Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

titusilvering

Come to think of it, there is very simple solution. Just extend the machine to have a recycle "hole" for users to just throw the can in. The can will go into the same "collection box" as the QRCode via a different path. And have a cam outside to catch those throwing rubbish inside.

Would be the similar setup as clothes recycling, etc.
They already pump millions into it. Now you ask them cut one hole is cost another million maybe

leonaheidern

Those are the brainwashed green converts. I just want my money back.

actually it just means its littering to be honest but at least people tried

i didn't look at the bottle and can to see if it was washed or not. personally the hassle of washing and drying make me just want to throw away rather than the 10 cents

FT PRIDE

There used to be this cans return machine that accept all drink cans. Not sure why they don't bring that back but create something extra

OutBreak

In other words. They win win.. we are at the losing end. Is there a disclaimer that you will not get back your 10 cents?

Hello_Kitty

The "no refund, continue anyway" option makes total sense from a pure recycling standpoint. The can is still aluminium, the bottle is still PET, material value doesn't change just because the barcode is from old stock or damaged. If the goal is actually recycling and not just deposit administration, reject makes zero sense

Ultimately this scheme was designed around the deposit tracking, not around maximising recycling
well said

Coaster

They already pump millions into it. Now you ask them cut one hole is cost another million maybe

sorry sir... with your kind of thinking, then why we bother to discuss anything lei ?

Just let other discuss their ideas, can or not ?

_eMuu_

What could be some of the causes that the machine reject the bottle?

The bottle have the qr code leh.

No error message on why it reject the bottle.

maruku2002

Sorry, recycling is just not in common folks' blood. Have not used it and probably will not. I just throw all my bottles/cans into the chute, not worth the hassle to lug them to another place just for 10c ea.....the bus fare to and fro prob more than my 1week of cans/bottles (at least 2 per day).

ckt1978

bingo..
Beverage Container Return Scheme Ltd. (BCRS) Ltd. is the licensed, not-for-profit scheme operator for the Beverage Container Return Scheme. Licensed by the National Environment Agency (NEA), BCRS Ltd.'s core responsibilities for the seven-year period (1 April 2026 to 31 March 2033) on behalf of all beverage producers in Singapore include collecting, sorting, recycling eligible beverage containers, and setting up return points.

Board & Scheme Integrity​

BCRS Ltd. is formed by a consortium of beverage producers comprising Coca-Cola Singapore Beverages, F&N Foods, and Pokka. Beyond the founding producers, the Board also includes representatives from smaller local producers, Wanin Industries and Chia Khim Lee Food Industries, to ensure that the interests of smaller producers are considered.
All funds from producers are reinvested into the scheme to keep it efficient, transparent, and sustainable for everyone, in line with the Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) framework.

So everything else is the RECYCLING contractor issue not their job to improve their other party scope.
looking at who forms the BCRS... now i know why they do it liao.
can up the prices of drinks. then just block ppl from collecting $$ thru some cccck up.

Elfblade

So what if invalid barcode? Must reject and make people throw in rubbish bin?

Cannot include another test case like "you will not receive refund, do you wish to continue" and accept the can/bottle for recycling regardless?
MIW Party = LPPL. :s13:

standarture

Because the machine is not smart enough to detect if it is plastic yet. Please la, need to think first.

white_prince

tested a few times then the machine can take the bottle or go to another machine

sky00sky

looking at who forms the BCRS... now i know why they do it liao.
can up the prices of drinks. then just block ppl from collecting $$ thru some cccck up.
u can also check the location of BCRS limited registered address see where is it.

:p:p:p

btw..CORA is a rebranded com[amy

Kanko San

stop charging the 10 cent on top
then let us throw whereever we want

if we want to claim need to find the machine,so mafan

IN THE NAME OF GO GREEN.

YET EVERY GREEN PLACE, BUILD CONDO AFTER CLEARING.

GO SEE TANAH MERAH, WHOLE SMALL HILL, ALL BECOME CONDO.

ridiculous?

借环保之名...
https://www.zaobao.com.sg/forum/views/talk/story20160928-671556
遗憾的是,一些别有居心的团体或企业,有时会巧妙的利用环保的课题来作掩饰,以达到他们不能公开说明的隐藏议题和目的。从表面上来看,他们的提议和所争取的,是今天世界上无人能够拒绝承认的生态课题,但锦囊里是否另有乾坤则难说。

:o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.