Dim sum buffet thread

earthyblue

This place I am going to introduce you guys should be interesting.

Thread is on Dim Sum Buffet, so I should mention this
1) Dim Sum
2) Ala-carte style Buffet
3) @$12.80++

I read thru so many postings, and I believe the expensive ones would of course have better menus, more varieties.
But Dim Sum is something where we can't eat much. And normally its during lunch hour.
So even if the Buffet per pax is $30++, I will find it expensive and for this price, I might as well go to a dim sum restaurant and not order the buffet but just the ala-carte and eat what we can.

So now this place I am goin to introduce is at Miramar Hotel, 3rd floor, Orient Restaurant.
For this price, would be able to get 3-4 baskets per person at a normal dim sum place.

What do they have?
I must admit the head chef must be smart. In their menu, they do not have the 'heavy items' such as lotus seed Bao, big Bao or tau sar Bao, because I think most of you go eat buffet wouldn't eat bao at all. Even if do, just eat the fillings and throw away the bao skin. Am I right? Anyway, saw a table order char siew bao if I not wrong.

Got Har Kow, Siew Mai, Xiao Long Bao.

Okay Siew mai, har kow ok, the xiao long bao, got no juice in it. So it defeats the purpose of eating xiao long bao.

They have the fried shrimp dumpling, "chao shou", which is the dumplings in chilli oil
spare ribs, chicken feet, prawn chu chang fen

toufu shrimp dumpling, salad prawn dumpling, char siew su.
fried carrot cake, thai style fish fillet

they also have sweet sour pork,
fried chicken wings with prawn sauce
mushroom with vege
egg omelette with chai por
fried rice, mee goreng

they also have century egg meat porridge

For dessert, they have mango pudding
watermelon sago
gui lin gao.

Taste wise, not spectacular, but I must say for this price is really value for money.
Because i go normal dim sum restaurant per pax would cost around $20+-$30
So for this price, my expectations were low, but the food we got was quite nice overall.

Pricing is slightly more expensive on weekends, I think $15+

Weekdays must call to reserve, because my friend made a reservation and by the time we went, heard its almost full

swatchie

No offense bro but I think the dim sum at Miramar/Peninsula Plaza/Harbourfront which are all under the same group, suck big time. Its cheap but for that price I rather eat at Victor's kitchen. $15 I can eat better dim sum and be equally full :)

But if quality isn't an issue and a buffet is a must, I agree that these places are value for money. :)

edit: I actually have a short writeup on Orient Ocean at Miramar Hotel here. Most of it are pics really.

earthyblue

No offense bro but I think the dim sum at Miramar/Peninsula Plaza/Harbourfront which are all under the same group, suck big time. Its cheap but for that price I rather eat at Victor's kitchen. $15 I can eat better dim sum and be equally full :)

But if quality isn't an issue and a buffet is a must, I agree that these places are value for money. :)

edit: I actually have a short writeup on Orient Ocean at Miramar Hotel here. Most of it are pics really.

Bro,

If it is a Dim Sum thread, I would be more strict. But because its Buffet, and at this price, and portions I wouldn't say there is going to be much to complain about. Can't complain much actually as I am not paying $20 or even like what some guys earlier posted $40+ to eat at cherry garden. If I pay so much, not only food must be good, the place, ambience, service must at least be 4 stars up or else I wouldn't go again.

Victor's Kitchen I read it has quite rave reviews, so I actually went before. Before I went, I already knew VK is not cheap. When I went there, price is indeed not cheap. 1 basket around $3+ to $5+ if I not wrong. Dim sum good or no good, must taste the siew mai and the char siew bun. Siew mai I must say is ok, but I wasn't impressed because I think its just normal to me. Not like eat already and unforgettable. Another thing to mention is VK being a dim sum outlet, their variety of dim sum items is not many, n their fried stuff portions are quite small. If 4 people go and eat, I think can hit $80 easily. One person should not hit more than $12 I think.

For $15 you probably get to eat only 3-4 basket of dim sum. But if go buffet, we get extra dessert, other varieties, etc.....

swatchie

Bro,

If it is a Dim Sum thread, I would be more strict. But because its Buffet, and at this price, and portions I wouldn't say there is going to be much to complain about. Can't complain much actually as I am not paying $20 or even like what some guys earlier posted $40+ to eat at cherry garden. If I pay so much, not only food must be good, the place, ambience, service must at least be 4 stars up or else I wouldn't go again.

Victor's Kitchen I read it has quite rave reviews, so I actually went before. Before I went, I already knew VK is not cheap. When I went there, price is indeed not cheap. 1 basket around $3+ to $5+ if I not wrong. Dim sum good or no good, must taste the siew mai and the char siew bun. Siew mai I must say is ok, but I wasn't impressed because I think its just normal to me. Not like eat already and unforgettable. Another thing to mention is VK being a dim sum outlet, their variety of dim sum items is not many, n their fried stuff portions are quite small. If 4 people go and eat, I think can hit $80 easily. One person should not hit more than $12 I think.

