Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

crawler

To save the earth is not so that you also make enough money to cover your time at the same time 🤣 but I get you that it is too troublesome. My family did not even get started. We recycle our plastics anyway.

Itsnotfunny

I seen documentaries that those plastic bottles and cans collected also end up in dug up dumping grounds. It’s too expensive to recycle and so easier and cheaper to bury them. Did our gahmen show us how they recycle ? 🤣🤣

XiaoJinLing

Actually they set up this system is to let u dun bother to take back the 10cents as too troublesome... yea it's their main intention... lol

mel1888

I think its basically not suitable for our culture at the moment lah. I understand some other countries already have this scheme long time. G trying to force such hairbrain schemes down our throat. End day it really doesnt work but they refuse to admit & rollback.

Ethan_

Not convenient for individuals. Too much effort to return few. Only for those willing to do bulk. Better off give it to karung guni man go door to door collect, more practical and efficient.

Local like to force self service but make the whole self service experience so inconvenient that it tend have negative then positive effect.

Ethan_

Actually they set up this system is to let u dun bother to take back the 10cents as too troublesome... yea it's their main intention... lol
Don't buy lor. Think it helps deter people who mind but don't want participate in it. Thus don't indulge those at the top with the scheme. Can encourage these people to eat healthy also. When cut down on such. :s22:

hachi

Evenytime I wanna return I realise I throw away the bottle alr... Don't even bother...

s-ghost

ah gui laugh at get $1 for 10 mins effort

TS, you not getting paid at all for your effort you know

Laguna123

To keep those empty cans I still need to wash them, then dry them and find a place to keep them before bring them to recycle. Else my home become a ant net.

C_boliao

Sustainability is everyone's effort. Singaporean are not tune to this mindset. Need years and years to do this

pohw0008

Based on ts logic is to raise it to $1 per can then worth the time to do it. $60/Hr.. 😆

Emperor_Hippo

I seen documentaries that those plastic bottles and cans collected also end up in dug up dumping grounds. It’s too expensive to recycle and so easier and cheaper to bury them. Did our gahmen show us how they recycle ? 🤣🤣
U see documentaries. But in reality in Singapore - we burn our trash, convert it to energy and den send the burnt trash to landfill at Semakau.

alarming that u watch overseas documentaries and assume local models follow whatever crap's stated in documentaries when those are nt authoritative to local context!

Itsnotfunny

U see documentaries. But in reality in Singapore - we burn our trash, convert it to energy and den send the burnt trash to landfill at Semakau.

alarming that u watch overseas documentaries and assume local models follow whatever crap's stated in documentaries when those are nt authoritative to local context!
Hahah. I never said sinkieland does this. That’s why I ask the question -how gahmen get rid of these so called recycled plastics.

If what u said is correct, put so much $ and effort to collect them and just lump together with the other waste and burn. might as well just treat them as normal rubbish since all burnt together. 🤣🤣🤣

Asphodeli

I thought CNA got come out one documentary and they export the plastic to Malaysia for processing?

Mystyque

I was doing some quick maths and realise the effort to keep the stupid bottles and finding the stupid machine is not worth it at all unless you return like 20-30 bottles at a time.

Let's say you return 10 bottles at a time and your nearest return station is 5 minutes from your house. You get 1 dollar for 10mins of effort. Means your effective pay is a derisory $6 per hour.

In reality, most people aren't going to be returning so many at a time, so the hourly rate is realistically less.

This whole thing is a joke and is literally making life worse for people who were already recycling before this scheme for no good reason.

Here's my personal struggle:
I work in a restricted area with no brcs return points. Last time I buy drink from vending machine, I just throw it in the recycling bin when I'm done. Now if I do the same, I am throwing 10 cents away. If I want my 10cents back, I have to hold on to the drink till the end of the day, bring it with me all the way to the carpark (a 15min walk btw), drive home, and walk to the nearest return point near my home, then walk back home. All that for 10 cents.

Last week I got a new idea to let the bottles accumulate first before returning together. But yesterday when I saw the amount of empty bottles sitting in my car I decided that I've had enough of this nonsense. It's just not worth it.

Sorry to burst your bubble, you're not getting an effective pay, that $0.10 came from your pocket in the first place :o

thekh21

The machine is built overseas, no carbon foot print in SG. The electricity that it is powered by, is from solar/renewal/somewhereelse so no carbon footprint for SG!
How about manpower labour cost collect fr machine ,outweigh the costs of environ huh..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.