Did anyone address the elephant in the room so far? What will happen to local retail with RTS?

ahnyaahnya

Should be fine. RTS’s goal is to make it easier for jhk daily crossers to COME IN (and support the lower end of the job scale). When they come in naturally retail will follow.
How ?
Morning tapao their lunch from home. Night time go home for dinner
Shopping on days off

Prime 13

More interested in thish lumbers

From AI:

"In Singapore, approximately 60,000 HDB flats are rented out, representing about one-third of all properties rented in the country.

Also from ST

"The RTS Link will have a capacity of 10,000 passengers per hour in one direction, and an expected ridership of about 40,000 passengers per day upon opening."

Lolz.

MrAwesomeX

sinkies deserve to be chop meh?

buy online cheaper, instead of retail and landlord reduce price to compete, garment go tax online more

sinkie deserve to he chop~

Tot it's common sense?

RTS generate hype but in reality the main traffic flow to bolehland mostly workers , poor peasants or cheapo middle class income in cars .

No high fast speed rail to KL , RTS alone doesn't do much shitx to tourism attraction.

You go see CIQ nearby shopping malls, you know how this gonna end already .

Ronin881

RTS generate hype but in reality the main traffic flow to bolehland mostly workers , poor peasants or cheapo middle class income in cars .
No high fast speed rail to KL , RTS alone doesn't do much shitx to tourism attraction.
You go see CIQ nearby shopping malls, you know how this gonna end already .
Potential RTS benefits

1. More people ditch their cars for RTS.

2. Sg Rental drop as people move to JB.

3. Sg Property price drop as people buy property around RTS stations.

MrAwesomeX

Potential RTS benefits

1. Jb public transportation is shitx , ciq routes are always jammed during peak .
That's why ppl rather take car jammed than being stranded in nowhere .

2.Asking sinkee businessman to go earn myr is kind of retarded

3. sg property will only go up as more foreign investors come buy up private properties for investment

powerrr

If they can make the process of chopping passport seamless, no queue, just like the way we change mrt interchanges for eg DT line to TE line, then most won’t mind paying more.
Still chopping passports for you ? Been using their E-gates for months liao and usually 9.99999 out of 10 times no queue at the Malaysian CIQ unlike in the past.

ceestudent

Not all people staying in woodland leh.
Imagine you stay in bedok have to travel to woodland to eat and buy grocery. To and fro easily take 3 hours via public transport. Worth it?

Potential RTS benefits

Tough for property prices to drop. I pity any Singaporeans buying JB properties at the moment, thinking that they can "retire" at JB and come back to SG frequently/use for investment. I won't be surprised if JB locals start to target Singaporeans after RTS open. Their cost of living is already so high. With RTS, business owners will confirm push costs upwards again. I won't even be surprised if there are more snatch thieves/robberies.

When that happens, SG property prices will confirm increase further.

pmetpmet

I'm already enjoying high rental demand for all my apartments near the CIQ. Come RTS, many more JHK/JHB will be moving back to JB then I will further increase my rentals :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Other than my residential landed property, I do not have any other properties in SG :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Huat ah! PAP WSWSWWS! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

MrAwesomeX

I'm already enjoying high rental demand for all my apartments near the CIQ. Come RTS, many more JHK/JHB will be moving back to JB then I will further increase my rentals :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Other than my residential landed property, I do not have any other properties in SG :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Huat ah! PAP WSWSWWS! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

The R &F apartment build quality like not to condo standards.

A few years will be badly damage by humid sea air .

Most jb apartments especially close to ciq ain't worth investment one .

Their jb land properties quite worthless as the traffic near ciq there really sucks . Air quality poor + Super noisy too .

Internet broadband is much more expensive than sinkeeland too .

pmetpmet

The R &F apartment build quality like not to condo standards.

A few years will be badly damage by humid sea air .

Most jb apartments especially close to ciq ain't worth investment one .

Their jb land properties quite worthless as the traffic near ciq there really sucks . Air quality poor + Super noisy too .

