Dell U2312HM

habsters

The existing stand may suit your purpose already?

hmm guess I need to do more research
but do keep the comments coming in, wanna know if this monitor supports passive DVI to HDMI conversion. :o

thanks

curiousman

I just bought this monitor at the comex fair, and it works well no problem at all, but i notice when i am watching shows be it on youtube or on my hard drive there is abit of flickering around the middle part of the screen, it does not matter what show it is and also always around the same area, it should not be the refresh rate at 60 hertz i think, as i just got the msi660 ti. So could it be the cable? I cannot think of any other reason that could cause this

kennethtbh

wanna play safe, so i asked here.

will this product work with HDMI to DVI cable/adapter?
here's the two scenarios on how i'm going to workaround with the lack of HDMI port
Scenario1: Purchase and attach a DVI->HDMI adapter to the DVI port of the U2312HM, and pull a hdmi cable to my laptop.
Scenario2: Purchase a DVI-HDMI cable, attach the DVI end to the monitor and HDMI to my laptop.

is these scenarios tried and tested? i dun wanna to end up using vga. :mad:

I seen many posts regarding this but I wanna confirm whether it can be worked... i really need ergonomics as I'm a frequent desk-bound PC user asking for ergonomics at least. :D

buying an HDMI monitor + VESA ergonomic stand will burn mi pocket a hole :(

thanks

scenario 2 works. tried and tested personally. am looking at my u2312hm output from my laptop while typing this.

btw, anybody knows how to register the warranty? Dell monitor dont have the service tag.. or no need register at all?

devilwahaha

wanna play safe, so i asked here.

will this product work with HDMI to DVI cable/adapter?
here's the two scenarios on how i'm going to workaround with the lack of HDMI port
Scenario1: Purchase and attach a DVI->HDMI adapter to the DVI port of the U2312HM, and pull a hdmi cable to my laptop.
Scenario2: Purchase a DVI-HDMI cable, attach the DVI end to the monitor and HDMI to my laptop.

is these scenarios tried and tested? i dun wanna to end up using vga. :mad:

I seen many posts regarding this but I wanna confirm whether it can be worked... i really need ergonomics as I'm a frequent desk-bound PC user asking for ergonomics at least. :D

buying an HDMI monitor + VESA ergonomic stand will burn mi pocket a hole :(

thanks

scenario 2 works. tried and tested personally. am looking at my u2312hm output from my laptop while typing this.

btw, anybody knows how to register the warranty? Dell monitor dont have the service tag.. or no need register at all?
Both 1 and 2 is exactly the same, just physically different. DVI and HDMI is electrically similar, just DVI has no audio. Use HDMI-DVI adapter only if you already have a HDMI cable, else get HDMI-DVI direct cable to cut down on the clutter.

I'm not sure too, and i cant find my invoice, now thinking of claiming warranty. Die sia.

habsters

Both 1 and 2 is exactly the same, just physically different. DVI and HDMI is electrically similar, just DVI has no audio. Use HDMI-DVI adapter only if you already have a HDMI cable, else get HDMI-DVI direct cable to cut down on the clutter.

I'm not sure too, and i cant find my invoice, now thinking of claiming warranty. Die sia.

thanks for ur inputs... now im convinced on getting this monitor
in search of the best deal :D

Is it advisable to get via dell hotline/online or SLS shops? i scared if buy from shops, then lose receipt means lose warranty?

if buy from shops will i be able to test it on the spot with my laptop? haha

kennethtbh

i googled and saw in some thread on hwz that Ban Leong said those who bought the monitor from retail, their warranty is tied to receipt/invoice... not sure how true. better try to find ur invoice in case.

curiousman

I just bought this monitor at the comex fair, and it works well no problem at all, but i notice when i am watching shows be it on youtube or on my hard drive there is abit of flickering around the middle part of the screen, it does not matter what show it is and also always around the same area, it should not be the refresh rate at 60 hertz i think, as i just got the msi660 ti. So could it be the cable? I cannot think of any other reason that could cause this
Does anyone observe that this monitor has a problem watching high speed content? Like for example, even in scenes where the camera simply moves from left to right or vice versa, there is a perceived delay that can be seen. The update seems to be from top to bottom, and sometimes we see the results in between the updates.

I am not sure if this is the problem that I am facing but it is fine on normal use, but almost all the videos i watch will have a delay/flicker and it is definitely not a software problem.

Anyone having this problem too?

stevenliew

Selling one at 240! Bought for 3 days , wanted to connect with my ps3 .. realise no hdmi.. thus selling it..

habsters

Get a HDMI-DVI adapter for a few dollars from Ebay, dont waste so much money selling at a loss.

I second that

if dun wan buy from ebay also can, get one from SLS (DVI-HDMI cable) from <$30 at shops like Fuwell?

however this monitor has no sound. do consider getting decent speakers (at least 2.1 IMO) to link up ur PS3

luna09

When i connect the monitor upstream port to PC, windows 7 does not load. I've to unplug it before powering the PC. It works fine if i plug it back after windows loaded. Any idea? Tks.

Newtothis

Only diff between the u2412m and u2312hm is the screen size?

Both monitors have no audio inputs or outputs. So how do I get audio out from my ps3 and 2.1 speakers using a 3.5mm jack?

LesterQ

Guys do you still remember this screen predecessor? U2311h do you think anybody will get from me if I selling at $100?

Nickin82

I am not sure if this is the problem that I am facing but it is fine on normal use, but almost all the videos i watch will have a delay/flicker and it is definitely not a software problem.

Anyone having this problem too?

I have the same model as u. u can just get a 1 to 1 replacement from them. cos the waranty is a 5 years advanced exchange.

habsters

two five eight lollars izit good price anot can plonk in $$$ anot havent buy yet tho

edit: best buy comps selling $258, not sure whether it's a good buy...
rephrase, as I typed the message yesterday on my phone

habsters

ok, bought this monitor but have to make do with VGA... my DVI-HDMI adapter i ordered from ebay US still havent arrive yet

the monitor was set to 1920x1080 and was lagging badly when i play 1080p videos on youtube. havent tried dvi connection yet as my laptop only have HDMI and VGA ports only.

is this lagging issue normal? and also anyone knows where to source for cheap DVI-HDMI cable (not adapter) pls help thanks

edit: i know fuwell does sell it but pricing doesnt seem attractive ($25-30) (if im not wrong) so ya anyone have lobang?

Ratix0

Is best buy 258 the cheapest I can find? Thinking of getting it tomorrow...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.