Dell Laptop User Thread

pcie2005

since this is a DELL user thread....

haha anyone who uses DELL should report here... even a DELL mouse... :s13:

maybe DELL can include a card that informs all new users to register a place here.... :s13: :s13:

lycanboy

pcie2005 said:
since this is a DELL user thread....

haha anyone who uses DELL should report here... even a DELL mouse... :s13:

maybe DELL can include a card that informs all new users to register a place here.... :s13: :s13:
i uses dell too... the pamplet/brochure to put under the table to prevent stains... am a user too!?!?! :p

SpaceMonkey

im thinking of getting the DELL 6000 but i missed the sitex.

i wanna upgrade my vid card to x300 128mb + 1GB ram which cost ard SG$ 1,992.90 (incl. GST)

anyone got lobang can PM me? lol

SpaceMonkey

i found the x'mas deal from DELL for i6000 from www.dell.com.sg and i've added the following...

1024MB (2 X 512MB) DDR2 SDRAM [+SG$ 171.15]
3 Yrs Complete Cover (with 3 Yrs Limited Warranty) - 20% Discount

and it sums up to this.. [screenshot below]

dell7am.jpg

but 1 question.. i'm leaving for melbourne on the 3rd week of Jan 2006 and just wondering does the 3yrs warrenty covers the laptop even thou im in australia? these are the thing i will get if i upgrade to 3yrs warrenty..

3Yrs Complete Cover + 3Yrs Next Business Day (8X5) On-Site response (parts & Labour)

3 Years CompleteCover Programme (Asia Pacific Regional Coverage Only)
30 Days Online Training
International Support For Notebooks
3 Years Plus Phone Support: Mon-Fri 0900-2100, Sat 0900-1600
DELL's Terms And Conditions applies
Notebook Batteries Carry One Year Warranty Only From Invoice Date
Please Call 1-800394-7432 For DELL Technical Phone Support

Dell expert... please advice. Thanks :)

Striker

Just got my Inspiron 710m last night. Great!

Should i format the hard disk and reinstall everything to improve performance?

arrowdodger

Striker said:

i think it depends. does it come with alot of junk software which u dun really use?
but i dun think u need to reformat it so soon.

btw wat software does it comes with..? my inspirion 6000 coming on tue nite

blurpasta

Striker said:

for me... when i got my 700m frm comex, i just start using it 1st for maybe a few days. Den i reformat it when i started to install alot of apps. hehehe...

Redpillbluepill

SpaceMonkey, I strongly advise you wait for the week of christmas, otherwise you will regret making your purchase now.

I have been keeping track of the notebook prices and the amount show on your receipt is pretty expensive.
At the week before sitex, they already have the $1499 which includes the x300 64mb, 750 proc, 100gig drive,bluetooth, 512mb.
I go ahead and configure the notebook with 128mb x300, 760 proc, 1gig ram, win pro, 9 cell battery, better resolution display and I hit between $1850 to $1900.

Now tell me, which is better?

Based on my daily "today newspaper" observation back from a couple month till now, there are a quite few attractive deals that are much better than the one that your are showing to us.

So, wait till around 20th to 24th of dec and you will thank me for it, I guarantee it will be cheaper. Its only 2 to 2 and half weeks of waiting time.

I myself have already bought 3 inspiron 6000 and other than the bloatware that they installed in the notebooks, I find my purchase is worth every dollar.

Now wait till christmas and I am going to get another one, this time for my wife...heheh;)

ltw1977

blurpasta said:
for me... when i got my 700m frm comex, i just start using it 1st for maybe a few days. Den i reformat it when i started to install alot of apps. hehehe...

Can I ask .. u re-format using the given XP CD? and also need to re-install all the drivers, right?

SpaceMonkey

Redpillbluepill said:
SpaceMonkey, I strongly advise you wait for the week of christmas, otherwise you will regret making your purchase now.

I have been keeping track of the notebook prices and the amount show on your receipt is pretty expensive.
At the week before sitex, they already have the $1499 which includes the x300 64mb, 750 proc, 100gig drive,bluetooth, 512mb.
I go ahead and configure the notebook with 128mb x300, 760 proc, 1gig ram, win pro, 9 cell battery, better resolution display and I hit between $1850 to $1900.

Now tell me, which is better?

Based on my daily "today newspaper" observation back from a couple month till now, there are a quite few attractive deals that are much better than the one that your are showing to us.

So, wait till around 20th to 24th of dec and you will thank me for it, I guarantee it will be cheaper. Its only 2 to 2 and half weeks of waiting time.

I myself have already bought 3 inspiron 6000 and other than the bloatware that they installed in the notebooks, I find my purchase is worth every dollar.

Now wait till christmas and I am going to get another one, this time for my wife...heheh;)

thanks for your reply! appreciate lots!

yeah.. sitex they were selling at 1499 with much better configuration and i thought the x'mas special would be a steal even thou the x'mas promo isn't as fantastic as the one at sitex. i guess i will have to just wait till x'mas :)

1 question.. did Dell give 3yrs warrenty for the sitex promo?

thx once again! :)

pcie2005

DELL has the best bang for bucks! :D

it has the cheapest 17inch laptop!!

no need to think when i buy, since i was looking for a 17inch one

jus bought a DELL 2405FPW...wah shiok

Really nice service :)

Shinji_U

pcie2005 said:
DELL has the best bang for bucks! :D

it has the cheapest 17inch laptop!!

no need to think when i buy, since i was looking for a 17inch one

jus bought a DELL 2405FPW...wah shiok

Really nice service :)
Yea, Dell easily has the cheapest configuration, like what many shop owners would say, Dell is Funan and Sim Lim public enemy number 1.

:D

urbach

for those order i6000 frm sitex.how does it feels like, first hand on the laptop?anyone reformating again?

darrenlee78

Shinji_U said:
Yea, Dell easily has the cheapest configuration, like what many shop owners would say, Dell is Funan and Sim Lim public enemy number 1.

:D
haha yes. their prices make laptops affordable to most of us :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.