Dim sum buffet thread

hotspur_77

Can someone also confirm the dim sum standard at Red Star? At the beginning of this thread, it was condemned. However, on this page it was recommend. A recent review in edmw tagged the standard as ok/serviceable, nothing to shout about.
Red star's 1 of my favourite... have 2 go early if planning 2 go on sat or sun morning... otherwise u queue until siao...

swatchie

Personally I dont like red star. The dim sum isn't "fine" and everything is very oily. There is no menu also so you wouldn't know if you have been charged extra..

rECKleSSfElla

Too many people buy into the whole "retro" and "authentic" HK push cart style thingy Red Star has. But really the place is nothing to shout about. Average food at premium prices pretty much sums it all up. Be prepared to spend at least $20 per pax, n not even end up feeling full.

Snokey

Too many people buy into the whole "retro" and "authentic" HK push cart style thingy Red Star has. But really the place is nothing to shout about. Average food at premium prices pretty much sums it all up. Be prepared to spend at least $20 per pax, n not even end up feeling full.
i agree.

not to mention the kiasu people waiting outside the kitchen to grab the food before the push cart even gets to your table. not the most relaxing place to eat sia.

AqUeoUs

Recently had been hearing bad reviews about Red Star.. been there once before.. average and pricey..

Recommend 'Yan Ge' at Hong Lim / Chinatown . Any comments?

twosix

Been to Peach Garden at Thomson Plaza for their timsum buffet once. It's pretty good. I love the mini egg tarts. yummy. Makes me think of going back again.

lwr2nd

any1 tried goodwood park's dim sum buffet? any reviews? friend recco me but wonder nice or not

Shingoz

having this tmr..cant wait! hope its good!!

Dim-Sum-(lrg).jpg

all-you-can-eat Dim Sum lunch at Hai Tien Lo

swatchie

Recently had been hearing bad reviews about Red Star.. been there once before.. average and pricey..

Recommend 'Yan Ge' at Hong Lim / Chinatown . Any comments?

I prefer Yan Ge aka Yan Palace to Red Star anyday...

swatchie

any1 tried goodwood park's dim sum buffet? any reviews? friend recco me but wonder nice or not

I had it once in Dec 2006. Back then it was average. Everything is put over a burner/steamer and you help yourself to the dim sum. Nothing is served to you. Not sure about now.

Shingoz

I prefer Yan Ge aka Yan Palace to Red Star anyday...

Only tried Yan Ge once (the branch @ chinatown), pretty nice! A bit exp i rem.....

There's one near my hse....cck area but didnt manage to try it...

Red Star.....didnt really try before but the crowd is real bad i heard, esp on sundays.

So far fac dim sum place is crystal jade @ holland v (coz they serve them real late) and bosses @ vivo city (worth it during the 30% discount)

Shingoz

omg the food is really so good that i have to share with you guys..! highly recommended

the ee fu noodles comes with real chunks of crab meat and is really nicely done.
5931_135338087832_645767832_2435959_6994349_n.jpg

5931_135338082832_645767832_2435958_42732_n.jpg

the siew mai though is buffet is as good as those from crystal jade

5931_135338112832_645767832_2435963_6819409_n.jpg

this special cheong fun comes with a special xo sauce that makes it so delicious! noticed it's been pan fried..which makes it more fagrance!
5931_135338142832_645767832_2435968_2024308_n.jpg

5931_135338167832_645767832_2435972_746500_n.jpg

gooifier

omg the food is really so good that i have to share with you guys..! highly recommended

the ee fu noodles comes with real chunks of crab meat and is really nicely done.
5931_135338087832_645767832_2435959_6994349_n.jpg

5931_135338082832_645767832_2435958_42732_n.jpg

the siew mai though is buffet is as good as those from crystal jade

5931_135338112832_645767832_2435963_6819409_n.jpg

this special cheong fun comes with a special xo sauce that makes it so delicious! noticed it's been pan fried..which makes it more fagrance!
5931_135338142832_645767832_2435968_2024308_n.jpg

5931_135338167832_645767832_2435972_746500_n.jpg

Mind sharing where is this?

addict951

Wah piang, the pics are your own or took from net one???
I salivating at this hour now!!!!!!! :lick:
How come you need to pay for tea? You mean in the buffet no beverages at all??

Shingoz

Wah piang, the pics are your own or took from net one???
I salivating at this hour now!!!!!!! :lick:
How come you need to pay for tea? You mean in the buffet no beverages at all??

Haha i took them using a sony compact camera, cyber-shot t300 i think.

I think plain water should be free, but they offered me juices or tea (a variety), so i took the rose + pu-er which is really nice! :)

I am still drooling over the delicious ee-fu noodles with chunky crab meat and flavourful soup that prob been boiled for hours! haha...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.