Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

SilveR1_09

Have to rephrase my pointer to check whether the wall point is hdb or scv the next time.

How about using Channel 55 as the pointer?
Tune to Channel 55 - 743.25MHz:
If see StarHub Test channel - connected to StarHub SCV Cable Network
If see Malaysia RTM TV1 - connected to HDB/Condo Master Antenna TV

Haha, hard disk bad sector. Thanks for the reminder.
Haha! Welcome. No worries. :D

tomzire

The reply at ST forum really ku ku.
So govt expect us to put indoor antenna ourselves?

If poor weather condition, reception poor. Machaim like kampung with antenna.

Then I question: why not we buy our own satetile dish to receive FTA channels.

tomzire

Hdb say it is intrusive if upgrade household to use the master antenna.

When starhub install their cable point at old estates, not intrusive?

When opennet install the fibre point at old estates, not intrusive?

PoloBoiBoi

The reply at ST forum really ku ku.
So govt expect us to put indoor antenna ourselves?

If poor weather condition, reception poor. Machaim like kampung with antenna.

Then I question: why not we buy our own satetile dish to receive FTA channels.

MDA bans satellite dish for domestic use :vijayadmin:

i dont think mediacorp uses satellite transmission for local channels :vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

or else this thread will be talking about how to receive DVB-S2 in Singapore

tatsit

speaking about DVB-C, are there any plans for DVB-C2?

sunsetbay

TV1 transmits in two freq for johorians, one is 527.25MHz which crashes with ChU and 743.25MHz~ read fm truly asia forum, its their Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission, similar to S'pore MDA intentionally to use 527.25Mhz so that their pple won't able to recv ChU~ likewise for their TV3, one on 511.25Mhz & another 224.25Mhz which crashes with Suria~ :s22:

sunsetbay

From ST:
Various ways to receive digital TV signals

MR PHUA Kok Hee suggested using either the national fibre network or HDB's rooftop antenna system to carry the new digital TV signals ("More questions on digital TV"; Dec 21).

We had considered the options raised by Mr Phua in implementing the terrestrial digital TV network for Singapore.

To watch MediaCorp's digital free-to-air (FTA) channels via the commercially run OpenNet fibre network, households will need to subscribe to a paid service provided by a pay-TV operator (SingTel mio TV or StarHub TV) where monthly charges apply.

The HDB rooftop master antenna television (MATV) system, on the other hand, was designed to receive analogue TV signals and is not able to receive digital TV signals.

Upgrading the MATV system is very costly and requires an overhaul of the wiring to the TV points in most homes.

The rewiring will be intrusive and cause inconvenience to households. Hence, HDB has no plans to upgrade the MATV system.

With the terrestrial digital TV network that MediaCorp is rolling out, households can watch FTA TV programmes in high definition without the need to pay monthly charges. They can do so by connecting either an integrated digital TV with built-in DVB-T2 tuner to an indoor antenna or, if their existing TV is not DVB-T2 compliant, to a DVB-T2 digital set-top box and an indoor antenna.

Households will encounter less inconvenience and more flexibility in placing their TV set without the need to search for a fixed TV point.

To reiterate, those already on pay-TV subscriptions do not have to do anything as their current set-top boxes are carrying the digital TV signals.

Mr Phua said that the quality of reception using an indoor antenna might be poor in HDB estates.

Digital TV signals are more robust than analogue TV signals, so indoor reception will be easier.

Nevertheless, MediaCorp is progressively rolling out a more comprehensive network of digital-TV transmitters over the next two to three years to enhance signal quality and coverage.

Indoor antennae also now come in compact forms such as a bar, frame, or rod and are commonly used to receive digital TV in other countries such as the United States, the Netherlands and Germany.

