldn't have had you just use cash to invest. So you net net might not be any better off.

You can lock in your withdrawal age by just putting $1. so it is not that difficult.
I definitely can't and i don't expect it to remain the same going forward, it will only be increased rather than decreased.
Retirement sum will also increase, they already made it quite clear that there is like 3% growth yearly
CPF i/r will also likely vary.

If based on your argument, I can also put it to you that SRS is a government scheme. What makes you think you have any more control than cash? Yes you might have more flexibility than CPF, but you definitely have less control over it than cash.

TBH, I feel that only in SG that people don't like our pension. I think in other countries, people would like to have more of it than less of it. anyway that aside.

That aside, tbh, I feel that with what just happened in the latest election, I feel that CPF changes will likely change for the better rather than worse.

I will address this together with what I plan to conclude over since it ties in.

The point i am trying to make here is, you don't have to choose one over another. there are many competing priorities, pros and cons.

given that max tax relief for CPFSA is 7k, SRS is around 15k per year.

If say you have 15k to put in, i would rather do 7k CPFSA, the rest SRS.

you don't have to dump the entire 15k into SRS.

It is about a balance.

reddevil0728

There is a 5% penalty if you withdraw SRS before 62 and the amount will be taxable.
But I believe that I will only need to touch the money before 62 if I lost my job, ie no income to tax. My current tax bracket is more than 5% so there is still some tax savings for me if I need to withdraw. If you contribute to SA, you can only withdraw at 55 if you opt for FRS or ERS.

I do more till I max out the min sum.

but the penalty of 5% is on the entire sum? whereas your tax bracket is more like marginal? i assume more than 5% i.e. 7% right? cause there is no 5% tax bracket.

there are other considerations I mentioned above.

Nofear40

but the penalty of 5% is on the entire sum? whereas your tax bracket is more like marginal? i assume more than 5% i.e. 7% right? cause there is no 5% tax bracket.

there are other considerations I mentioned above.
The 5% penalty will be on your withdrawal sum, not your entire SRS.
Yes, my tax bracket will be the incremental tax. I compare that to my incremental tax bracket as if I do not contribute $X to SRS, that $X will be taxable at my incremental tax bracket.

Yes , I have read your considerations. Actually, SRS and SA top ups to me are tax savings tools, not investment tools. Hence, I do not use SRS to buy stocks etc as I do not want to pay tax on my capital gains, Mainly use for endowment funds to enjoy tax savings while earning stable returns.
I am also mindful that only $20k is tax free (so $40k for SRS) and I may have other income post 62. I do not think $40k is enough for my retirement income as there may be rising health costs at that age.

reddevil0728

Yes, my tax bracket will be the incremental tax. I compare that to my incremental tax bracket as if I do not contribute $X to SRS, that $X will be taxable at my incremental tax bracket.

Yes , I have read your considerations. Actually, SRS and SA top ups to me are tax savings tools. Hence, I do not use SRS to buy stocks etc. Mainly use for endowment funds to enjoy tax while earning stable returns.
I am also mindful that only $20k is tax free (so $40k for SRS) and I may have other income post 62. I do not think $40k is enough for my retirement income as there may be rising health costs at that age.
ya the entire sum of withdrawal, whereas tax is marginal. that's what i mean

limster

Hence, I do not use SRS to buy stocks etc as I do not want to pay tax on my capital gains,

remember you are deferring your tax bill for 30+ years. This allows you use the tax savings now to invest and compound your returns.

if you are so skilled in investing that you are able to have huge capital gains on your SRS...

this will equally mean that all the income tax savings from SRS, you will also be able to invest the tax savings and get equally big capital gains... and the compounded returns over 30+ years might far outstrip your equally huge SRS tax bill at age 62. =:p

however, i agree that someone in your position shouldn't bother with SRS, but for a different reason - your income tax rate is only 7%. I also started investing SRS pretty late, after my tax rate got higher.

xiaosinsinful

remember you are deferring your tax bill for 30+ years. This allows you use the tax savings now to invest and compound your returns.

if you are so skilled in investing that you are able to have huge capital gains on your SRS...

this will equally mean that all the income tax savings from SRS, you will also be able to invest the tax savings and get equally big capital gains... and the compounded returns over 30+ years might far outstrip your equally huge SRS tax bill at age 62. =:p

however, i agree that someone in your position shouldn't bother with SRS, but for a different reason - your income tax rate is only 7%. I also started investing SRS pretty late, after my tax rate got higher.

what you said here actually encompass my thoughts and hence my entire dilemma. Im thinking of putting money into SRS investing it getting it compounded over the next 20-30 years w/o withdrawals gaming to get more then that SA would give. With the added side benefit of reduced taxes. So your advice would be to keep the cash on hand? of course like you mention, the downside is that the money cant be touched for a long period of time.

@reddevil , if im not wrong , for SRS withdrawal (include capital gain) only 50% of withdrawal I.E 40k(in today context) wont be taxed regardless of capital gains in SRS

reddevil0728

what you said here actually encompass my thoughts and hence my entire dilemma. Im thinking of putting money into SRS investing it getting it compounded over the next 20-30 years w/o withdrawals gaming to get more then that SA would give. With the added side benefit of reduced taxes. So your advice would be to keep the cash on hand? of course like you mention, the downside is that the money cant be touched for a long period of time.

@reddevil , if im not wrong , for SRS withdrawal (include capital gain) only 50% of withdrawal I.E 40k(in today context) wont be taxed regardless of capital gains in SRS
Yep, but assuming you are really just that good at investing, and other things being equal, assuming today's rules remain the same.

