Detention barrack experience / info

yongping79

Hi all, my boyfriend recently went into DB for AWOL. wanted to ask, why is the charge so serious? He was charged 40 days for one day of AWOL. Also wondering how they receive/write letters and whether there are phone calls allowed? He is due to come out on the 4th of Sep, but it was originally the 15th of Sep. The officer said that they will be bringing him back to his camp. So was wondering, does that mean his sentence was lifted/appeal went through? (his parents called to try and appeal.) And when he is brought back to camp, ? will he be allowed to communicate with anyone/go back to his usual NS routine before he POPThanks.

He was charged 40 days for one day of AWOL.

Depends on his JDO/SDO. Many factors to consider. Reason for AWOL, AWOL during operation/training/guard duty, etc. Also see past discipline records.

So was wondering, does that mean his sentence was lifted/appeal went through?

Dont think so .... i left MP many years ago ...maybe now they pratice prison system got 1/3 remission ?

will he be allowed to communicate with anyone/go back to his usual NS routine before he POP

Yes. He might be posted elsewhere.... to a less sensitive place. I mean if he work as a MP or some intelligence or operational standby 24/7 unit then he might be posted to other units

But his ORD date will be extended. the time spent in DB no count during NS

reddevil0728

He was charged 40 days for one day of AWOL.

Depends on his JDO/SDO. Many factors to consider. Reason for AWOL, AWOL during operation/training/guard duty, etc. Also see past discipline records.

So was wondering, does that mean his sentence was lifted/appeal went through?

Dont think so .... i left MP many years ago ...maybe now they pratice prison system got 1/3 remission ?

will he be allowed to communicate with anyone/go back to his usual NS routine before he POP

Yes. He might be posted elsewhere.... to a less sensitive place. I mean if he work as a MP or some intelligence or operational standby 24/7 unit then he might be posted to other units

But his ORD date will be extended. the time spent in DB no count during NS
Eh haven’t pop leh so means in BMT

yongping79

Eh haven’t pop leh so means in BMT

oh chao recruit ah ? recruit already go DB ? Another one of those potential DB regulars .... go in come out go in come out

he can forget about going to SISPEC or OCS liao... most probably go be storeman, driver

Chao_Ah_Tiong

If he is recruit then most likely he will be OOC from BMT after released, posted to unit and then send back to Tekong for recourse sometime later..

It seems like 40 days is a standard DB punishment.. during my active days my unit got one guy who forge MC like siao end up also 40 days DB.

Nuclear Boy

I always thought the 'equivalent exchange' is 7 days DB for each day AWOL. Got a few in my unit back then kena charge and go DB for AWOL (3 days) and got 21-days in the chalet. That was 2016.

Is your bf a repeat AWOLee?

MoyoCase

I believe DB for breaking military rule like insubordination, AWOL is not counted as criminal offence. So may not be on record.

But other types of offences of criminal nature will be.

lersheng

Hi all, my boyfriend recently went into DB for AWOL. wanted to ask, why is the charge so serious? He was charged 40 days for one day of AWOL. Also wondering how they receive/write letters and whether there are phone calls allowed? He is due to come out on the 4th of Sep, but it was originally the 15th of Sep. The officer said that they will be bringing him back to his camp. So was wondering, does that mean his sentence was lifted/appeal went through? (his parents called to try and appeal.) And when he is brought back to camp, will he be allowed to communicate with anyone/go back to his usual NS routine before he POP? Thanks.

Well, for SAF act chapter 295 section 22(1), Awol is charge by unit. So, it depends on his case and relations with his official. Usually, unit can let him serve SOL where you receive punishment in the camp by stay in duty.

Likely he made some serious Awol offence or his superior standard too high.

lersheng

I believe DB for breaking military rule like insubordination, AWOL is not counted as criminal offence. So may not be on record.

But other types of offences of criminal nature will be.
Wrong. As long as go into DB, it is serious offense. Normal offence usually can settle in camp and informal punishment in your unit or camp. If kenna charged and sent to DB, likely the superior deemed the offense as serious and not easily remedied. So, he charged the soldier for the offense, be it Awol or insubordination or any other weird offense.

lersheng

Hi. My son is a closed arrestee at SAF DB. His urine was tested positive for cannabis and now awaiting for court date. Would like to know what goes on inside? How long roughly till he gets sentenced? How long will the sentence be? Any info at all will be appreciated please. Please enlighten this very worried parent.

Be contented that for his first drug offense, it is not on civilian records. So if your son wants to work in government jobs, the civilian record is still clean.

He just need to serve his 2 years of sentence and be release for good behaviour. Then serve his remaining national service. However, take note if he got caught for subsequent drug case, he will go to Queenstown Remand Prison. This will have civilian record. There is no more 2nd chance.

Anyways, his first 6 months to 1 year, if his behaviour good, he will have Category upgrade. So should have slightly more incentive. The system has more welfare compared to my time ages ago. And there is parent visit for him once a week. He should be behave and do self reflection and time passes in a blink.

yongping79

Be contented that for his first drug offense, it is not on civilian records. So if your son wants to work in government jobs, the civilian record is still clean.

He just need to serve his 2 years of sentence and be release for good behaviour. Then serve his remaining national service. However, take note if he got caught for subsequent drug case, he will go to Queenstown Remand Prison. This will have civilian record. There is no more 2nd chance.

Anyways, his first 6 months to 1 year, if his behaviour good, he will have Category upgrade. So should have slightly more incentive. The system has more welfare compared to my time ages ago. And there is parent visit for him once a week. He should be behave and do self reflection and time passes in a blink.

now DB system change already ah ?
come to think of it, DB went through an upgrading few years ago right ??
they still carry sandbags run around ?
u mp which year ?

lersheng

now DB system change already ah ?
come to think of it, DB went through an upgrading few years ago right ??
they still carry sandbags run around ?
u mp which year ?

15 years ago. But went back to see during reservist a couple of years ago before MR and had some catch up with those regulars.
Sandbag for short sentence is still there.
MR for a few years already, but I think system still the same but more welfare. During my time, they started to emulate prison style of rehabilitation programme.

Losaea

Today should be my bf's last day in DB does it mean that he will be released today or tomorrow? Usually what time is the release?

Calander

Today should be my bf's last day in DB does it mean that he will be released today or tomorrow? Usually what time is the release?

last day in DB means he will be released tomorrow. Usually is in the morning hours.

the detainee should already have the information by now.

LittleBadron

Hye .. good morning everyone. I knew someone that will go for hearing with the JDO due to stealing at camp . Based on the guidelines he might need to go detention barracks about 5-10 days , but at the same time, he also admit to encik his wrong before any much more further investigation and the victims forgive he already , may I know if u guys know what are the chances he will go db n how long ? And did he will get a record in his civilian record ? Or only in ns record ?

reddevil0728

Hye .. good morning everyone. I knew someone that will go for hearing with the JDO due to stealing at camp . Based on the guidelines he might need to go detention barracks about 5-10 days , but at the same time, he also admit to encik his wrong before any much more further investigation and the victims forgive he already , may I know if u guys know what are the chances he will go db n how long ? And did he will get a record in his civilian record ? Or only in ns record ?

Is that you or someone you know?

I think if he admitted wrong upfront and the victim forgave him. That can be mitigating circumstances.

Only the JDO will know the sentence. No point speculating

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.