Desaru, Johor

Johnringo

One need not drive to JB for massage. Cheap options are available at Sungei Rengit and Kota Tinggi town. These probably do not operate till very late in the evening like those in JB.
any recommended one? i tried searching online dont see many with reviews

Chose anantara over westin, no regrets.

very relax resort, staff were great. food price, sg price but not bad.

elvintay07

The ferry from Tenah Merah to Desaru choppy or not? I am told sometimes the wave very rough and price is about $100. Compared to going KL, I think more worth it?

banbleh

Considered not choppy.
Going there a bit, coming back not at all.

sunsetbay

was raining heavily this afternoon at Desaru~ the sea was pretty rough~ went to Jade Garden jiak seafood~

driving at night along the desaru coastal was pretty risky, many parts dun have street light~ the wet condition made the single winding lane worst~ hv to rely on gps to see there's a curve Infront~ :s22:

stayed at Amerald resort, can see the strong sea waves~
Desaru-resort-amerald.jpg

The seafood at Jade garden was pretty good~ the location is out of no where but business was pretty good~ we 10 adults & 2 children, bill was rm2k~ 😳
Desaru-Jade-garden-seafood.jpg

saw the 网红 Yard & Co Cafe within the same area~ :s22:
Yard-Co-Desaru.jpg

Yard-amp-Co-Desaru.jpg

sneggg

Am here too since Friday but everyday raining seems like today also a going to rain bad time to be in desaru.

was at yard n co yesterday i tabao seafood from lobster village back to hotel shiok lol

sunsetbay

Today Desaru weather was bright and sunny~ went to Desaru fruits farm for the ATV ride and makan~ the ATV can't ride fast cos need to travel in single file, was expecting I can ride fast fast~ 🐢 :s22:

Desaru-Amerald-resort.jpg

Desaru-fruit-farm-ATV-ride.jpg

Desaru-fruits-farm.jpg

Desaru-fruit-farm.jpg

Desaru-fruit-farm-restaurant.jpg

luckygal

was raining heavily this afternoon at Desaru~ the sea was pretty rough~ went to Jade Garden jiak seafood~

driving at night along the desaru coastal was pretty risky, many parts dun have street light~ the wet condition made the single winding lane worst~ hv to rely on gps to see there's a curve Infront~ :s22:

stayed at Amerald resort, can see the strong sea waves~
Desaru-resort-amerald.jpg

The seafood at Jade garden was pretty good~ the location is out of no where but business was pretty good~ we 10 adults & 2 children, bill was rm2k~ 😳

saw the 网红 Yard & Co Cafe within the same area~ :s22:
Yard-Co-Desaru.jpg

Yard-amp-Co-Desaru.jpg
How do you find Amerald Resort? Is the food in the hotel decent?

sunsetbay

How do you find Amerald Resort? Is the food in the hotel decent?

We only have one meal in the morning~ it was average only~ there's nothing much around the hotel other than the beach~ hotel is 3 stars (?) can't expect much, choose sea facing if wanna see sun rise~ :s22:

Amerald-resorts-Desaru-Malaysia.jpg

really_noob

Anyone drove to Desaru from JB at night? I'm planning to set off from JB around 8pm.
Gf has company retreat at Desaru, I after work weekday evening drive in go stay at nice Westin hotel. I drove on that highway before in the day, is it safe to drive at night?

Going in November, will monitor for floods also.

beanstalk6

Safe. Basically, after the exit for Kota Tinggi, very sparse traffic all the way till the end. Don't speed. Stay awake.

sunsetbay

i drove at desaru coastal line from Jade Garden Seafood to Amerald Resort in the night and was after the rain~ certain sections were totally dark and the road was curvy~ hv to rely on GPS to see the road turning~ from JB to desaru would be easier as the road are straight and wider~

1:40 no street lights~

beanstalk6

If you take route 90 (turn left at the Petronas Desaru) all the way to the Desaru Coast area, the entire road should be lit. It is a single lane though, compared to route 92 to Sungei Rengit, which has 2 lanes, but not lit.

Didjerama

I think the last 3 years I brought whole family to Desaru maybe 4 or 5 times already haha. But my family always stay at Lotus Residences. Some tips if you wanna go there:

a. Lotus has 2 bookings. One is hotel side, and one is airbnb side. My family always chooses the airbnb side. cheaper and more flexi with the host.
b. Lotus has 2 swimming complex. One is a waterpark with the full on slides and lazy pool and waterfalls. the other which is a distant away is just a normal swimming pool.
c. Lotus massage to me is one of the best i tried in JB.
d. The morning buffet i feel is super worth it. RM30 and not too shabby
e. The water sports is also affordable and variety is wide
f. There is a beach right infront of the bar.

beanstalk6

I think the last 3 years I brought whole family to Desaru maybe 4 or 5 times already haha. But my family always stay at Lotus Residences. Some tips if you wanna go there:

a. Lotus has 2 bookings. One is hotel side, and one is airbnb side. My family always chooses the airbnb side. cheaper and more flexi with the host.
b. Lotus has 2 swimming complex. One is a waterpark with the full on slides and lazy pool and waterfalls. the other which is a distant away is just a normal swimming pool.
c. Lotus massage to me is one of the best i tried in JB.
d. The morning buffet i feel is super worth it. RM30 and not too shabby
e. The water sports is also affordable and variety is wide
f. There is a beach right infront of the bar.
I am always hoping to return to the Lotus. Hope they keep up with the maintenance.

chehjin

Anyone drove to Desaru from JB at night? I'm planning to set off from JB around 8pm.
Gf has company retreat at Desaru, I after work weekday evening drive in go stay at nice Westin hotel. I drove on that highway before in the day, is it safe to drive at night?

Going in November, will monitor for floods also.

I did before.

safe if you use the highway and not old roads. many sections no lights though, pitch black. got road and side reflectors along major curves. if no cars in front, got to on high beam to see further.

biggest problem is if get stuck behind slow big vehicles. but there will be parts to over take safely.

elvintay07

Is it worth to go Desaru? I have too many breaks in JB liao. I plan to stay in four point

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.