Are you saying that:

You will pay less overall taxes by having tax relief now by putting money int SRS and invest and when the time comes you withdraw and pay any taxes (if applicable) is going to be less than the tax you will pay had you just hold onto it as cash to invest rather than putting it into SRS?

compro_1975

TS, i am close to your range. i put my extra money into SRS to lower taxes. disclaimer, i am not a supporter of CPF after introduction of min sum. god knows what new thing they will force upon me along the way as i still have 25 years before creation of RA account... and they already going to rob me of careshield next month already.... so for me, it is legistrated that 10 years draw down from the time of account opening... i invest my srs in long term stocks, drop abit also nv, at of 25years how much i gain is how much lor, best bet till date is sheng siong

Nofear40

Using cash to play stock instead. Wanted to have a diversified portfolio.
Yah, I did say that my incremental tax rate is higher than 5%... but is not 7%.
I used both to enjoy tax savings. But now only SRS as already maxed out CPF TOP up. The interest is enough to settle the min sum incremental.. so I just let it rolled.

reddevil0728

Using cash to play stock instead. Wanted to have a diversified portfolio.
Yah, I did say that my incremental tax rate is higher than 5%... but is not 7%.
I used both to enjoy tax savings. But now only SRS as already maxed out CPF TOP up. The interest is enough to settle the min sum incremental.. so I just let it rolled.
how is it possible for your incremental tax rate be higher than 5% but is not 7%? so are you saying 11.5%/15%/18%/19%/19.5%/20%/22%. just that you don't wish to reveal your income?

BBCWatcher

But I believe that I will only need to touch the money before 62 if I lost my job, ie no income to tax. My current tax bracket is more than 5% so there is still some tax savings for me if I need to withdraw.
There are a couple important caveats. First of all, you probably have to wait until the next January to make a premature SRS withdrawal and avoid ordinary income tax on the full amount. It depends on when the hypothetical income interruption occurs, but the fundamental point is that income taxes are assessed on a calendar year basis. And then, if you find a new job in February after making a premature SRS withdrawal in January, this SRS gambit didn’t work. (And it’s a good thing you found a new job.) Second, the maximum amount of 5% penalty tax rate premature withdrawal from a SRS account, with no other income tax, is $20,000, not $40,000 like it is for a qualified withdrawal.

If you contribute to SA, you can only withdraw at 55 if you opt for FRS or ERS.
No, not for a single SA top up or even several. SA top ups effectively raise the BRS, but they don’t necessarily raise it up to the FRS. It depends on the timing and amount of SA top ups.

I don’t think it makes any sense to reduce a Retirement Account below the FRS. Rather the opposite, actually. Whatever planet the CPF LIFE income stream associated with below-the-FRS is, it definitely ain’t high cost of living Singapore. It’s definitely not luxury living on a sub-FRS CPF LIFE income, so I don’t know why so many people feel it’s so critically important to be a super poor 65+ year old instead of a merely poor one, because that’s what we’re talking about here. So I don’t rank this consideration very high at all. However, if you do, why not a MA top up? You’re probably going to fill MediSave anyway, and the faster you fill it, the more interest you earn and the faster SA fills up with funds that can be withdrawn at age 55+ if you insist. MA voluntary contributions also qualify for tax relief (with no $7,000 limit), bonus interest, and can be useful at any/every age. MA VCs must fit within both the CPF Annual Limit and Basic Healthcare Sum.

However, if I am in my 20s, i.e your painted scenario, my focus will be to build up my liquid funds instead of locking it for decades, as at this stage, one will need cash to build up a family. But maybe others will have a different opinion
I do. Liquidity is overrated. You need enough of it, not more than enough of it. I don’t see people recommending avoiding HDB flats because they’re liquidity constrained (they are), so why the special pleading for CPF? OK, so there’s a liquidity constraint. Take note of it, factor it into your decision, then proceed if you would still have adequate liquidity, that’s all. The interesting thing about MA is that it’s liquid for lots of medical stuff, and not just your own medical stuff.

Good point! Be careful drawing comparisons between average and marginal tax rates. They’re not directly comparable.

One more important point is that the 5% penalty is not set in stone. It could be 10% any time the government wishes it to be. A lot of people seem to think CPF is unique in being subject to rule changes, but no, not so. The government can change the rules on pretty much anything at any time.

Yes , I have read your considerations. Actually, SRS and SA top ups to me are tax savings tools, not investment tools. Hence, I do not use SRS to buy stocks etc as I do not want to pay tax on my capital gains, Mainly use for endowment funds to enjoy tax savings while earning stable returns.
OK, but that’s not a 4% (or even 5% with bonus interest) near guaranteed interest rate, is it? These days the guaranteed endowment plans are sub-2%. I don’t think you should starve yourself, metaphorically, because you might also starve IRAS a little. Just construct your desired long-term portfolio, then decide which vehicles handle which parts. If that means you’ve got 15% in MBH (for example), and your SRS can hold 2/3rds of your MBH allocation, fine. That doesn’t mean you should choose endowment plans unless you ordinarily would choose them as part of your long-term investment strategy. And I don’t think you would or should.

That’s right, so if you expect difficulty maximizing tax free or at least tax favored SRS withdrawals, that’s another reason why MA and SA could be more attractive tax relief opportunities.

disclaimer, i am not a supporter of CPF after introduction of min sum.
That was a very long time ago, so long ago that the Minimum Sum doesn’t exist any more. We now have BRS/FRS/ERS.

And here’s where I don’t understand your “logic.” The government can change the SRS rules too any time it wishes. Why is CPF bad but SRS good in those terms? It doesn’t make sense. If anything the rule-based calculus ought to favor CPF slightly. That’s because CPF has far more participants (who vote) compared to SRS.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.