Dell Laptop User Thread

Condor

RobVanDam said:
it looks like this

combo.jpg

This is for 640m? How much and where to buy? Thanks!

blue_quartz

Inspiron 640M enquires...

Decided to post it in this thread instead of starting a new one...

1) How noisy is the fan at moderate load? What about full load?
2) The option to buy a second battery means it's really a spare battery that fits the one and only battery component eh? Not about swapping the optical drive for a second battery?
3) Anyone upgraded the screen to 1440x900? :D
4) Anyone upgraded the battery to a 9-cell one? How's the battery life like? :D

xprezzshawn

blue_quartz said:
Decided to post it in this thread instead of starting a new one...

1) How noisy is the fan at moderate load? What about full load?
2) The option to buy a second battery means it's really a spare battery that fits the one and only battery component eh? Not about swapping the optical drive for a second battery?
3) Anyone upgraded the screen to 1440x900? :D
4) Anyone upgraded the battery to a 9-cell one? How's the battery life like? :D

Hmmm, got one of these in office so i could give my 2 cents.

1) Fan is hardly audible even at full load

2) Optical drive is not removable, no 2nd batt slot. Get the extended batt which pops out a bit but gives more than 5 hrs batt life.

3) Yep, the extra desktop space is welcomed. Screen still looks alright, dun have to squint.

4) Like i said, wifi on, everything on can tahan at least 5 hrs

latu2006

Dear all,

Please help me this.
I'm using XPS M1210 and this is my current RAM:
untitled.jpg

Can anyone tell me details of this RAM?
I wanna upgrade it.
Thanks alot

AzureFlux

Garf83: What crumpler bag size are you using for your 640m? The dimensions for the 640m seem to be bigger than the size of the sleeve in their 15" laptop bags.

Shinji_U

Just bought another Dell laptop, XPS M1210.... and it comes with Core 2 Duo... thank God I didn't buy it at the Comex... upgraded mine to 2GB RAM, Geforce 7400TC and Audigy Advanced Audio.

Now searching for keyboard skin and palmrest protection... any bros have any lobang for these?

Waiting patiently for it to reach my doorstep...

3rd Dell notebook....

1st is Dell Inspiron 9100

2nd Dell Inspiron 9300

Now... Dell XPS M1210...

Hope Dell Singapore continues to bring in the XPS line... and maybe can get the entire range of XPS into Singapore then it would be best...

Dell XPS series literally blows all notebook competition in Singapore away... and leave no trace...

:D

RobVanDam

Shinji_U said:
Just bought another Dell laptop, XPS M1210.... and it comes with Core 2 Duo... thank God I didn't buy it at the Comex... upgraded mine to 2GB RAM, Geforce 7400TC and Audigy Advanced Audio.

Now searching for keyboard skin and palmrest protection... any bros have any lobang for these?

3rd Dell notebook....

2nd Dell Inspiron 9300

Now... Dell XPS M1210...

Hope Dell Singapore continues to bring in the XPS line... and maybe can get the entire range of XPS into Singapore then it would be best...

Dell XPS series literally blows all notebook competition in Singapore away... and leave no trace...

yeah i have a 1210 also, bought abt 2-3 months back, anyway still have not seen the keyboard shield and the palmrest ! if you happen to see pls do keep me informed as well

piggyxiaozhu

Shinji_U said:

3rd Dell notebook....

2nd Dell Inspiron 9300

Now... Dell XPS M1210...

tinking abt getting the xps m1210.... hw is it? heavy? i gt a travelmate at 3kg... this is abt 2kg.... will 1 kg makes a difference?

VoodooEx

I just got my M1210. Very fast little machine! But I got a ink-spot on my touchpad! Any idea how to remove the ink without damaging the touchpad!?

Shinji_U

VoodooEx said:
I just got my M1210. Very fast little machine! But I got a ink-spot on my touchpad! Any idea how to remove the ink without damaging the touchpad!?

Try using some alcohol to rub it off.... it might work...