To find out when digital TV signals will be available in your estate and for more information about digital TV, please visit MediaCorp is going fully digital and www.mda.gov.sg/digitaltv

Ling Pek Ling (Ms)

Director (Digital Broadcasting Deployment Office)

Media Development Authority

Ng Yew Song

Director (Building Safety and Resources)

Housing and Development Board

their statement contradicting each other~ MATV not design to recv digital signal, on the otherhand said digital signal is more robust which make receiving easier~

i'm quite sure to say that there's no need to overhaul the MATV cabling, all they need to do is to make sure the existing UHF antenna are working condition~ im able to recv DVB-T channels using MATV since 2006~ i believe i'm not the only one that use the same method~ :s22:

hwsinn

is this clearer for u~? :s22:

dvb-t2-idtv-1-data.jpg

I more or less understand how it works.

Ok, now i currently have a analog/dvb-T tuner (not t2)
So some are saying the daiyo can receive and decode T2 signals.

1) Does this mean the daiyo device is a antenna + T2 decoder?
2) so daiyo transmit its "stream" over coax to the device. So, which mode shld i select? Analogue or digital?
3) or this whole set up does not work at all?

singpal

may i know the test channel at 570mhz signal is from media coro or Malaysia tv station, the picture n sound r both very good!

chuppachop

TV1 transmits in two freq for johorians, one is 527.25MHz which crashes with ChU and 743.25MHz~ read fm truly asia forum, its their Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission, similar to S'pore MDA intentionally to use 527.25Mhz so that their pple won't able to recv ChU~ likewise for their TV3, one on 511.25Mhz & another 224.25Mhz which crashes with Suria~ :s22:
Good info....didn't know that. :)

SilveR1_09

may i know the test channel at 570mhz signal is from media coro or Malaysia tv station, the picture n sound r both very good!

From MediaCorp. Channel 33.
Okto will be migrated to that frequency in ''middle 2014''.

Picture and sounds during testing always very good. :s22::s13:

singpal

From MediaCorp. Channel 33.
Okto will be migrated to that frequency in ''middle 2014''.

thanks, funny thing abt this test channel is that, my china brand stb sound muffled for all other channels, whereas this channel sounds crystal clear :-D

mingfreakrsx

Thanks, that's chan 55 for TV1...I have given up using postimg.org for their unrealiable servers... Have to rephrase my pointer to check whether the wall point is hdb or scv the next time.
Haha, hard disk bad sector. Thanks for the reminder.

Haha i don't really know what channel since the tv only display the frequency. :)

matrix05

Hdb say it is intrusive if upgrade household to use the master antenna.

When starhub install their cable point at old estates, not intrusive?

When opennet install the fibre point at old estates, not intrusive?

Intrusive is a cheaper and less offensive word to use than Expensive. MDA is already doing sheep a big favor by still providing Free (FTA) stuff. If they can have it their way, they would chop FTA (like teletext) unless u to pay for it.

mrsun18

How about using Channel 55 as the pointer?
Tune to Channel 55 - 743.25MHz:
If see StarHub Test channel - connected to StarHub SCV Cable Network
If see Malaysia RTM TV1 - connected to HDB/Condo Master Antenna TV

Honestly, I am stumped by this. I think it is easier for laymen to understand terms that they know better, for example TV1 or TV2, without mentioning channel no or frequency.

How about the following?

If you can see TV2, you are connected to hdb/condo wall point. If you don't see TV2, you are connected to scv point [or something similar but more casual].

audiovideo

Mediacorp or MDA keep telling the public digital 8 or HD8 can be received via paid TV like MIO TV. But so far no info on HD8 on mio tv.

Or I missed something?

Kiwi8

Honestly, I am stumped by this. I think it is easier for laymen to understand terms that they know better, for example TV1 or TV2, without mentioning channel no or frequency.

How about the following?

If you can see TV2, you are connected to hdb/condo wall point. If you don't see TV2, you are connected to scv point [or something similar but more casual].

I think the lack of something cannot be used to conclude anything.

Can see TV2 => connected to hdb/condo wall point (fair enough)
Dun see TV2 => we can't conclude anything. It could be the reception issue.

To see if one is connected to SCV point, perhaps try to tune to analog Sports channel 76.25 Mhz.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.