Discrimination of Race, Culture, Derogatory Terms and Seditious Remarks will NOT be Tolerated!

lilith

Calm and mature is more persuasive, but acting like a total retard is damn funny, if u ask me, who cares about respect? I'm not aiming to be a prime minister anyway.

MCMLXXXV

okie vijay darling ~~ i got ur msg and will keep chiu rookout !! :( :(

jsbn

Questin said:
This is the same kind of mis-conception as "Free speech is free leh that means i can say anything i want!".

Firstly internet forums USUALLY have rules. Whether the rules are enforced or not is a different story. So what you can normally say on a forum is within those rules. And even then...if the owner of the forum, the guy who pays all the bills says "I know what you posted is within the rules, but i still want to ban people for fun."...what are you going to do? He OWNS the forum leh. He can ban people for including the letter "a" in their messages if he wants to, even if its not within the rules.

What i dont get is what is so difficult about voicing your opinion in a calm, mature way. Just because its the internet a lot of people think that by acting like an Ah Beng online, they can get respect for being "tough". Really strange sia.
bwaysaigong said:
Hmm.....

Internet forums are free for all to voice out their opinion isn't it?
If ppl can say liddat den dun face black-black when ppl boil down to scold ppl's lao peh lao bu.

After all Internet always ends up in ultimate scenarios. So be prepared to get ur parents and Ancestor 18th Generation all scolded as well if one wants this 'free speech' thing.

Questin

True free speech = anarchy.

Wah lao eh, imagine if some nutcase can stand outside your house shouting "BANKAI!!!!!" 24/7 and you no choice have to let him say because its his right to free speech.

Or all the newspapers print nothing but rubbish lies.

WuSangui

Freedom of speech = voice out yr opinion in a civilise manner and anything not against conscience and moral

TheSebby

Questin said:
This is the same kind of mis-conception as "Free speech is free leh that means i can say anything i want!".

Firstly internet forums USUALLY have rules. Whether the rules are enforced or not is a different story. So what you can normally say on a forum is within those rules. And even then...if the owner of the forum, the guy who pays all the bills says "I know what you posted is within the rules, but i still want to ban people for fun."...what are you going to do? He OWNS the forum leh. He can ban people for including the letter "a" in their messages if he wants to, even if its not within the rules.

What i dont get is what is so difficult about voicing your opinion in a calm, mature way. Just because its the internet a lot of people think that by acting like an Ah Beng online, they can get respect for being "tough". Really strange sia.

LOL! Well-put.

I also like the point about how much easier it is to track who said what on an internet forum, compared to a verbal conversation. :)

Just be responsible for what you say. if you feel the gahment isn't doing a gd job, then feel free to say so. don't hide just cos u're afraid to be dragged off in chains. if u wanna speak, then speak loud and clear.

don't hide behind the internet's false sense of anonymity and speak poorly of people. be responsible.

lilith

Questin said:
True free speech = anarchy.

Wah lao eh, imagine if some nutcase can stand outside your house shouting "BANKAI!!!!!" 24/7 and you no choice have to let him say because its his right to free speech.

Or all the newspapers print nothing but rubbish lies.

You also have the right to tell him to STFU.

The kick his ass is a part of "defending urself"

Techno Pride

The 好公民 textbook follows logic. However, human emotions follow the heart.

BYE.

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Updated the first post to include an excellent article on Culturalism and generalizing nationality for the blunt and unwarranted remarks that are rampant in this forum:-

Ask a Korean!: Culturalism, Gladwell, and Airplane Crashes

I hope this serves a good reference point to all members.

Whether your comments are for jest or for real, you owe it to yourself to consider all the consequences before you make a public reply. Should you fail to consider the weight of your replies, the moderator has all rights to take necessary actions against you if it doesn't comply with the forum rules and that of the mere basics of decency for which this thread was started in the first place.

If you also fail to use the right forums to request an explanation and instead choose to inflate your myopic issue in this forum (for obvious reasons to gather other people to rally with you, many of whom have no idea of the problem at hand), the moderator has full rights to further take actions against you and disregard your thread and any repeated offences thereafter.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.