Dell Laptop User Thread

ltw1977

Anyone purchase ram from outside & install yrself?

What is the brand of ram most suitable for Inspiron 6000?

I6000 is using ram type is DDR 2 333mhz or 400mhz or 533mhz?

megatop8

ltw1977 said:
Anyone purchase ram from outside & install yrself?

What is the brand of ram most suitable for Inspiron 6000?

I6000 is using ram type is DDR 2 333mhz or 400mhz or 533mhz?
I bought an kingston 1gb ddr2 for my dell 630M.

Redpillbluepill

To space monkey, no they didn't give me the 3 warranty, all I get is a crappy mouse and mousepad:(

Megatop8: if its 855 chipset:400, if its 915 chipset:533
Most probably yours is using DDR2, which will fall into the 533 cat.

There are a few shops that stock them, mostly kingston I think.

Try: Bell, Best bargain at funan(orsls if you prefer but it slightly more expensive), and Chamoxa.
Their 1 gig ram is pretty cheap.

Striker

arrowdodger said:
i think it depends. does it come with alot of junk software which u dun really use?
but i dun think u need to reformat it so soon.

btw wat software does it comes with..? my inspirion 6000 coming on tue nite

Comes with SonicMedia CD Burning software and PowerDVD and useless Microsoft Works.

Does anyone know where to buy the cheapest Office 2003 STE?

ltw1977

Redpillbluepill said:
To space monkey, no they didn't give me the 3 warranty, all I get is a crappy mouse and mousepad:(

Megatop8: if its 855 chipset:400, if its 915 chipset:533
Most probably yours is using DDR2, which will fall into the 533 cat.

There are a few shops that stock them, mostly kingston I think.

Try: Bell, Best bargain at funan(orsls if you prefer but it slightly more expensive), and Chamoxa.
Their 1 gig ram is pretty cheap.

U think Crucial 1 gig set for dual channel (512mb x 2 pcs) cost abt $240 ok?

I saw from crucial website

SpaceMonkey

Redpillbluepill said:

Thanks again for your input. I'm afraid they don't have such offer for i6000 since they are already promoting this as a 'Chrismas promo'. maybe i'm just being paranoid. lol.

but personally as a Dell loyal supporter yourself, what do you think of i6000? and is it neccessary to upgrade to 3yrs warrenty *since i heard ppl saying about the common problem about the LCD screen that will not function properly ah?*

Yxy

I bought Kingston 2x1gb for $135 each lor...

ltw1977 said:
U think Crucial 1 gig set for dual channel (512mb x 2 pcs) cost abt $240 ok?

I saw from crucial website

fearnone

i have just received my dell i6000, now doing the installation of programs into the laptop...

Yxy

No, for i9300 but it's the same type for i6000 as well
You can try checking Chamoxa @ SLS lvl6, but I dunno if they're still selling at that price

ltw1977 said:
Where did u buy from? U bought for Dell 6000 as well ?

Or maybe u got it from SITEX, that's y so cheap?

Shinji_U

So nice to see so many people using Dell now. I saw a Dell clone laptop not too long in my friend's computer shop in Sim Lim, but its a China no brand type, kind of interesting cause everything looked exactly the same, including where the logo will be.

pawn_king

hey all! Have a I9300 here! can add me to the list too? thanks

Just wondering if any of the guys here have done a CPU pin mod, or a GPU upgrade to 7800/6800 ultra (for i9300 users)

thinking of upgrading when my warranty is up next x'mas, but no confidence to do it myself LOL

Shinji_U

Just before holidays Dell is scheduled to come out with a new line of LCD monitors, the flagship being the 3007WFP (not a typo) 30" LCD.

Here are the specs from Dell pre-release techsheet

Display Size: 30 inch
Response Time: 14ms
Brightness: 400cd/m2
Contrast: 700:1
Viewing Angle: 178/178
Native Resolution: WQXGA (2560 x 1600)
PC Connectivity: DVI-D (Dual link) x 1 with HDCP
Others: 4-Port USB Hub, 9-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader/Slots, Height Adjustable Stand, Swivel & Tilt. (No pivot)

Release for North America is scheduled for December 21

post415141133502981.jpg

pcie2005

Shinji_U said:
Just before holidays Dell is scheduled to come out with a new line of LCD monitors, the flagship being the 3007WFP (not a typo) 30" LCD.

Here are the specs from Dell pre-release techsheet

Display Size: 30 inch
Response Time: 14ms
Brightness: 400cd/m2
Contrast: 700:1
Viewing Angle: 178/178
Native Resolution: WQXGA (2560 x 1600)
PC Connectivity: DVI-D (Dual link) x 1 with HDCP
Others: 4-Port USB Hub, 9-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader/Slots, Height Adjustable Stand, Swivel & Tilt. (No pivot)

Release for North America is scheduled for December 21

post415141133502981.jpg

lol, i posted this 5 mins ago :s13: u buying one?

Shinji_U

Very tempting leh.. gosh.... to think I fall in love with the 2405FPW... now the 3007WFP...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.