Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

randyap

I think most ppl won't bother washing
It's better to wash, else the place you store your cans before returning will have ants mold bacteria.

Also, the cans tumble in your storage bag, all the liquid drip around and mix. When u return the cans u still have to hold and touch them.

V-FORTY

Lol... Should i just stop buying canned/bottled Drinks?
i stopped buying drinks with the 10cents return. as much as i can la. drink from own water bottle plain water. live longer let my country squeeze me more years. majulah singapura. happy national day.

BigMonkey

can tattoo bar code on chiur hand? will the machine eat human?

speedsonic

vq3KDWm.jpeg

then straight to bk acc.

Asphodeli

Don't think they collect $ upfront as deposit

Those poor salvager will go to train station with black trash bag to collect cans to recycle for money

SG is a scam. If most people don't bother to recycle, the money don't know enter who's pocket.
This idea comes from Germany and Australia

Does the Germans need to do place the cans according to instructions just to get the refund receipt?
Same machine type with their own quirks, but the money is not cash, it's only store credit. This was my experience back in 2013 though

OneUpsize

https://returnright.sg/

Prepared 10 drink cans with the mark. Managed to return them all and got refund of $1. Used moi DBS Paylah to receive the amount.

Some important points to SIC, which may not be so obvious reading from the website:

1. The bottom of the can should face out, and the side you drink from should face inside the machine.

2. The barcode should be facing up. Imagine about a 120 degrees arc from the top of the circle. You should see a strip of red light trying to read the barcode. I don't think the machine is smart enough if you place the can in the opposite direction (i.e. drink side facing outwards, instead of inwards), that would mean it reads the barcode upside down. During this time, around the touchscreen on its left, you would see a green light.

3. It may take a few tries for the machine to read the barcode. The first few cans I tried, it took moi 4 or 5 tries. Towards the end, I could get it to register with 1 or 2 tries. There's no time limit to return all the cans you prepare, so no need to rush. Wait a few seconds between each can return. Time it so you can see the red strip scanning the drink can.

4. Once the machine registers the drink can, you would see it stop in the middle of the roller, and then takes in the drink can. Around the touchscreen on its left, you would see a blue light.

5. Once you returned all the cans, just tap "Refund" on the screen, followed by selecting the mode to receive the amount. I used DBS Paylah to receive the amount. I also tuned up the brightness of moi phone for the machine to read moi QR code easily. Paylah is instantaneous. Saw the updated amount on moi phone immediately.

Huat ah! :LOL:

the machine operating upkeep (and company to run this) carbon impact on the climate already outweighs whatever quantifiable benefits that this so called plastic reduction initiative purports to give.

Habrosus

Those 1.89L marigold orange juice bottle also under BCRS, I almost throw away until I saw the 10cts logo~ :s22:
I've been redeeming Fairprice 99c Japanese tea the past couple of weeks, until this week's finally came with a 10c mark. Unlike past weeks' FOC, had to pay 10c charged to the saved credit card. :crazy:

I think most ppl won't bother washing
I'd rinse if I'm at home, even without the 10c mark, as I'll only throw on my way out.

If already outside then too bad, just slot in...

Visor9999

Sg Govt should add plastic containers at every hdb block so we can donate these bottles away to needy to collect

NintendoSwitch

https://returnright.sg/

Prepared 10 drink cans with the mark. Managed to return them all and got refund of $1. Used moi DBS Paylah to receive the amount.

Some important points to SIC, which may not be so obvious reading from the website:

1. The bottom of the can should face out, and the side you drink from should face inside the machine.

2. The barcode should be facing up. Imagine about a 120 degrees arc from the top of the circle. You should see a strip of red light trying to read the barcode. I don't think the machine is smart enough if you place the can in the opposite direction (i.e. drink side facing outwards, instead of inwards), that would mean it reads the barcode upside down. During this time, around the touchscreen on its left, you would see a green light.

3. It may take a few tries for the machine to read the barcode. The first few cans I tried, it took moi 4 or 5 tries. Towards the end, I could get it to register with 1 or 2 tries. There's no time limit to return all the cans you prepare, so no need to rush. Wait a few seconds between each can return. Time it so you can see the red strip scanning the drink can.

4. Once the machine registers the drink can, you would see it stop in the middle of the roller, and then takes in the drink can. Around the touchscreen on its left, you would see a blue light.

5. Once you returned all the cans, just tap "Refund" on the screen, followed by selecting the mode to receive the amount. I used DBS Paylah to receive the amount. I also tuned up the brightness of moi phone for the machine to read moi QR code easily. Paylah is instantaneous. Saw the updated amount on moi phone immediately.

Huat ah! :LOL:
Congrats. Camping for you soon posts when you pay BCRS levy then realise the container no such marking - kena twice at Aunty Lucy liao. Then your subsequent post when you put in the container and it crunched it then happily show you ERROR when you tap for your 10 cent back via PayWhatever together with very short countdown timer so you can't even shoot a photo fast enough as evidence to submit any kind of claim. Eggmy thanks you for your devotion.
iu

Nymphomaniac

Damn stoopid. Ppl ish supposed to get the refund when they recycled for environmental reasons

How cum we need to pay the additional recycling 10 cents when we buy the drink eh?

So end up we are just receiving back the 10 cent we paid earlier. SMLJ rubbish logic is that?

Vincentlow82

Sg Govt should add plastic containers at every hdb block so we can donate these bottles away to needy to collect
They like to challenge the needy, must dig from normal bins with all the food waste , cig butts/ ashes and unfinished drinks liquid. And also some cleaner like to dump tree leaves into the bin too.

Visor9999

They like to challenge the needy, must dig from normal bins with all the food waste , cig butts/ ashes and unfinished drinks liquid. And also some cleaner like to dump tree leaves into the bin too.

I want to donate my plastic containers to them. Sg Govt should give the needy the chance to redeem this 10 cents

Quala98

Same machine type with their own quirks, but the money is not cash, it's only store credit. This was my experience back in 2013 though
yes yes.. i saw some german youtuber showing this.. one is Mario and another one is a vietnamese.. it comes in the form of a receipt that they can go to the supermarket for discounts

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
still need to bring it home first to wash up
lehcheh work
then put one side to then later send it to the machine

Hakuna Matata

BYOB (Bring Your Own Bottle) and refill it at all supermarkets/eateries? 20¢ service charge? Pay 10¢ is cheaper hor. 🤣

mocax

why cannot use paynow? moi dun have paylah... oso no ezlink card, been using phone for bus... :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.