Dell Laptop User Thread

joamonte

1) I ordered mine last time just 2 weeks before CNY, plenty of orders and estimated delivery date is about 1 month later. But in the end 5 days later and 2 days before CNY they delivered.

2) If everyone order already then cancel, a lot of cost involve leh. The whole reason u get it cheaper is because they dun keep stock and its made to order (shouldn't everyone knows about this by now??) I'm sure u call the plumber come your house check already nothing wrong, you just say thank you and he leave?? I think u have to pay him for service call man.

3) Ok maybe you really dunno they made to order. If you dunno from point number 2 then now i pointed it out to u, u shouldn't be angry and unfair to them anymore. If you know about it, then U SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT OTHER BRANDS ARE RETAIL SHOP TO GET IT ON THE DAY ITSELF!

From the way u said it, it seems to me that they are not arrogant, maybe their tone was firm which seems arrogant to you cos you already gan cheong at having no laptop to use. To me, it sounds like you are the more unreasonable one, not having found out more about how their system work.

One good service i can quote is, when my laptop died. They patiently diagnose it was either the CPU or motherboard issue, so i waited till monday to call and they told me for my laptop, i am entitled to weekend service even. Then tuesday they came down to my house, change my CPU, not the problem, then take it out, change the motherboard and test, BINGO!! Fixed everything back then ask me test, things are fine and he left. NEXT working day!!! I've called Dell about 3-4 times back in my company and they never fail to be prompted in their service and they call u back.

U try HP, me and my colleagues called up 4-5 times on different days, collected my company's email and tel. no. Then no call back, no email. Called them again, still nothing happening, only call 3rd time then they finally sent someone down. The company printer was left sitting there not working for almost a month cos HP (or the company it subcontract to) simply refuse to return calls.

Thanks for all reply....

The main reason why I am so angry is, if they unable to deliver on time (7 working days, according to the Customer officer I called immediately after purchase on line), due to lack of parts (the other customer officer just told me today), they should at least have notice me that I will need to wait for so long before send me the confirm invoice~~~I though to communicate with customer is one of the reason why they want me to fill in my contact no., address, email, am I right?

.....or at least they should have no charge on my cancellation , since the reason I cancel the deal is because they are taking too long to send me the goods ~~~21 days!!...godness! ....

human_shieldz

Thanks for all reply....

The main reason why I am so angry is, if they unable to deliver on time (7 working days, according to the Customer officer I called immediately after purchase on line), due to lack of parts (the other customer officer just told me today), they should at least have notice me that I will need to wait for so long before send me the confirm invoice~~~I though to communicate with customer is one of the reason why they want me to fill in my contact no., address, email, am I right?

.....or at least they should have no charge on my cancellation , since the reason I cancel the deal is because they are taking too long to send me the goods ~~~21 days!!...godness! ....

Hmmm, i guess misunderstand ba. So how? ya waiting for their laptop? Give them one more chance since i've nothing but praised for them, based on happy users experience, give them the benefit of the doubt this time.

Shinji_U

I've been using Dell laptops for 7 years, never had bad experience with them.

But I've migrated...

Sorry for betraying the Dell Brotherhood...

I've converted to the dark side...

MacBook Pro...

Softcore

The 4th leg for the notebook is located on the battery (referring to the M1530). So it's not balanced if you take the battery out. Put paper lor.

cowbell

hi i using a dell 640m.

am planning to upgrade to 2GB ram as now is using only 1GB.

any brothers pls advise me on where to upgrade and the pricing.

thks!!:)

cloestin

The 4th leg for the notebook is located on the battery (referring to the M1530). So it's not balanced if you take the battery out. Put paper lor.

tks i bought a anti-slip rubber only cost $1.80 for alot..its working very gd...lol

auesing

New to Dell 1420

I have a Maxtor 500GB ext drive that works fine with my desk top. But when I connect it to my Dell Laptop, it cannot be detected. Do I have to change any setting to the laptop? Thanks

Downloaderz

Anyone has any idea when the m1330 will come equipped with the new montevina chip? Not sure if i should order one now, or wait till the next month.

Downloaderz

Wow, that's still quite a while, and it's only earliest. I probably wont have it in time as I'll be needing it by end of Sept for overseas use. Thanks for the info.

Softcore

**** sia my staff purchase ETA is 4th Aug. -.- 2 weeks liao. Sian. Always last priority. :(

cloestin

Wow, that's still quite a while, and it's only earliest. I probably wont have it in time as I'll be needing it by end of Sept for overseas use. Thanks for the info.

well you never know...it might be here on the upcoming comex show

Softcore

Got it liao. But I'm working. Damn. Parents received it for me. Came with 6-cell battery because Dell worldwide has no more 9-cell battery for XPS for 2 months. Hope can exchange for it. :D

scoutman

My dell xps m1530 originally has 2 partitions OS (C: ) and Recovery (D: ). I have tried to create another partition but it gave this error "You cannot create a new volume in this unallocated space because the disk already contains the maximum number of partitions". Does that means vista can only have 2 partitions for one disk?

There is the Media Direct partition and the Diagnostic partition. Total 4 primary partitions.
You cannot create new partition because you can only allocate 4 primary partition per disk.

There are ways to create additional partitions, you need to re-allocate your primary partition to extended partition.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.