Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Dr Stephen Strange

I avoid any drinks which require me to cough up 10 cents more. Only when demand drops then the drinks company will put pressure on the govt about this policy.

pohw0008

When u buy 1 carton become $2.40 more expensive.. that's like 24% more 😭

jtec14

I think I am the only stupid one to really clean a bit(waste water) before sending in, seeing how dirty is the moving belt nowadays :(

Ginola81

The bottle thing still ok.. cans if nv wash clean sure attract a lot of ants.. like stupid man.. my FIL jitao throw away can instead of wash and keep

English Teacher

I was doing some quick maths and realise the effort to keep the stupid bottles and finding the stupid machine is not worth it at all unless you return like 20-30 bottles at a time.

Let's say you return 10 bottles at a time and your nearest return station is 5 minutes from your house. You get 1 dollar for 10mins of effort. Means your effective pay is a derisory $6 per hour.

In reality, most people aren't going to be returning so many at a time, so the hourly rate is realistically less.

This whole thing is a joke and is literally making life worse for people who were already recycling before this scheme for no good reason.

Here's my personal struggle:
I work in a restricted area with no brcs return points. Last time I buy drink from vending machine, I just throw it in the recycling bin when I'm done. Now if I do the same, I am throwing 10 cents away. If I want my 10cents back, I have to hold on to the drink till the end of the day, bring it with me all the way to the carpark (a 15min walk btw), drive home, and walk to the nearest return point near my home, then walk back home. All that for 10 cents.

Last week I got a new idea to let the bottles accumulate first before returning together. But yesterday when I saw the amount of empty bottles sitting in my car I decided that I've had enough of this nonsense. It's just not worth it.

your car feels like a rubbish bin

Laneige

i bought one coffee from shop, $1 now is $1.20
told me 10ct can get back
if lazy can 5-5 split
the machine is walking distant
then my family member told me someone is at the machine, put everything in, then realised dont have paylah?
and dont have those bus cards....

i also dont have leh
really rubbish

went for an event, the participant uncle also said throw the bottle = throw 10ct, he decided to bring the bottle back. the other one said, dont know what kind of rubbish scheme is this
how much they spend on the machine n such
then make us all do this rubbish

dnsfpl

it's never about the 10c, it's to make it a habit to sort rubbish

my sis damn power, will sort and throw to the respective bin

kudos to such pple

Joseph12

I got 2 today
So my record thus far is 20?
Today I got 4 !
Which makes it 24!
And none from dustbin!
When things looked bad, today ended up being my 2nd highest haul

Firstly I must have seen like 6 to 7 cans today and all don't qualify
And another 3 out of reach
Ya Singapore is filthy

And speaking of which, those old fogey rummaging through dustbins will definitely get bitten by rats
Cos saw a huge rat near dust bin
Saw 3 rats today too haha
And no. I wasn't hanging out in dustbin areas

Mystyque

It doesn't TK rocket science.Save environment?then the returnmachine emit more gases n space isn't harm

The machine is built overseas, no carbon foot print in SG. The electricity that it is powered by, is from solar/renewal/somewhereelse so no carbon footprint for SG!

Emperor_Hippo

it's never about the 10c, it's to make it a habit to sort rubbish

my sis damn power, will sort and throw to the respective bin

kudos to such pple
Hmmm? Nothing wrong.

i do that too. And frankly speaking, if one were to really separate recyclables from those that have to be thrown that will be sent to ulu pandan to be burnt, actually, there's little to throw.

now, all i need is a food digestor/food dehydrator....

ramlee

Nowadays I carry a water tumbler that can hold hot or cold water or tea/ coffee. No need to buy soft drinks, and no need to return drink cans. Those soft drinks not healthy to drink anyway, full of sugar or artificial sugar...
But that’s Huai it tastes so gooooooood :(

kopi22

Up to individual lor. I will still wanna take back my 10cents. The machine is not far away from where I stay.

windwaver

I was doing some quick maths and realise the effort to keep the stupid bottles and finding the stupid machine is not worth it at all unless you return like 20-30 bottles at a time.

Let's say you return 10 bottles at a time and your nearest return station is 5 minutes from your house. You get 1 dollar for 10mins of effort. Means your effective pay is a derisory $6 per hour.

In reality, most people aren't going to be returning so many at a time, so the hourly rate is realistically less.

This whole thing is a joke and is literally making life worse for people who were already recycling before this scheme for no good reason.

Here's my personal struggle:
I work in a restricted area with no brcs return points. Last time I buy drink from vending machine, I just throw it in the recycling bin when I'm done. Now if I do the same, I am throwing 10 cents away. If I want my 10cents back, I have to hold on to the drink till the end of the day, bring it with me all the way to the carpark (a 15min walk btw), drive home, and walk to the nearest return point near my home, then walk back home. All that for 10 cents.

Last week I got a new idea to let the bottles accumulate first before returning together. But yesterday when I saw the amount of empty bottles sitting in my car I decided that I've had enough of this nonsense. It's just not worth it.
Don't buy can drinks like me?

BBT serve in cups.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.