Dell Laptop User Thread

artyboy

want good components at cheap price LL lor ... :s13:
wld have gotten the XPS1210 if they have the option to upgrade to a X1600...
don't mind going slightly overbudget.
anyways, bopian.. beggars can't be choosers, am setting aside the bulk of my budget for a Conroe/DirX10 rig so notebook have to squeeze b*lls and stick to a budget lor :D
but i wld say the Dell is still a best-value-for-$ buy despite the knn white frames :o

Sambuca78

artyboy said:
just to go off-topic, anyone else thinks Dell shld do away with the "white framing" at the sides? if there's a way to change it to silver i'll gladly do so!

Use marker to color it... :s13:

Diavonex

1. Put Driver and Utilities CD in computer and reboot

2. Hit F12 once you see the DELL logo; if you're too slow it'll load Windows XP

3. Select boot from CD-ROM

4. The diagnostic program will start in DOS

5. Use Custom to select what you want to test

amoro123

my uncle is helping me buy a dell laptop..
but the problem is he might only purchase a intergrated graphic card.

I was wondering if i had recevice the unit, can i go to dell kiosk and ask purchase n intall ?

artyboy

its better that u upgrade to a dedicated graphics before finalising yr order. there is a price difference between upgrading and getting it as an accessory later. for eg, i asked for the 9-cell battery after my notebook was delivered, i paid abt $150+. if i had specified that i want the 9-cell battery (instead of the 6-cell one) before i confirmed my order, i need only topup $52. in my case its still worthwhile as it means i have 2 batteries, whereas in yr case, once they install yr dedicated graphics, it is unlikely that you'll be using the integrated one (i.e. if its still there since its supposedly on-board). plse note that you can still change yr order by phone if they have not started assembling yr notebook at their Penang factory yet, no extra charge as long as u catch them before they start work on yr notebook. Cheers!

amoro123

artyboy said:
its better that u upgrade to a dedicated graphics before finalising yr order. there is a price difference between upgrading and getting it as an accessory later. for eg, i asked for the 9-cell battery after my notebook was delivered, i paid abt $150+. if i had specified that i want the 9-cell battery (instead of the 6-cell one) before i confirmed my order, i need only topup $52. in my case its still worthwhile as it means i have 2 batteries, whereas in yr case, once they install yr dedicated graphics, it is unlikely that you'll be using the integrated one (i.e. if its still there since its supposedly on-board). plse note that you can still change yr order by phone if they have not started assembling yr notebook at their Penang factory yet, no extra charge as long as u catch them before they start work on yr notebook. Cheers!
the problem is tat my uncle doubt will listen to me..
he is in control...
haha...

btw, he order from penang straight...
he got a account there...

artyboy

i assume you're a non-working teenager then..
if it's his gift to you then i guess you have to go the long route i.e get the dedicated card as an add-on later. i dun thk the guys manning the Dell booth at Suntec can do it for you, the spare parts still come from Penang, the likelihood is that you order from Penang and tell Dell that you require installation as well (they probably get outsourced technicians to do it for you). but if you are just caring-of the purchase thru yr uncle, then it wld be logical for you to "persuade" him to request for the upgrade on yr behalf.

li_chenwei48

artyboy said:
i assume you're a non-working teenager then..
if it's his gift to you then i guess you have to go the long route i.e get the dedicated card as an add-on later. i dun thk the guys manning the Dell booth at Suntec can do it for you, the spare parts still come from Penang, the likelihood is that you order from Penang and tell Dell that you require installation as well (they probably get outsourced technicians to do it for you). but if you are just caring-of the purchase thru yr uncle, then it wld be logical for you to "persuade" him to request for the upgrade on yr behalf.

Changing to the dedicated 7400 will need a motherboard overhaul, as it's not modular unlike other parts.
So you cant upgrade so easily

RobVanDam

hey any of you managed to get any accesoories for the XPS 1210 ?? like keyboard covers or hand rests and stuff like that ..

li_chenwei48

RobVanDam said:
hey any of you managed to get any accesoories for the XPS 1210 ?? like keyboard covers or hand rests and stuff like that ..

Hard to find
I only got the Lian Li Notebook Cooler

galeron

li_chenwei48 said:
Hard to find
I only got the Lian Li Notebook Cooler
How about a notebook sleeve? I'm afraid that the 9-cell battery will stick out so much that it won't fit properly

heatman

hi diavonex, i remember u mentioned b4 somewhere here abt the those f4 f5 f6 etc....key function. the short cut for tis n tat. can u repeat here again. thx.

siber

No have S-Video / TV-Out

Dear DELL-UGs

Help, I can't output my screen onto my TV.

I've got a Inspiron 500m on WinXPH-SP2. Video is Intel Extreme Graphics 2.
I plug the S-video end into my 500m and the (yellow) Composite into my TV. Nothing happens. Blue screen of... nothing.

Is there a setting in Windows that I gotta switch?? I tried the Dell FN+F8 liao, no luck. Can't find a Output-to-TV button on Intel video driver.

If someone can shed some light on the issue? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.