Dell Laptop User Thread

bryant_16

but i really wonder if the 640m integrated graphics with 1gb of ram is okie for windows vista ?

ranzl

bryant_16 said:
but i really wonder if the 640m integrated graphics with 1gb of ram is okie for windows vista ?

same with mi. dun hav anyone who really tried it out yet?

shotz

Lighthand said:
If you get it now, the upgrade pack is free. You'll need to pay for shipment though.

How to get this free upgrade pack . And how much for shipment ?

alanhsieh

shotz said:

www.dellvistaupgrade.com
juz follow the instructions as listed in the website. However, if it is recommending u to upgrade to vista home basic instead vista home premium, i will think that it is not worth the effort as a lot of bells & whistles will be missing in the basic edition. But of course your budget will oso be one of the deciding factor too. :)

ter_03_80

shotz said:
i tink its meant for newly purchase Dell notebooks,got a call from Dell and they told me shipping is @ $42.promotion ends on 28 Feb.....

wkokhoe

ter_03_80 said:
i tink its meant for newly purchase Dell notebooks,got a call from Dell and they told me shipping is @ $42.promotion ends on 28 Feb.....
Also puzzling about this...anyway when u visit the dellvistaupgrade.com, they say
'Dell’s Express Upgrade to Windows Vista™ site is currently unavailable. Please try again later'.:s11:

alanhsieh

kungfu11 said:
M1210 good enuff for gaming? like budget leh

I am a current owner of M1210. U will be pleasantly surprised. I have played MOHAA & COD2 with no lags at all with my dedicated nvidia 7400. :)

alanhsieh

wkokhoe said:
Also puzzling about this...anyway when u visit the dellvistaupgrade.com, they say
'Dell’s Express Upgrade to Windows Vista™ site is currently unavailable. Please try again later'.:s11:

Try again. It should be ok now......

human_shieldz

alanhsieh said:
I am a current owner of M1210. U will be pleasantly surprised. I have played MOHAA & COD2 with no lags at all with my dedicated nvidia 7400. :)
I'm sure u didn't buy M1210 at its original configuration eh? What is your customize specs like?

alanhsieh

human_shieldz said:
I'm sure u didn't buy M1210 at its original configuration eh? What is your customize specs like?

Basically, I bought it without further changes except for the 1GB ram & nvidia 7400 during last sitex 2006.

I wish dell will bring m1710 into singapore as it is the ultimate gaming laptop that u can find in the market. It is formerly from alienware design after dell has bought alienware over last year.

Recently, I bought a laptop from Dell. But to my disappointment there is a dead pixel on it.
And as there is only one dead pixel, I can't expect Dell to fix the screen for it.
So disappointing.

stam

silverhardware said:
Recently, I bought a laptop from Dell. But to my disappointment there is a dead pixel on it.
And as there is only one dead pixel, I can't expect Dell to fix the screen for it.
So disappointing.

nope!! there was 1 dead pixel on my DELL laptop 2-3mths after i bought it, they changed the LCD for me :)

angdao83

Interested in getting a basic laptop the 1501.It's just for normal day surfing and watching dvd. No hard core processing stuff. Everything in it is extremely basic. It seems that now all laptops from dell are shipped with vista huh? damn, i really dont want vista in this laptop with only 512 ram and integrated graphics.A few days ago, i saw an option that allows me to switch to windows xp, but now they removed that option and all laptops come with vista~ Oh no...headache.

stam said:
nope!! there was 1 dead pixel on my DELL laptop 2-3mths after i bought it, they changed the LCD for me :)

how do you do it?
i called and they say this is the industry standard, so unless got 5 dead pixel and above else they will not change it.

stam

silverhardware said:
how do you do it?
i called and they say this is the industry standard, so unless got 5 dead pixel and above else they will not change it.

i think u got yrself a lousy CSO?

i emailed them abt this problem...and they just agreeded to change for me.

since u just bought it why cannot change?? tell them they delivered u a fault LCD....!!! :)

stam said:
i think u got yrself a lousy CSO?

i emailed them abt this problem...and they just agreeded to change for me.

since u just bought it why cannot change?? tell them they delivered u a fault LCD....!!! :)

think i will call back, and ask for a change of lcd else will return the laptop.

stam

silverhardware said:
think i will call back, and ask for a change of lcd else will return the laptop.

yeah u should!!!

i am very happy with their after sales support!! :)

a_h_f_s

sandyph said:
for gamer the only *reasonable* options are 6400 or 9400, unreasonable one would be the XPS

other model will not cut it

Thinking of either getting 640m or 6400. Will be using it for sch work, surfing the net, watching movies as well as gaming. Won't ever be carrying it around, so theres no need for it to be very light. Any advice?

Actually, is it a good time to buy a new laptop? Or should I wait until an IT fair comes up?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.