For $15 you probably get to eat only 3-4 basket of dim sum. But if go buffet, we get extra dessert, other varieties, etc.....

Didn't know VK increased in price so much. Last time I used to eat $10/pax eat until wanna puke. And I beg to differ about judging whether a dim sum is good or not by the siew mai or char siew bao. Different people have different yardsticks. Dim sum encompasses more then just these 2 common items to me. Its a whole package. As for dim sum variety, would you prefer a wider variety of lousy food or a smaller variety of decent food? ;)

But bro, as you mentioned, its a dim sum buffet thread and your recommendation is very valid. :)

Just my 2 cents.

earthyblue

Didn't know VK increased in price so much. Last time I used to eat $10/pax eat until wanna puke. And I beg to differ about judging whether a dim sum is good or not by the siew mai or char siew bao. Different people have different yardsticks. Dim sum encompasses more then just these 2 common items to me. Its a whole package. As for dim sum variety, would you prefer a wider variety of lousy food or a smaller variety of decent food? ;)

But bro, as you mentioned, its a dim sum buffet thread and your recommendation is very valid. :)

Just my 2 cents.

It was just 3 months back when i went Victor's kitchen, I ordered a siew mai first plus a barley drink and sat down seeing my opp tables eating. My bill came up more than $5/-. I didn't order more because I find the siew mai ok lah, and I was thinking of ordering dumplings with chives, but can't remember they either didn't have that on their menu or it was sold out.

Dim sum eating depends on the style that we want. Normal fine dining or buffet. Buffet cannot expect too much out of it, unless we pay around $30+ onwards.

Eating dim sum is a culture. And this kind of culture is very hard to replicate on eating it buffet style.
That is why for those who want to eat Dim Sum, very good ones, don't go buffets.
For those who want value for money, eat as much as you can, and don't mind the quality, then go for buffets. However, I wouldn't say Orient is lousy. It's just normal dim sum at best. I have eaten much much worst type of siew mai, those that you find in kopitiam where they sell you $1.50 or $2, sell you 4 pcs siew mai, also have difficulty swallowing 4 into stomach.:s13:

swatchie

It was just 3 months back when i went Victor's kitchen, I ordered a siew mai first plus a barley drink and sat down seeing my opp tables eating. My bill came up more than $5/-. I didn't order more because I find the siew mai ok lah, and I was thinking of ordering dumplings with chives, but can't remember they either didn't have that on their menu or it was sold out.

Dim sum eating depends on the style that we want. Normal fine dining or buffet. Buffet cannot expect too much out of it, unless we pay around $30+ onwards.

Eating dim sum is a culture. And this kind of culture is very hard to replicate on eating it buffet style.
That is why for those who want to eat Dim Sum, very good ones, don't go buffets.
For those who want value for money, eat as much as you can, and don't mind the quality, then go for buffets. However, I wouldn't say Orient is lousy. It's just normal dim sum at best. I have eaten much much worst type of siew mai, those that you find in kopitiam where they sell you $1.50 or $2, sell you 4 pcs siew mai, also have difficulty swallowing 4 into stomach.:s13:

Woah the prices went up so much. Last I ate was in 2007 so very outdated :o

earthyblue

Woah the prices went up so much. Last I ate was in 2007 so very outdated :o

I think 1 basket of Dim Sum easily $3.50 up.

I heard from friend, last time they were selling $2 or $2+, wow, that's a 30% increase in a year. :s12:

exige85

erm.. so where's this Victor's Kitchen place? i could probably go check it out n let other forummers know. lol.

seePyou

I knew Victor (because I used to go down almost every week when I worked in Bencoolen Street). He told me the landlord raised their rent 30% one shot when the economy was "booming" (by media standards).

If you notice, there are a lot of shops have left the place. These are the instant response from most of the shopowners to the rent raise.

starlike

Dude i think u caught the chefs on the wrong day haha. I ate there twice and i thought the xiao long bao was ok. But i didn't like the siew mai, don't like all the 香菇 they put in there.

081215jk

可以办理真的英语四级

北京?k?C 商务公司为了确保尊敬的客户利益,北京?k?C 地区可货到付钱--1.外地客户?k?C 先联系我们--.2递交资料和照片--.3按客户要求制作完成--.4网上验收合格后再支款-5.邮寄证书-6.完成后册除客户资料! 一般证件制作时间1天.全国快递3天到货 关注{先做证看好后付钱,不收任何押金}所以我们是你们最可靠的朋友(主要承办)详细电话联系尊敬的客户注意好消息 本公司和一所高校合作可以办理真的英语四级,英语六级 ,一般的学校3个工作日就可以办下来!价格1200元,为了防止受骗可以登陆英语四六级国家唯一指定查站

leogeo

any1 tried jade restaurant at Fullerton? $28 dim sum buffet on Sats and Suns..

nicholaslee

any1 tried jade restaurant at Fullerton? $28 dim sum buffet on Sats and Suns..

sounds cheap considering i always spend $30+/pax too on ala-cart dim sum at various restaurants. Anyone know how good is the taste there?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.