Dell Laptop User Thread

scramblur11

Blitzzzz said:
What resolution did you use for your screen?

LCD monitors have a native resolution, if you are using a lower resolution, it results in a much "blurrer" image.

using the 1280x800 resolution liao...max already...60hz refresh rate....tink the quality of the lcd is like this.....what u pay is wat u get...think should have gotten the sxga monitor if I look xga is like tat... :o

scramblur11

Blitzzzz said:
BTW... since my laptop is coming in an hour or so...

Do you need to do the routine 12 hour battery charge for Dell Inspiron 6000? Cos I've heard that Dell comes with its batteries fully charged.

actually I never check mine also...tink it is nt charged ba....I just plug it in overnight after I got the laptop

darrenlee78

scramblur11 said:
using the 1280x800 resolution liao...max already...60hz refresh rate....tink the quality of the lcd is like this.....what u pay is wat u get...think should have gotten the sxga monitor if I look xga is like tat... :o
try setting to 1024 x 768

scramblur11

ya try stepping down the resolution b4 liao....but it onli make the words bigger but lost the sharpness liao...

darrenlee78

scramblur11 said:
ya try stepping down the resolution b4 liao....but it onli make the words bigger but lost the sharpness liao...
right click on desktop, select properties. The click the apperance tab. After that, click the effects button.
You may wish to check the option "Use the following method to smooth the edges of screen fonts"

pcie2005

i9300 user here!! =) haha

i never upgrade Screen and GeForce Go6800!!! =(

i think the 1920 screen should be quite shiok, clearbright some more....

but i love the 17'' screen

i looking for a 17'' sleeve... so far all those i seen cannot fit....

latecomer

darrenlee78 said:
right click on desktop, select properties. The click the apperance tab. After that, click the effects button.
You may wish to check the option "Use the following method to smooth the edges of screen fonts"

scrambler, does this solve ur problem? else i'd be really worried about getting the lappie also. shouldn't be blurry i think, else there'd be many ppl complaining. i feel that a reasonable sharpness in text is a basic requirement.

latecomer

P.S. Anyone get the DELL LARGE BACKPACK? I see the deluxe leather case i wondering whether that would be a better choice. (is it the sort that looks like a leather hand carry bag?)

Blitzzzz

latecomer said:
scrambler, does this solve ur problem? else i'd be really worried about getting the lappie also. shouldn't be blurry i think, else there'd be many ppl complaining. i feel that a reasonable sharpness in text is a basic requirement.

I got my Dell 6000 this afternoon. Using it ever since. No problems that I can pinpoint so far. :D

scramblur11

darrenlee78 said:

Thanks darren....I have done that....btw mine is integrated graphics....can use cleartype?...some of the letters like stick together after using cleartype....e.g. ll

latecomer said:

I just compare with my frenz's 6000...seem that the screen is this quality....Actually in my opinion, I will upgrade the monitor if I have the chance again...if it is within ur budget, tink is better to upgrade the lcd...my 2c worth..

the screen is ok...I should say is reasonable only....but to me, I do feel abit tired using the laptop after a while....

btw the centre of the lcd is the brightest, the side like abit darker leh....nt sure whether is it the brightness that cause my eyes to be tired...

Check with you guys, can u ppl adjust the contrast and gamma of the lcd....my frenz is using win pro with older version of video drivers and he can adjust leh...mine is win home with newer version but cant adjust.... :s11:

IrEnE06

Just got my inspiron6000 last night too... it come with batt fully charged i think... i just on and it state batt full leh...
do we need to charge 12hr??

darrenlee78

IrEnE06 said:
Just got my inspiron6000 last night too... it come with batt fully charged i think... i just on and it state batt full leh...
do we need to charge 12hr??
nope if its full.

darrenlee78

latecomer said:
P.S. Anyone get the DELL LARGE BACKPACK? I see the deluxe leather case i wondering whether that would be a better choice. (is it the sort that looks like a leather hand carry bag?)
leather case if the one for hand-carrying or sling.

darrenlee78

I have updated the user list again. Should any user wish to add your name on the list please let me know. This thread is going strong but still no sub-forum yet :(

megatop8

I went to south asia computer this afternoon and this salesman told me that acer is oem manufacturer of dell. He said that dell is good for desktop but not laptop. How about any comments from our dell user group here. I just installed an Intel wireless pro mini pci adapter card for my Inspiron 1150. First, I can't figure out why cannot see available network when trying to connect to my router. Well, it have to turn on from our bios. Geez....surfing without any more wireless network card instead built in with the mini pci card. That save the problem of carrying the network card in future. So far I find my Inspiron 1150 works perfectly without any complain. I need more feedback from dell Inspiron 6000 user before committing my centrino next upgrade.

Windchijmes

darrenlee78 said:
I have updated the user list again. Should any user wish to add your name on the list please let me know. This thread is going strong but still no sub-forum yet :(
Heh. We got 70+ pages. Far more than the # of pages of the sub-forums combined. Might as well remain here and be a constant presence on the first page of this notebook forum :p

darrenlee78

megatop8 said:
I went to south asia computer this afternoon and this salesman told me that acer is oem manufacturer of dell. He said that dell is good for desktop but not laptop. How about any comments from our dell user group here. I just installed an Intel wireless pro mini pci adapter card for my Inspiron 1150. First, I can't figure out why cannot see available network when trying to connect to my router. Well, it have to turn on from our bios. Geez....surfing without any more wireless network card instead built in with the mini pci card. That save the problem of carrying the network card in future. So far I find my Inspiron 1150 works perfectly without any complain. I need more feedback from dell Inspiron 6000 user before committing my centrino next upgrade.
6000 is a value for money buy right now

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.