Curved OLED

Carnage

I haven't claim the mastercard discount. Any catch with it?

The salesperson said it is a card with $300 in it that I can still use to purchase anything. Thought of using it for the soundbar purchase.

You can use it like a normal debit card. Pay for anything.

So $3599 and u still get the $300 visa debit card?

HungryPillow

Ok thanks.

No. That price is already discounted with the card.

Maybe the IT show it can go lower. Seems unlikely because the new LG tv is still a couple of weeks away.

So just to confirm you paid 3899 and got the 300 Mastercard? Or you paid 3599 and got the 300 Mastercard?

I was at BD Bishan last week and they told me the best they could do was 3999 with the 300 Mastercard.

derrickgoh

So just to confirm you paid 3899 and got the 300 Mastercard? Or you paid 3599 and got the 300 Mastercard?

I was at BD Bishan last week and they told me the best they could do was 3999 with the 300 Mastercard.
I think should be paid $3899 lah. If pay $3599 then still have $300 mastercard means is $3399 leh. As it is $3899 I feel is dirt cheap for a new model 55" OLED TV liao, $3399 is ridiculously low lor. Can't be.

How I wish my TV will spoil now. $3899 then still got $300 debit card. Damn worth it lor.

My NS buddy used to sell TVs. They all have a minimum selling price. For e.g. let's say its $3700. The published price may be $4500 for e.g. Some rich fellow will come in and happily buy for $4500. Of course the shop is happy.

Someone else come in and ask for discount. The sales guy will say ok lah give you $4000. Someone may accept. Someone else may push harder.

At the end of the day its a pushing game lor. See if you are able to push him to his minimum selling price. But obviously the lower he sells for the less commission he gets lah.

So on one hand he don't want to be stingy and lose you if you walk off. On the other hand if he sells at minimum selling price right away, he rugi his commission.

HungryPillow

Thanks for the help in this thread, I finally got my TV delivered today!

It looks incredible but I have a small question... some of the reviews say this TV comes with two remotes but mine only came with one (the wand). Is this correct for the singapore market?

Wongpk

Older LG model comes with two remotes; a traditional remote and a magic remote.

I prefer to use the traditional remote as it has more buttons but it doesn't have a 3D button whereas the magic remote can be used to switch 3D modes.

The newer LG model incorporates both normal buttons and smart features functions all into 1 remote.

Wongpk

see sg mediacorp news also use LG OLED TV

16957588685_eef90a268d_c.jpg

Wongpk

Hi carnage care to share how you adjust the Picture preset settings ? ISF Expert 1 = ?

Carnage

LG OLED 4K coming leow. I think it's 10K plus only

Yes you are right. Best Denki salesman already told me the 65" curved OLED would be around that price.

The 4K version at the same size will cost more depending on configuration.

derrickgoh

LG OLED 4K coming leow. I think it's 10K plus only
$10,000 "only" sia. :s13:

Depending on what curved OLED prices are WHEN my 70" Sony conks, then I will decide lah. But no matter how it drops, I am sure the 4K curved OLED will still be at least $7K to $8K. Guess I will just have to be satisfied with the HD curved OLED, not that its that bad to begin with.

Carnage

OLED is definitely ahead of LED, even FALD.

The colours are breath taking.

Wife is enjoying tv now.

Apparatus

$10,000 "only" sia. :s13:

Depending on what curved OLED prices are WHEN my 70" Sony conks, then I will decide lah. But no matter how it drops, I am sure the 4K curved OLED will still be at least $7K to $8K. Guess I will just have to be satisfied with the HD curved OLED, not that its that bad to begin with.

By the time 4K OLED TV price drops 8K LED TV will be available. If you ask me I prefers 8K LED TV over 4K OLED TV lah

Actually manufacturers are out to produce blacker black and whiter white TVs with better color reproduction. LED TVs like the Quantum Dots/SUHD/HDR LED TVs are designed for that purpose and are better than conventional LED TVs

So, size-for-size, 4K OLED TV vs 8K Quantum Dots/HDR/SUHD LED TV I'll definitely choose the latter for its lower price and more detail and sharper display

sigurros

By the time 4K OLED TV price drops 8K LED TV will be available. If you ask me I prefers 8K LED TV over 4K OLED TV lah

Actually manufacturers are out to produce blacker black and whiter white TVs with better color reproduction. LED TVs like the Quantum Dots and HDR LED TVs are designed for that purpose and are better than conventional LED TVs

So, size-for-size, 4K OLED TV vs 8K Quantum Dots/HDR LED TV I'll definitely choose the latter for its lower price and more detail and sharper display

8k display is definitely "overkill" for home use. Our human eye will not be able to differentiate between 4k TV now and the so call 8k TV. Unless you are talking about display that is at least more than 100". Am using a 100" FHD projector and using upscaling on my receiver. The difference is definitely noticeable. But not by much.

For normal home use of 60-84", 8k TV is just a gimmick of the TV manufacturers to "earn" more money from the consumer. Just like 3D.

Apparatus

Re

8k display is definitely "overkill" for home use. Our human eye will not be able to differentiate between 4k TV now and the so call 8k TV. Unless you are talking about display that is at least more than 100". Am using a 100" FHD projector and using upscaling on my receiver. The difference is definitely noticeable. But not by much.

For normal home use of 60-84", 8k TV is just a gimmick of the TV manufacturers to "earn" more money from the consumer. Just like 3D.

For 8K TV you need at least a 80 inch size for enjoyment. Like it or not the trend is towards 8K. 8K TVs have made their debut at the recent CES and even display monitors are now having 5K in resolution. FYI, iMAC monitors will be 8K in resolution soon.

The prices of current 80-inch (and above) LED TVs are coming down fast. Size-for-size 8K TVs (as compared to 4K TVs) will be in demand when people raises their requirement and expectation for enjoyment.

I don't think 3D is a gimmick. I own a 4K 3D LED TV and I prefers to watch movies in either 4K or 3D vs standard Blu-Ray. Of course some 3D are poorly done but for those which are properly done its a new experience. 8K 3D glasses-free TV has made its debut at the CES so look forward to the ultimate 8K 3D glasses-free Quantum Dots/HDR/SUHD LED TV as compared to the prohibitively expensive 8K OLED TV of the same size

sigurros

For 8K TV you need at least a 80 inch size for enjoyment. Like it or not the trend is towards 8K. 8K TVs have made their debut at the recent CES and even display monitors are now having 5K in resolution. FYI, iMAC monitors will be 8K in resolution soon.

The prices of current 80-inch (and above) LED TVs are coming down fast. Size-for-size 8K TVs (as compared to 4K TVs) will be in demand when people raises their requirement and expectation for enjoyment.

I don't think 3D is a gimmick. I own a 4K 3D LED TV and I prefers to watch movies in either 4K or 3D vs standard Blu-Ray. Of course some 3D are poorly done but for those which are properly done its a new experience. 8K 3D glasses-free TV has made its debut at the CES so look forward to the ultimate 8K 3D glasses-free Quantum Dots/HDR/SUHD LED TV as compared to the prohibitively expensive 8K OLED TV of the same size

Well. To each his own. To me at 100" the gain at 4k is noticeable but not drastic.

Can't imagine having a smaller screen size with "8K" resolution.

And furthermore, there are limited sources at the moment in 4k especially the blus.

Even the TV manufacturers is to come out with 8K, is basically a white elephant without the source.

And when the 4k blus becomes the norm, by then, who knows, there will be TV with 12k, 24k?

It's a never ending persuit of technology the TV manufacturers want to create in order to sell TVs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.