Desaru, Johor

beanstalk6

The Firefly Park is very worthwhile. I visited on Tuesday night. Just don't spray insect repellent all over, if you want a close encounter. Avoid using your mobile phone, so that you do not spoil the night vision for everybody, including the boatman.

YYCole

Visit Sungei Rengit for the seafood . The small town has many old-style shops and its own Marry Brown. When durian is in season, the fruit is sold openly out of the back of trucks. British WW2 coastal guns can be found near the Pengerang jetty that had boats plying the route to Changi Point.
Is there any specific restaurant u will recommend?

iphone88

Seems not many restaurants and activities nearby desaru coast. Not sure 2 nights in desaru would be boring.

beanstalk6

The Adventure Waterpark at Desaru Coast can occupy half a day. If you are not keen about sea sports activities which are available at a seaside resort, it will be fairly boring. If you do not plan to eat within resorts, it will be boring. Other options require quite a drive to the nearest towns.

YYCole

Just came back from desaru via ferry. Breeze getting thru customs as not too tourists going via ferry. 4 nights is way too much. 3 nights will just be perfect. Its costly to get around without a car. Can get a car with driver at 300 myr a day to drive you around.

coldfreeze

Is it difficult to get a Grab at Desaru? Looking for a simple way to travel out of the Desaru hotel.

luckygal

I find Desaru rather boring. It’s like worse than Jb that kind of boring.

Kitaro9202

I do! In end we didn't go during the holidays because family was down with covid. Any air bnb to recommend? Thanks!
My friend book one is like landed property with security guard to take care the area de all i know is the distance to the makan places is around 5km or so ba so if u don't drive airbnb abit xiong

Habrosus

I find Desaru rather boring. It’s like worse than Jb that kind of boring.
Naturally, if you're not the type to just relax around doing nothing whole day.

I imagine myself, unless I've good company like a group of friends doing stuff like playing games etc, like back at those chalet days, I'd be wanting to drive out all the time to explore the streets/shops/makan places instead.

spurman

How safe is the parking?

Planning to stay at lotus desaru resort.

Haven't been into Malaysia since lockdown. :(
Safe for parking. Note the resort is sibei huge. Parking lots kinda crowded as almost everyone drives. Hee.

But its sure safe. Guarded

beanstalk6

Safe for parking. Note the resort is sibei huge. Parking lots kinda crowded as almost everyone drives. Hee.

But its sure safe. Guarded
How is the breakfast like, and the splash park? What is the state of the facilities? It has been 5 years since my last visit and I hope to return in December. TIA.

spurman

How is the breakfast like, and the splash park? What is the state of the facilities? It has been 5 years since my last visit and I hope to return in December. TIA.
Breakfast was meh. Lol. So so. Avg.
Cant compare this to hard rock. Hee.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.