Internet broadband is much more expensive than sinkeeland too .
Baseless statements. Rising rental and property prices around CIQ will speak for itself :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Shion

Senior Mentor
sg ownself dig its own grave with all these plans with jb

Joe Mahmood

I think about RTS this is more for SG Government initial stepping stone to expand in JB together with Johor State/Malaysia Federal Government.

Johor - Singapore Special Economic Zone is one example as a reference for Singapore Government initial stepping stone to expand in JB together with Johor State/Malaysia Federal Government.

I see it this way...

"The RTS Link, a rapid transit system connecting Johor Bahru, Malaysia, and Singapore, is owned by two infrastructure companies: Malaysia Rapid Transit System Sdn Bhd (MRTS) for Malaysia and the Land Transport Authority of Singapore (LTA) for Singapore. The RTS Link will be operated by a joint venture called RTS Operations Pte Ltd (RTSO), a partnership between Prasarana Malaysia Berhad and SMRT Corporation Ltd."

I think this joint venture project for RTS will not simply stop at Bukit Chagar Station only but it would expand to other parts of JB City but outskirt towns of JB City e.g. more RTS railway system extended Iskandar Puteri districts and also to Tebrau, Pasir Gudang, Mount Austin etcs...

I can see the potential and opportunity for SG Government to work together with Johor State on this railway extension in JB. Most of the railway systems in KL are operated by Prasarana Malaysia Berhad hence good business for both SG and Malaysia Government.

Whether it would benefit Singapore and Singaporeans from this Investment/Joint Venture...maybe in a way like for Singaporeans have the opportunity to work outstation like an expatriate especially management level staffs OR an opportunity for Singaporean Entrepreneurs to branch out/setup/business expansion in JB/Malaysia...

Joe Mahmood

I think about RTS this is more for SG Government initial stepping stone to expand in JB together with Johor State/Malaysia Federal Government.

Johor - Singapore Special Economic Zone is one example as a reference for Singapore Government initial stepping stone to expand in JB together with Johor State/Malaysia Federal Government.

I see it this way...

"The RTS Link, a rapid transit system connecting Johor Bahru, Malaysia, and Singapore, is owned by two infrastructure companies: Malaysia Rapid Transit System Sdn Bhd (MRTS) for Malaysia and the Land Transport Authority of Singapore (LTA) for Singapore. The RTS Link will be operated by a joint venture called RTS Operations Pte Ltd (RTSO), a partnership between Prasarana Malaysia Berhad and SMRT Corporation Ltd."

I think this joint venture project for RTS will not simply stop at Bukit Chagar Station only but it would expand to other parts of JB City but outskirt towns of JB City e.g. more RTS railway system extended Iskandar Puteri districts and also to Tebrau, Pasir Gudang, Mount Austin etcs...

I can see the potential and opportunity for SG Government to work together with Johor State on this railway extension in JB. Most of the railway systems in KL are operated by Prasarana Malaysia Berhad hence good business for both SG and Malaysia Government.

Whether it would benefit Singapore and Singaporeans from this Investment/Joint Venture...maybe in a way like for Singaporeans have the opportunity to work outstation like an expatriate especially management level staffs OR an opportunity for Singaporean Entrepreneurs to branch out/setup/business expansion in JB/Malaysia...

Johor identifies 3 possible LRT lines in Johor Bahru that complement JB-S’pore RTS Link​

UPDATED Nov 12, 2024, 12:39 PM

ISKANDAR PUTERI - Johor has identified three possible light rail transit (LRT) lines that stretch for 30km in and around Johor Bahru.

State works, transportation and infrastructure committee chairman Mohamad Fazli Mohamad Salleh noted that a development study had been previously conducted by the Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA) and Johor Public Transport Corporation (PAJ).

“The study proposed that the LRT should be developed in Johor Bahru to complement the Johor Bahru-Singapore Rapid Transit System Link (RTS Link), which is slated to be completed by early 2027.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/s...ohor-bahru-that-complement-jb-s-pore-rts-link

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.