Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

86technie

I just realize the design very stupid, they never tell people that the barcode must face up.
If not the machine will reject the bottle/can. 🤦‍♂️

Vincentlow82

Magnuz

With the coming increase in power tariff and my expectation to see more in the future, these machines are most likely going to suck much more cost than the plastic or cans recycled.

Have they worked out how many cans or bottles need to be feed into the machine to reach the carbon foot print and cost breaking point?

That is not factoring in labour, transport and administrative fees. So net the result will most likely be a huge negative on both carbon footprint and upkeep cost. The question then will be who will foot the bill.

Unlike recruits people can not be forced to recycle and with 1 in 7 households making 30k per month according to the latest figures one has to wonder who will waste time and effort to get 10 cents back per item.

kyang69

I agree. This kind of thing can only be the idea of a person that has lost touch with reality.

If really want to push for this effort, make the process simply and easy, any kind of bottle also can accept.

I was not surprised when some bottles were rejected as I watch a woman insert them one by one. She brought a whole basket of them ....

10 cent, 20 cents also want to calculate with citizens, end up people got fed up and won't used the machine anymore. Stupig idea and idiotic execution.

And I know the ministir don't care whether it work or not, they only care they appear in the papers and on the TV news.

Magnuz

urs only 10cents, my place the minimart, stated up front, govt up 10cents they up 20 cents... 你做初一我做十五。
Complain about this to the media or your local MP?

Unless it's "What's wrong with collecting more money".

Foetid

Complain about this to the media or your local MP?

Unless it's "What's wrong with collecting more money".
complain also no use de, more money is more tax revenue to govt, why govt will address the profiteering ? So many excuse can be given. Govt has been increasing cost all over, so how to govt can increase but private sector cannot?

Joe Maya

55362038743_a2e24e07cf_b.jpg

KNN as usual whenever Gov wants to implement a scheme.
Seriously they should not only consult Singaporeans but also do a Pilot.
Today I brought a drink from Cold Storage Bugis I kena extra charge of 10 cent
which make no sense seriously.

Pay extra than desposit in the BCR machine to get back?
Which scholar idea is this?
This idea is

pngtree-failed-rubber-stamp-failure-png-image_9941934.png

If customer didn't kena extra charge than it make sense.
But they charge extra is.... :mad:
Can opt out or not seriously.

This scheme deserve to be boycott, I wonder Kopitiam etc. places.
How they going to charged? They will tell you for example $1.50 + 10 cents extra?
Some uncle and auntie sure complain on the spot. :s13:

The most ridiculous is I want to help recycle bottles not purchased from there and am okay with not getting any remuneration but cannot LOL

Waste of a big machine.

Lonewolf83

Till date, I haven’t seen a can or bottle drink with the 10 cent recycle label…so those machine got people use anot?

Joseph12

I just realize the design very stupid, they never tell people that the barcode must face up.
If not the machine will reject the bottle/can. 🤦‍♂️
Actually the better way is to require people to scan barcode first
Then maybe compartment open and you slip in can or bottle

unrealx262

55362038743_a2e24e07cf_b.jpg

KNN as usual whenever Gov wants to implement a scheme.
Seriously they should not only consult Singaporeans but also do a Pilot.
Today I brought a drink from Cold Storage Bugis I kena extra charge of 10 cent
which make no sense seriously.

Pay extra than desposit in the BCR machine to get back?
Which scholar idea is this?
This idea is

pngtree-failed-rubber-stamp-failure-png-image_9941934.png

If customer didn't kena extra charge than it make sense.
But they charge extra is.... :mad:
Can opt out or not seriously.

This scheme deserve to be boycott, I wonder Kopitiam etc. places.
How they going to charged? They will tell you for example $1.50 + 10 cents extra?
Some uncle and auntie sure complain on the spot. :s13:
best is u cant find the machine ez-ly

Joseph12

This is actually a stupid idea.and shows how warped Grace's thinking is

They make the consumer pay extra.
And to claim back this extra, consumer must work for it by returning cans for them
So you pay and to get back your money, you need to work for them

So warped
If got guts, PAP should be paying for it not Singaporeans

standarture

This is actually a stupid idea.and shows how warped Grace's thinking is

They make the consumer pay extra.
And to claim back this extra, consumer must work for it by returning cans for them
So you pay and to get back your money, you need to work for them

So warped
If got guts, PAP should be paying for it not Singaporeans

SG is pay more and more and also pay to DIY. Ownself return tray pay more also. Ownself bring bag also more troublesome.

AlchemistJ19

As usual, the scholar copy and paste from other Ang Mo country. Our drinks need to cost like $3 to be on par with other countries.

But always forget that we are in Asia. Where the drinks usually cost $1-2

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.