Shinji_U

henryscy said:
IS Dell lappy good? Feel like getting one... :o
I've been using laptop for 6 years now, all Dell laptops... I'm even under their "premium customer" statue I think cause...

I ordered my XPS M1210 on 13 Sep 06 during lunchtime, received the unit on 15 Sep 06 at 1121hrs...

Now that's what I call fast...

Shinji_U

sted. said:
M1210 is good :) iI like it so much as compared to Compaq & Acer :)
Its the best equipped ultraportable.. a class on its own if you ask me... plus it has all the latest technical specs, Core 2 Duo, Wide Screen, Geforce 7400, Audigy Audio (I set it up with my 4.1 speaker and it rocks!)...

sted.

Shinji_U said:
Its the best equipped ultraportable.. a class on its own if you ask me... plus it has all the latest technical specs, Core 2 Duo, Wide Screen, Geforce 7400, Audigy Audio (I set it up with my 4.1 speaker and it rocks!)...

My Dell XPS M1210 Notebook :)

Base System Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T5600 1

1.83 GHz, 2MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB
Operating System Genuine Windows(R) XP Home Edition (English) 1

Windows(R) XP Home Edition is a consumer operating system and
does not support peer to peer networking of more than five computers
or advanced networking such as domain authentication
If you are networking to a server Genuine XP Pro is highly recommended
Genuine Windows(R) XP Home SP2 Edition(English) CD Media

Dell(TM) Media Experience Software

Dell(TM) Media Experience Software CD Kit
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance * 3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover - 20% Discount 1

30 Days Online Training

International Support For Notebooks

3 Years CompleteCover Programme (Asia Pacific Regional Coverage Only)

3 Years Priority PC User 24x7 Support (Round-The-Clock Technical Assistance)

DELL's Terms And Conditions applies

Notebook Batteries Carry One Year Warranty Only From Invoice Date

24x7 Telephone Technical Support Hotline: 1-800-394-7464

For More Details, see www.dell.com.sg/completecover
Displays 12.1" Wide Screen XGA display with TrueLife(TM) (1280x800 res.) 1
DIMM Memory 1024MB (2 X 512MB) DDR2 SDRAM 1
Keyboards Internal Dell(TM) 84 Keys Keyboard (English) 1
Floppy Drive No Floppy Drive
EIDE Hard Drives 80GB SATA Hard Drive 1
Internal Optical Drive Internal 24X Max DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive 1

Sonic(TM) CinePlayer

Roxio Creator LE
Software Microsoft(R) Works 8.5 - OEM version 1

Word Processor/Spreadsheet/Database/Calendar/Powerpoint viewer/Email Tools
Security Software McAfee(R) Security Center(TM) 7.0 - 15 Months OEM 1
Network Assistant Dell(TM) Network Assistant - 90 days Trial 1
Wireless Solution Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945 Dual Band 802.11a/g 54Mbps Wireless Mini Card 1
Primary Battery 9-cell 85Whr Lithium Ion Primary Battery 1
Limited Time Offer 1 Free Upgrade from 512MB Memory to 1024MB Memory
Limited Time Offer 2 Free Upgrade from 60GB to 80GB Hard Drive
Remarks Discount is only valid if the corresponding upgraded item is selected above. 1
Limited time promotional offer only. No further discounts apply. 1
Items included in the System Integrated 10/100 Fast Ethernet 1
1 ExpressCard Slot, (DOES NOT SUPPORT PCMCIA CARDS)
Intel(R) 945 Chipset Family 1
Black and Silver with Chrome Accents 1
Media Direct 2.0 1

Approx. 1.2GB of HDD space will be allocated to Dell Media Direct.

This capacity will be hidden and non-accessible.
Dell(TM) Image Restore 1

PC Restore will occupy some HDD capacity.

