Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

hwsinn

I more or less understand how it works.

Ok, now i currently have a analog/dvb-T tuner (not t2)
So some are saying the daiyo can receive and decode T2 signals.

1) Does this mean the daiyo device is a antenna + T2 decoder?
2) so daiyo transmit its "stream" over coax to the device. So, which mode shld i select? Analogue or digital?
3) or this whole set up does not work at all?

Any help from daiyo antenna users?

MoneyFace =p

I more or less understand how it works.

Ok, now i currently have a analog/dvb-T tuner (not t2)
So some are saying the daiyo can receive and decode T2 signals.

1) Does this mean the daiyo device is a antenna + T2 decoder?
2) so daiyo transmit its "stream" over coax to the device. So, which mode shld i select? Analogue or digital?
3) or this whole set up does not work at all?
No Daiyo EU1705 is just an antenna that is able to pick up weak signals easier that's all.

cscs3

Intrusive is a cheaper and less offensive word to use than Expensive. MDA is already doing sheep a big favor by still providing Free (FTA) stuff. If they can have it their way, they would chop FTA (like teletext) unless u to pay for it.

MDA has no right to do this as not everyone is wired or MIO.

Kiwi8

MDA has no right to do this as not everyone is wired or MIO.

U still dunno what the gahmen wants meh? They dun want to spend money, and want people to subscribe to the paid-TV services (at least for the basic package) just to watch FTA channels. :s22:

AnDyLe0

Mediacorp or IDA keep telling the public digital 8 or HD8 can be received via paid TV like MIO TV. But so far no info on HD8 on mio tv.

Or I missed something?

yes i also find it weird. they keep telling that paytv viewers are watching digital channels already... but what we want is HD... not just digital.

chakuman

yes i also find it weird. they keep telling that paytv viewers are watching digital channels already... but what we want is HD... not just digital.

Yes, SingTel and StarHub are alr carrying the digital SD channels and Channel 5 HD. But not the rest of the HD channels.

Henry Ng

Yes, SingTel and StarHub are alr carrying the digital SD channels and Channel 5 HD. But not the rest of the HD channels.

Channel 8 and another 2 channels are already in HD but they do not have a different channel number for HD channel and analogue. Both HD and analogue using the same channel number but u can see a HD watermark below the channel 8 logo.

Coolsun9

If that's the case, that wall outlet is definitely StarHub SCV point.
You won't get DVB-T signals thru that point. Can't connect the ACR-PV76120 to it.

You need to connect it to a MATV wall point. Are there any other wall points in your unit?
All my rooms have SCV point only. I have no confident whether an expensive antenna for my DVB-T box would help getting reception.

PoloBoiBoi

All my rooms have SCV point only. I have no confident whether an expensive antenna for my DVB-T box would help getting reception.

your window area may have some signal strength

you can try using those cheap cheap antenna at those chap pa lang shop

AnDyLe0

Channel 8 and another 2 channels are already in HD but they do not have a different channel number for HD channel and analogue. Both HD and analogue using the same channel number but u can see a HD watermark below the channel 8 logo.

huh? :s11:
i checked my hubstation hd ch 103 (with HD subscription) and still cannot see "HD" watermark logo. i know starhub just changed to "one-number-for-all" method... if u have HD subscription, the channel will be in HD and there's no way to view SD version now.
anyway... ch5 and ch5(HD) still remain at ch 102 and 155, not yet converted to one-channel-number-for-SD/HD.

i got draco stb so i can still watch ch8(HD) now :D

AnDyLe0

so far everyone is using "outdoor reception" to recv dvb-t2.
any bukit batok residents can comment on the "indoor reception"?
quite interested to know how easy to recv the signal after indoor coverage is available (eg. bukit batok).

mingfreakrsx

i checked my hubstation hd ch 103 (with HD subscription) and still cannot see "HD" watermark logo. i know starhub just changed to "one-number-for-all" method... if u have HD subscription, the channel will be in HD and there's no way to view SD version now.
anyway... ch5 and ch5(HD) still remain at ch 102 and 155, not yet converted to one-channel-number-for-SD/HD.

My mio TV also don't have Ch8 HD, only in SD. On mio TV, Ch5(HD) on Ch2 and Ch5(SD) on Ch10 iirc . I think he meant that the T2 fta(not pay TV) has Ch8 with HD watermark. :)

Really wonder when will SingTel and StarHub implement 8(HD), Suria(HD) and Vasantham(HD) on their pay TV service..:s22:

chakuman

My mio TV also don't have Ch8 HD, only in SD. On mio TV, Ch5(HD) on Ch2 and Ch5(SD) on Ch10 iirc . I think he meant that the T2 fta(not pay TV) has Ch8 with HD watermark. :)

Really wonder when will SingTel and StarHub implement 8(HD), Suria(HD) and Vasantham(HD) on their pay TV service..:s22:

Well they said they are already in discussions, so... lets just wait for them...

mrsun18

I think the lack of something cannot be used to conclude anything.

Can see TV2 => connected to hdb/condo wall point (fair enough)
Dun see TV2 => we can't conclude anything. It could be the reception issue.

To see if one is connected to SCV point, perhaps try to tune to analog Sports channel 76.25 Mhz.
Let's test this the next time when someone asks.

mrsun18

so far everyone is using "outdoor reception" to recv dvb-t2.
any bukit batok residents can comment on the "indoor reception"?
quite interested to know how easy to recv the signal after indoor coverage is available (eg. bukit batok).
They may have problem of overloading, ie too strong signal, haha. That's what happened for analogue signal.

Henry Ng

Sorry, not watermark. If you see the tv guide you will see the title (HD).
Yes, it is SD/HD so when you have HD Pack you can only see HD version and
can not see SD. I have full HD TV but I see no different at all.

Henry Ng

HD or SD you will see no different in the video.

Coolsun9

your window area may have some signal strength

you can try using those cheap cheap antenna at those chap pa lang shop
I used a simple omnidirectional antenna about 9 inch tall which could not pick up any signals. I have tried near windows and balcony but failed miserably.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.