Dell Laptop User Thread

funshinie

SITEX and Dell

Hi I have a couple of questions.

When is the SITEX fair?

Do the dell booths there usually allow us to buy and get the laptop on the spot or do we still have to order online?

Are the laptops there usually at a good deal?

The reason I am asking is because I'll be leaving Spore 5th Dec and hope to get a Dell laptop before I leave. Understand that they usually take 1 to 2 weeks to deliver. Hope to hear from someone soon! Thanks! :)

Soon__

Hi guys, just got myself a DELL C400 Latitude P3M Tualatin. :)

(Can play LAN DOTA at 20FPS LOL)

:D:D

darrenlee78

funshinie said:
Hi I have a couple of questions.

When is the SITEX fair?

Do the dell booths there usually allow us to buy and get the laptop on the spot or do we still have to order online?

Are the laptops there usually at a good deal?

The reason I am asking is because I'll be leaving Spore 5th Dec and hope to get a Dell laptop before I leave. Understand that they usually take 1 to 2 weeks to deliver. Hope to hear from someone soon! Thanks! :)
you have to order. as for the date, i cant remember but you can look out for newspaper ads which should be coming out soon.

funshinie

I have been looking up dell forums online and of course have read tons about the bad service that they give. Like customers talking to people who cannot speak English well and thus not able to understand the problems. Many people have also had hardware failure and took forever for it to get replaced. I read this forum and all I hear are the good stuff. So is Dell good or bad? I have been comtemplating for more than a month now and been surfing the Dell website but still cannot come to a conclusion. HELP! :D

Shinji_U

funshinie said:
I have been looking up dell forums online and of course have read tons about the bad service that they give. Like customers talking to people who cannot speak English well and thus not able to understand the problems. Many people have also had hardware failure and took forever for it to get replaced. I read this forum and all I hear are the good stuff. So is Dell good or bad? I have been comtemplating for more than a month now and been surfing the Dell website but still cannot come to a conclusion. HELP! :D
Well I've never encountered what you have posted personally. Dell Asia Pacific Service Support is better than US or Europe according to my experience.

SGJoe86

funshinie said:

send my laptop for servicing at least 3 times liao, once is adapter failure, one on dead RAM and one on choked CPU heatsink/fan. each time they take roughly one week to replaced the components and send e laptop back to me. if not wrong, their CSO is actually located overseas, which explain the chim english (but it was NOT to the extend dat u dun understand it).

to conclude, they are gd :p

darrenlee78

funshinie said:
its good. go get it :)

funshinie

I"m getting the 6000. I saw one with free 3 year complete coverage for $1700+. Will be downgrading to 3 year limited warranty so it'll be $1600+. I'm getting that and I'm going right after work :D Now there is also $100 off coupon

Will be upgrading to 512mb ram 1 dimm
128mb ati

YIPEEEEE HERE I COME!!! :D

Cloudsky

Just to check, if i buy DELL from the outlet at suntec, Can i purchase it straight away and bring it home? Or do i have to wait for it to be delivered to me?

darrenlee78

funshinie said:
I"m getting the 6000. I saw one with free 3 year complete coverage for $1700+. Will be downgrading to 3 year limited warranty so it'll be $1600+. I'm getting that and I'm going right after work :D Now there is also $100 off coupon

Will be upgrading to 512mb ram 1 dimm
128mb ati

YIPEEEEE HERE I COME!!! :D
cool. good choice :)

scramblur11

Hi anybody happen to know whether the ZeroShock 15" A4L will fit the inspiron 6000? Or onli the XL one can fit?

After browsing through some of the postings, XL is nt sold in spore yet rite?
Thanks~!

donald83

Thought of upgrading my 6000 DVD rom to a DVD writer. How tu by and how much does it cost?

darrenlee78

scramblur11 said:
Hi anybody happen to know whether the ZeroShock 15" A4L will fit the inspiron 6000? Or onli the XL one can fit?

After browsing through some of the postings, XL is nt sold in spore yet rite?
Thanks~!
bring ur laptop along to try? should be a tight fit maybe

scramblur11

darrenlee78 said:
bring ur laptop along to try? should be a tight fit maybe

actually I lazy bring along the laptop...haa....

Based on the measurement, seem abit tight on the side.....maybe will go down funan see see got XL size anot...thanks

iandustries

i got a dell 8600 bought 2 years ago for 4.4k haha
1.7 ghz centrino
128 mb geforce go
60 gb hard disk
1 GB ram

anyone know how much it will cost to upgrade or whether it is even possible to upgrade the graphics card to a 256 mb one?
also for wireless b that the laptop uses, is it possible to connect ad hoc to anoter dell with the same specs and play games on that LAN without an access point?
thanks!

pacer999

Dell Promotion

Today last day promotion for I6000

Free upgrade to 1GB ram
Free Nylon Carry Case
Free upgrade HD from 60G - 100G
Free Dell All in 1 Printer 924
Free Online $250 off

CPU 1.86Ghz 2MB 533Mhz
ATI X300 128M Graphic Card
DVD/CDRW Combo drive
15.4inche screen
9 cell battery
Dual Band Wireless a/b/g
Rest are standard spec.

All the above at $1773.45.

I think this price is a steal for those wanting to get good laptop.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.