The capacity varies with preloaded material and operating environment.
Internal 56K Modem 1

RJ-11 Modem cable (AP)
Sound Solution Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio 1
Bluetooth Module Dell(TM) Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module 1
Video Solution 256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(TM) Go 7400 TurboCache 1
Adapter 65W AC Adapter 1
Carry Case No Case

Mod Specs Info (Singapore)

Shipment Box with No Case
Freight Charges Inspiron(TM) Handling & Insurance Charges (Singapore) 1
Delivery Charges Inspiron(TM) Delivery Charges (Singapore) 1

Total

Before Tax 2,361.00
GST - Singapore - 5% 118.05
Total Amount SG$ 2,479.05

Shinji_U

sted. said:
My Dell XPS M1210 Notebook :)

Base System Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T5600 1

1.83 GHz, 2MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB
Operating System Genuine Windows(R) XP Home Edition (English) 1

Windows(R) XP Home Edition is a consumer operating system and
does not support peer to peer networking of more than five computers
or advanced networking such as domain authentication
If you are networking to a server Genuine XP Pro is highly recommended
Genuine Windows(R) XP Home SP2 Edition(English) CD Media

Dell(TM) Media Experience Software

Dell(TM) Media Experience Software CD Kit
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance * 3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover - 20% Discount 1

30 Days Online Training

International Support For Notebooks

3 Years CompleteCover Programme (Asia Pacific Regional Coverage Only)

3 Years Priority PC User 24x7 Support (Round-The-Clock Technical Assistance)

DELL's Terms And Conditions applies

Notebook Batteries Carry One Year Warranty Only From Invoice Date

24x7 Telephone Technical Support Hotline: 1-800-394-7464

For More Details, see www.dell.com.sg/completecover
Displays 12.1" Wide Screen XGA display with TrueLife(TM) (1280x800 res.) 1
DIMM Memory 1024MB (2 X 512MB) DDR2 SDRAM 1
Keyboards Internal Dell(TM) 84 Keys Keyboard (English) 1
Floppy Drive No Floppy Drive
EIDE Hard Drives 80GB SATA Hard Drive 1
Internal Optical Drive Internal 24X Max DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive 1

Sonic(TM) CinePlayer

Roxio Creator LE
Software Microsoft(R) Works 8.5 - OEM version 1

Word Processor/Spreadsheet/Database/Calendar/Powerpoint viewer/Email Tools
Security Software McAfee(R) Security Center(TM) 7.0 - 15 Months OEM 1
Network Assistant Dell(TM) Network Assistant - 90 days Trial 1
Wireless Solution Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945 Dual Band 802.11a/g 54Mbps Wireless Mini Card 1
Primary Battery 9-cell 85Whr Lithium Ion Primary Battery 1
Limited Time Offer 1 Free Upgrade from 512MB Memory to 1024MB Memory
Limited Time Offer 2 Free Upgrade from 60GB to 80GB Hard Drive
Remarks Discount is only valid if the corresponding upgraded item is selected above. 1
Limited time promotional offer only. No further discounts apply. 1
Items included in the System Integrated 10/100 Fast Ethernet 1
1 ExpressCard Slot, (DOES NOT SUPPORT PCMCIA CARDS)
Intel(R) 945 Chipset Family 1
Black and Silver with Chrome Accents 1
Media Direct 2.0 1

Approx. 1.2GB of HDD space will be allocated to Dell Media Direct.

This capacity will be hidden and non-accessible.
Dell(TM) Image Restore 1

PC Restore will occupy some HDD capacity.

The capacity varies with preloaded material and operating environment.
Internal 56K Modem 1

RJ-11 Modem cable (AP)
Sound Solution Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio 1
Bluetooth Module Dell(TM) Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module 1
Video Solution 256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(TM) Go 7400 TurboCache 1
Adapter 65W AC Adapter 1
Carry Case No Case

Mod Specs Info (Singapore)

Shipment Box with No Case
Freight Charges Inspiron(TM) Handling & Insurance Charges (Singapore) 1
Delivery Charges Inspiron(TM) Delivery Charges (Singapore) 1

Total

Before Tax 2,361.00
GST - Singapore - 5% 118.05
Total Amount SG$ 2,479.05

Hmm.. I upgraded mine to 2GB RAM, GeForce Go 7400, Creative Audigy HD, $2,279.55...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.