did hdb come check your distribution board......

Ethan_

dats wot moi ish trying to find out, whats the reason for checking but not changing har ?
Think last time when they do upgrading and improvement will change together right? Maybe the minority haven't kanna upgrading one haven't changed?

But hor, even if got do something, need to remember to check their work one, even if its official. Kanna before the forced exercise where they changed the outside meter from analog to digital. End up the worker not sure got certified or not, done a sub-par job. For a long time after that DB kept getting tripped.

Initially thought was inside house old wiring, appliances or DB issue. Got people checked here checked there no issue. At wits end. Almost want to change the whole house wiring for nothing liao. Then the experienced electrician suspect could be outside mainbox issue. Thus asked to call the relevant authority came opened up and checked.

Sure enough one of the switches had burnt mark. Think the finding was the previous worker never done a good job of screwing the wire tight when installing. Not full contact. Thus resulting in overloading of sort at the switch. Lucky never kanna fire. This kind of sub-par work really is very wang-ong to the house owner. Want to complaint also don't know where to complain.

After the changed and reworked liao no issue anymore. So think cannot take authority for granted one. Not everything they do is right. Especially nowadays sub-con out so common. If got issue, it may not be owner issue if cannot find any fault. Need to trace back to their source also.

mewmew

they just checking whether you met the requirement. they got send pamplet last time to inform u by 2025 need have rccb installed.

How long did they check it and did they say anything to you after they check?
was roughly 2 yrs ago after that nvr heard anything back, despite moi telling them ish easy to trip electricity

tExtra

Think last time when they do upgrading and improvement will change together right? Maybe the minority haven't kanna upgrading one haven't changed?

But hor, even if got do something, need to remember to check their work one, even if its official. Kanna before the forced exercise where they changed the outside meter from analog to digital. End up the worker not sure got certified or not, done a sub-par job. For a long time after that DB kept getting tripped.

Initially thought was inside house old wiring, appliances or DB issue. Got people checked here checked there no issue. At wits end. Almost want to change the whole house wiring for nothing liao. Then the experienced electrician suspect could be outside mainbox issue. Thus asked to call the relevant authority came opened up and checked.

Sure enough one of the switches had burnt mark. Think the finding was the previous worker never done a good job of screwing the wire tight when installing. Not full contact. Thus resulting in overloading of sort at the switch. Lucky never kanna fire. This kind of sub-par work really is very wang-ong to the house owner. Want to complaint also don't know where to complain.

After the changed and reworked liao no issue anymore. So think cannot take authority for granted one. Not everything they do is right. Especially nowadays sub-con out so common. If got issue, it may not be owner issue if cannot find any fault. Need to trace back to their source also.
Not included in HIP IIRC. Need to pay extra to replace.

jeff79

HDB contractor came to my house to upgrade the electrical supply from 30A to 40A. Change the cables from meter outside house to electrical distribution board box inside house. The contractor foreman did not said must change the 40 years old elcb during the before work start condition survey.

However the worker damaged the ELCB when they change the cables. Replaced with a brand new RCCB free of charge worth $30+ on the spot. The worker told my father they took back the old damaged ELCB to claim money from HDB.

Seem like the contractor and hdb anticipated old ELCB will get damaged during the change cables work. Worker brought along RCCB with them and HDB has provision in contract for contractor to claim replacement of damaged ELCB.

jeff79

was roughly 2 yrs ago after that nvr heard anything back, despite moi telling them ish easy to trip electricity
2 years ago check now then start thread.

News mention ema will only start random inspection starting from july 2025.

Lao_Tiko

They want to make sure you don't accidentally earth your water heater when you pom pom in your bathroom lar

NintendoSwitch

Rccb is safer method of detecting electricity leakage. Elcb detect leakage into the earth wire only. However electricity can leak from human body onto floor or appliances without earth wire. Rccb detect leakage by the tiny difference between the live and neutral wire.

In some countries elcb is actually rccb. Need to determine what is the circuit breaker trip detection method.
How will you know which one you have in your apartment?

BlackWing1977

I think ELCB as long as working fine should be okay bah...

I did write in 2 years ago, they say if you have a working ELCB dun need to change...

And I just took photo of it.. and can see the words ELCB print on it.. and got test button etc...

9GJuWZh.jpg

mgx-alander

My parents place rccb is small as compared to wat i see in newer home is like xl size

Small 1 need change big 1?

mewmew

I did write in 2 years ago, they say if you have a working ELCB dun need to change...

And I just took photo of it.. and can see the words ELCB print on it.. and got test button etc...

9GJuWZh.jpg
dats just an excuse, how can anything still be working well after near 1/2 a century usage?

btw it will always be working fine, whether its still tip top condition ish another matter...

if yrs keep tripping, its prob time for a change

BlackWing1977

dats just an excuse, how can anything still be working well after near 1/2 a century usage?

btw it will always be working fine, whether its still tip top condition ish another matter...

if yrs keep tripping, its prob time for a change
Only trip if some problematic electrical appliances are connected... that one is understood one..

mewmew

Only trip if some problematic electrical appliances are connected... that one is understood one..

How an old distribution board can cause trips

1. Weak / worn circuit breakers
    • Over time, MCBs/RCCBs get heat-fatigued.
    • They start tripping at lower loads than designed.
  2. Aging RCCB / ELCB (leakage breaker)
    • Old RCCBs become over-sensitive or unstable.
    • Small leakage from appliances (water heater, washing machine, air-con) can trip it.
  3. Loose internal connections
    • Screws loosen over years due to heating & cooling cycles.
    • Causes sparking or momentary faults, leading to trips.
  4. Insulation deterioration
    • Old wiring insulation may crack or harden.
    • Results in earth leakage, especially when humidity is high (very common in Singapore).
  5. Old DB not designed for modern load
    • Older flats were designed for fewer high-power appliances.
    • Today’s usage (instant heater, induction cooker, multiple air-cons) can overload circuits.

Ah-Pin-Kor

9GJuWZh.jpg
this stotz f302a is actually an RCCB even though it says ELCB. a real ELCB will have a connection to ground but RCCB will not have ground connection.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.