Dell Laptop User Thread

irfans

Got it liao. But I'm working. Damn. Parents received it for me. Came with 6-cell battery because Dell worldwide has no more 9-cell battery for XPS for 2 months. Hope can exchange for it. :D

Did your system come with MediaDirect version 4?

ThyPig33

hi softcore, understand that you work for courts promoting dell. By any do you know of the warranty details of a laptop? Using a Latitude d630, but seems that the motherboard went kaput, dell replaced new motherboard but still same issue, engineer (dell) said should be motherboard spoil. How many times can they change the motherboard before i could request for them to reissue me a new one if they cant fix the problem?

Softcore

Warranty is unlimited parts and labour. Of course it depends whether your warranty is still valid, and what type of warranty. Do you have Complete Cover too? It's a once-a-year claim. Meaning that as long as it's beyond repair, you can request for a 1-to-1 swap. However, chances are high that it'll be a refurbished set. As long as you have reasonable evidence, and a diplomatic tone, they should be willing to do the best they can to help you.

cloestin

regret not extending my notebook when i bought it...i emailed dell and they quote 700+ for 2 years warranty...i think thats abit crazy

ThyPig33

hmm... thanks softcore, but i dont have complete cover. Today the engineer came again and changed my motherboard again. quite friendly guy, anyway, he help me tested and now my battery is giving me problem... does not charge at all.... wonder if i got a lemon set or is the quality that bad zzz

Softcore

Oh. As long as it's hardware problem, it'll be covered unlimited parts and labour. Complete Cover is more for accidental damage or beyond-repair cases. Maybe you got a lemon set. No brand's perfect. Yea it's rather hot. That's one of the drawbacks of XPS. Pure metal, unlike HP's coated one for the dv3025. Well, the lengths I have to suffer just for the colour. :p

nacnac74

New bios A09 for xps m1530. Downloaded and update mine at Dell US website. Now it runs cooler becoz the fan kicks in earlier. Cheers!!

flameblade

hmm... thanks softcore, but i dont have complete cover. Today the engineer came again and changed my motherboard again. quite friendly guy, anyway, he help me tested and now my battery is giving me problem... does not charge at all.... wonder if i got a lemon set or is the quality that bad zzz

my D630 from singnet also have it motherboard change once, Battery spoilt and change also, touchpad spoiled and changed also, now is my touchstick spoilt and not responding. I dont even bother to call dell and change it. Too lazy and too much hassle. Somemore i seldom use the touchstick ... wonder which part is the next to go ...

So much for dell quality... was quite disappointed. :s31:

ThyPig33

my D630 from singnet also have it motherboard change once, Battery spoilt and change also, touchpad spoiled and changed also, now is my touchstick spoilt and not responding. I dont even bother to call dell and change it. Too lazy and too much hassle. Somemore i seldom use the touchstick ... wonder which part is the next to go ...

So much for dell quality... was quite disappointed. :s31:

lol u are much more jialat then me lor... i only change motherboard twice and battery going to change on monday. ram also change liao. stupid dell, ask if can lend me external harddrive CASING they misunderstood and say we cannot lend cust. external harddrives. pissed.

flameblade

lol u are much more jialat then me lor... i only change motherboard twice and battery going to change on monday. ram also change liao. stupid dell, ask if can lend me external harddrive CASING they misunderstood and say we cannot lend cust. external harddrives. pissed.

just pray hard the other parts doesn't spoil again. My dad's xps 1330 is working like a charm thou.

ThyPig33

just think quite impossible how come a business series laptop can have this kind of quality... totally inacceptable... my keyboard now got problem liao... 'y' key become touch sensitive liao. but the dell service people also never take down my problem nor give me solutions to it... even though the engineer came down 3 times but never bring the parts also..

Softcore

just google for laptop batteries lor. compatible ones. btw guys i ord from Dell lor!

Tionged

Hey guys, Dell is having a good offer for Inspiron 1420.

-Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T5750 2.0GHz 2MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB
-Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
-4GB DDR2 SDRAM
-14.1” WXGA Display with Integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam
-160GB* Hard Drive ( Free upgrade to 250GB )
-8X DVD Burner*
-128MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8400M GS
-Dell™ Wireless 1395 802.11g Wi-Fi Mini-card
-1-Year Limited Warranty (Next Business Day On-Site* Service)

For 1399SGD, Should I get it?

Or should I wait till Comex and see what Dell has to offer online?

win_man

Any D430 users here suffering from ram overheating issues? I have a couple of D430 users suffering from this. All parts original from Dell.

ThyPig33

how hot is ur rams? 630 user here, no such issues. Remember other time Singnet gave free 430s, look around should be able to find a few users. Check with them.

Anyway, should go call dell and ask for free ram replacement

wandl

Hey guys, Dell is having a good offer for Inspiron 1420.

-Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T5750 2.0GHz 2MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB
-Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
-4GB DDR2 SDRAM
-14.1” WXGA Display with Integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam
-160GB* Hard Drive ( Free upgrade to 250GB )
-8X DVD Burner*
-128MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8400M GS
-Dell™ Wireless 1395 802.11g Wi-Fi Mini-card
-1-Year Limited Warranty (Next Business Day On-Site* Service)

For 1399SGD, Should I get it?

Or should I wait till Comex and see what Dell has to offer online?

That actually is a pretty solid deal - processor a little on the low end (Dell is trying to clear out all the older processors thus the price) but 4 gigs of ram (I think Vista will only see 4gbs) and a dedicated video card is pretty impressive....solid deal like I said, would definitely consider it if it met my specs and needs

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.