Dell Laptop User Thread

Radeon_Tan

blurdude said:
cool... is upgrading RAM difficult to do?... my laptop will be delivered tonight... hehe :D ... thinking of upgrading my RAM from 1GB(2x512MB) to 2GB(2x1GB)... maybe i'll ask you again when i've bought them... :s8:

which model?

if it is inspiron model = super easy de :s13:

Diavonex

blurdude said:
cool... is upgrading RAM difficult to do?... my laptop will be delivered tonight... hehe :D ... thinking of upgrading my RAM from 1GB(2x512MB) to 2GB(2x1GB)... maybe i'll ask you again when i've bought them... :s8:

What model is your laptop?

li_chenwei48

blurdude said:
wah!! u really daring ah... open up the laptop casing... i wouldn't dare to do that... wait dunno how to assemble back then i die liao... keke... :D

I took mine apart 3 times already

haha

cracker

How many of u had reformatted the HDD upon recieving the NB?
be it the previous 640m, the current insipron or xps series.

what data or software from Dell will be lost if reformat and reinstall using those disc provided by Dell...

blurdude

Radeon_Tan said:
which model?

if it is inspiron model = super easy de :s13:
1420 lor... just got it tonight ard 8pm... spend a far bit of time setting it up... keke
noticed that the battery was fully charged when delivered... as such do i still need to leave the AC on for 10-13hrs? hmm...

Diavonex

blurdude said:

2007-08-28_084009.jpg

2007-08-28_084037.jpg

Radeon_Tan

blurdude said:
1420 lor... just got it tonight ard 8pm... spend a far bit of time setting it up... keke
noticed that the battery was fully charged when delivered... as such do i still need to leave the AC on for 10-13hrs? hmm...
fully charged liao, u still want to charge? dont kill the battery hor :eek:

by the way, i just order the dell internal bluetooth module

they charge me $21.40 inclusive of delivery and GST (wow)

but i got to install myself, no sweat. i can do it :D

kalistha

Radeon_Tan said:
fully charged liao, u still want to charge? dont kill the battery hor :eek:

by the way, i just order the dell internal bluetooth module

they charge me $21.40 inclusive of delivery and GST (wow)

but i got to install myself, no sweat. i can do it :D

my m1330 battery was also fully charged when delivered. but apparently even if you leave the battery in with the a/c plugged in, it will only charge when the battery is drained, right?

meaning it won't 'overcharge'?

legacy_gt

my Latitude D620 cannot play NFS carbon demo, was thinking of getting the full version, seems video card cannot support, sianz half :s11:

anyway, i have some new Latitude D600 parts to go, the backcover & plam rest, office upgrade most laptops then old spare parts no use liao. anybody interested ? I can assist to replace the parts for you also, D600 very easy to open up.

blurdude

kalistha said:
my m1330 battery was also fully charged when delivered. but apparently even if you leave the battery in with the a/c plugged in, it will only charge when the battery is drained, right?

meaning it won't 'overcharge'?
same same... i've noticed that the battery wouldn't charge with the A/C plugged in as well... :)

Diavonex

After the clean install, suggest you backup O/S and programs using Acronis of Ghost.

oonikx

any Dell Vostro users here??
need some feedbacks on the vostro 1400 model...
in terms of built, performance, weight, etc....

Radeon_Tan

haha, did i get a good deal from Dell?

i missed opting for the bluetooth wireless module when i order the Inspiron 1420 notebook.

after my notebook arrived, i noticed there was no bluetooth, so i placed an order for it via telephone.

i was charged $21.40 by credit card (inclusive of delivery + gst)

the dell website states the price to be $38+ if u order it to come with your notebook,

so did i get a good deal?

only thing is i got to install it myself :D

Ordered yesterday and received it today = so fast :)

li_chenwei48

Radeon_Tan said:
i missed opting for the bluetooth wireless module when i order the Inspiron 1420 notebook.

after my notebook arrived, i noticed there was no bluetooth, so i placed an order for it via telephone.

i was charged $21.40 by credit card (inclusive of delivery + gst)

the dell website states the price to be $38+ if u order it to come with your notebook,

so did i get a good deal?

only thing is i got to install it myself :D

Ordered yesterday and received it today = so fast :)

I think I got it cheaper too when I ordered my BT from the Dell Kiosk

Ya the delivery very fast.

It was supposed to be after CNY I'll recieved but install I got it 2 days after I ordered, abt 3 days before CNY

snowparang

Diavonex said:
Boot the diagnostic CD and check the following:

Check CPU, motherboard, RAM and hard disk.

Everything came up fine in the test.

Just to be more specific, the laptop does not boot up as in it doesn't even comes to the Bios page (with the Dell logo). The power LED lights, some reading of hdd and cd drive and that's it.

However, occasionally it does boot up and everything is perfectly fine. Until I tried to restart the laptop.

Diavonex

If you manage to boot your computer, suggest you use HD Tune to check:

1. Health (SMART) of HDD

2. Bad sectors on HDD

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.