Dell Laptop User Thread

li_chenwei48

wahoo said:
is it Nearly $300 for 3 year warrenty or just for extra (2 year warrenty + 1st year Free )warrenty so total is 3year only.

So laptop max warrenty is 3 year la include the 1st year Free liao?>

Compare $300 / 3 year / 365 day = $0.27 Cent only per day
then if $300 / (2 year , 2nd and 3rd year ) / 365 day = $0.41 cent only leh per day.
At 1st see Extra $300 like bo huanot worth it for a cheap $1.5K laptop.
Not as if the laptop is $3K+ so die die need to buy extra warrenty cos $300 is just 10% of the $3k laptop, ratio is 1:10

but comapre to $1.5K laptop ratio is 1:5. like not worth it.
next time laptop spoilt just buy another $1.5K laptop lor , can get extra 1 year warrenty since new laptop sure had @ least 1 year warrenty..... and better newer technology. IT keep on fall ma.
your $1.5K can buy better laptop next time.

Unless u the sway type, After 1st year finish then start to spoilt ...... worst is LCD or Mobo spoilt / intergated graphic spoilt or , Cpu spoilt can LL liao....
if HDD spoilt or keyboard spoilt cdrom spoilt, usb or battery spoilt still can be save

Actually for 20cent ~ 50cent everyday is quit cheap too for your future laptop breakdown investment.

20 cent ~ 50 cent / day just for a peace of mind also nmv ok one ma.
a glass of can drink vendor machine outside already 80cent liao. i drink alsomot every day or take bus every day too. bus already like 80 cent also.

Paiseh I OT liao.

Up to you to decide lor.

300 buck is for 3 year completecover which includes theft, accident, fire.
You can dont go for completecover

matthew_tkc

Dear All,

I had a DELL 640M.I had upgrade the RAM to 2GB but at the start->setting->control panel->system... it does not show 2GB RAM...
any one got the same problem??

matthew_tkc

yup tat i understand...but it show oni 0.99kb...u ever go to the DELL kiosk at suntac?their laptop also like tat...

Diavonex

matthew_tkc said:
yup tat i understand...but it show oni 0.99kb...u ever go to the DELL kiosk at suntac?their laptop also like tat...

0.99kb does'nt look right.

Diavonex

Check your total physical memory at System Information

Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>System Information

li_chenwei48

if you are confident, take up the RAM and reinstall it
happened to when I tried to add 1G of RAM and the system didnt detect it.

galeron

Any idea how long the turnaround time for ordering is?

I ordered my Dell XPS m1210 on Thursday, and it's been 4 days liao still no word from Dell at all. How come so long? :(

stam

is there any other way to restart my laptop after bluescreen other than remove my battery??? :s11:

Diavonex

stam said:
is there any other way to restart my laptop after bluescreen other than remove my battery??? :s11:

Have you tried hold down the power button for about 5 to 6 seconds.

Diavonex

matthew_tkc said:
I had check...the virtual memory show 2GB , phsical memory show 1 GB.

I suggest you send DELL an email asking them to explain.

By the way, are the RAM all from DELL?

galeron

Crazy_ said:
I ordered my lappy on a thurs..... over the long holi period..... sent to me on wed...
but this time got no holiday...order on thhursday still no reply...not even a confirmation of my order...how?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.