DBS digiportfolio

GolferZzAxis

Also regular investing is important. Most people enter when prices are high and then when there is market fall, people get scared and stop investing, then again when market bounces back they invest at highs. Most retail investors are not able to invest regularly in a disciplined manner. If they do, they will do very well.

This is why the best advice you can give to a retail investor is to just do passive investment by DCA into a globally diversified ETF or mutual fund (VWRA, IWDA or SWRD + EIMI, Dimensional funds, Lionglobal Global Stock Index for CPF etc) and just forget about it until you reach retirement age.

Don't try to pick stocks, or invest in a dumb robo/fund advisor that tries to beat the market. If your definition of investing is to earn big bucks in a short period of time by going all in on crypto or tesla, that is not investing. That is just gambling or speculation. Then you have nobody to blame when you suffer huge losses, because a well-diversified portfolio will always shield you from the worst of a market crash and eventually recover.

TehSi99

This is why the best advice you can give to a retail investor is to just do passive investment by DCA into a globally diversified ETF or mutual fund (VWRA, IWDA or SWRD + EIMI, Dimensional funds, Lionglobal Global Stock Index for CPF etc) and just forget about it until you reach retirement age.

Don't try to pick stocks, or invest in a dumb robo/fund advisor that tries to beat the market. If your definition of investing is to earn big bucks in a short period of time by going all in on crypto or tesla, that is not investing. That is just gambling or speculation. Then you have nobody to blame when you suffer huge losses, because a well-diversified portfolio will always shield you from the worst of a market crash and eventually recover.

Thanks for the advise.
Does it mean there is little value in Robo Advisor? I heard some people make profits.

dappermen

Thanks for the advise.
Does it mean there is little value in Robo Advisor? I heard some people make profits.
it depends! fr Jul 2020 to beginning of 2021 is a hefty return
those who missed the boat? may not see +ve returns
it really depend on your lifestyle& needs

your broker & DIY cant let u use your own CPF to make certain purchases too

gd robo like Endowus offers gd Institutional funds too w rebates of fees
4 those who prefer it passive! will use robos who provides free rebalancg, Dca-ing & buying into many etfs (even @ fractional)@1 go
I m not sure of how DBS Does it?

skpuppy

I think cpf should allow ppl to do VWRA, IWDA etc…Too much restrictions. Need to go for special mutual funds.

dappermen

Hence it is Cpf - controlled, lol

- they wanna mbrs to avoid picking dramatic volatility funds and stks & start crying when their rtiremt nest is gone!!! Govt is not gonna help!

And as i m mentioned above alot r low wage earners (they r not to b deprived of any opport too) and they could be illiterate, but tHeir child like me could assist….

Even w endowus and many fund mgrs, some funds are not the usual fund readily avail to others but strictly designed for cpf mbrs to purchase only (their ticker/codes diff)

s0crates

I think cpf should allow ppl to do VWRA, IWDA etc…Too much restrictions. Need to go for special mutual funds.

Most people don't even bother to do simple optimisation like OA to SA transfer, or even manage their finances properly.

Government won't bother to cater to the needs of the elite, savvy few that are definitely already financially well.

TehSi99

Anyone here who invested in DBS Digiportfolio still not making money?

Just want to know if this RoboAdvisor is good.

revhappy

Anyone here who invested in DBS Digiportfolio still not making money?

Just want to know if this RoboAdvisor is good.

Lets just say there are better options out there.
1) DBS Digi porfolio global is USD and makes you worry about the FX conversion.
2) The bond portion is USD bonds. Why should SG based investors hold US based bonds?

If you need the convinience of a Robo, maybe better to use 100% equities Endowus single fund portfolios. For bonds you have CPF, SSB, high interest accounts etc so maybe bonds may not even be needed.

dappermen

If you need the convinience of a Robo, maybe better to use 100% equities Endowus single fund portfolios. For bonds you have CPF, SSB, high interest accounts etc so maybe bonds may not even be needed.
so true ! may i copy this sttm to all the robo threads
so glad u didnt mentioned other robo brands

dappermen

1) DBS Digi porfolio global is USD and makes you worry about the FX conversion.
2) The bond portion is USD bonds. Why should SG based investors hold US based bonds?
btw do u happend to know whether uSA taxed us for the dividend gains/yields etc from Bonds(US)?
& many robos tend to be in USD due to the glob eqty holding

revhappy

ok will await for him

I just checked, DBS digiportfolio uses UCITS Ireland based bond ETFs but they are global and EM bond ETFs but they are USD hedged. So DWT will be 15%. I still dont think they are good options.

If you are paying like 0.75% management fee for these bond ETFs, with already such low yields, you are not getting anything back.

This is the corp bond:
https://www.ishares.com/uk/individual/en/products/251813/ishares-global-corporate-bond-ucits-etf
YTM is 1.73% 20bps goes to TER and 75bps to management fee. So you are left with 0.8% if bonds yields remain at current levels. If they rise, you will see losses.

This is aggregate bond:
https://www.ishares.com/uk/individu.../ishares-core-global-aggregate-bond-ucits-etf
YTM is 1.23% 10bps TER 75bps management fee, you are left with 40bps

yuzu28

Anyone knows if digiPortfolio can set up RSP? i dun seem to find any button.

McFadden

Does this Digi portfolio give you a list of more than 10funds to choose from or less than 10?

sansanjikikut

Asia etf portfolio safest tier also still 5% negative for nearly 4 months straight. Screw those bonds and evergrande

Dbs also knn one. Should rename to just robo instead of hybrid human touch. Pui

Kojo0403

Asia etf portfolio safest tier also still 5% negative for nearly 4 months straight. Screw those bonds and evergrande

Dbs also knn one. Should rename to just robo instead of hybrid human touch. Pui
actually my fast and furious asia etf portfolio is up in recent months probably because it has decent allocation in india and singapore equities

Kojo0403

I just checked, DBS digiportfolio uses UCITS Ireland based bond ETFs but they are global and EM bond ETFs but they are USD hedged. So DWT will be 15%. I still dont think they are good options.

If you are paying like 0.75% management fee for these bond ETFs, with already such low yields, you are not getting anything back.

This is the corp bond:
https://www.ishares.com/uk/individual/en/products/251813/ishares-global-corporate-bond-ucits-etf
YTM is 1.73% 20bps goes to TER and 75bps to management fee. So you are left with 0.8% if bonds yields remain at current levels. If they rise, you will see losses.

This is aggregate bond:
https://www.ishares.com/uk/individu.../ishares-core-global-aggregate-bond-ucits-etf
YTM is 1.23% 10bps TER 75bps management fee, you are left with 40bps
but the purpose of adding bonds to a portfolio is not purely for coupon. it is also to buffer any sudden pull back of equities market.
since bond tend to perform better during market sell off, it buffer your losses and give you more holdings to rebalance into the market at its dip.

Though i do agree for most robo.. if u opt for most conservative portfolio it might not really make sense in this low yield environment especially if you are not holding equities elsewhere

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.