Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Notbbfa

u not looking at the big picture....to u is 10 cent per bottle / can

whole Sg consumes 1 BILLION bottles / cans per year

this translates to SGD 100 million a year leh, how is this not wealth
Errrr nothing better to do/earn then u take the time to collect those bottles lor

NintendoSwitch

Introduce this bottle tax. Rich people can afford to buy drinks and throw away, don't even bother to go machine claim refund.
Seeing many low income ppl benefit from this, bring large bags of recyclables to the machine and earn the cash.
Is this a form of wealth redistribution?
Going commie just like the Americans?
iu

coyote

I’d argue that this is a measured deliberation of the government and fully intentional.

I don't see the point of deliberating on this point.

If consumers are represented by edmwers, they can simply just keep the bottles and recycle the $0.10 on their own. It's really up to the consumers/edmwers. I will say, do not waste time. They are better off book a lesson on claude and learn how to prompt to get the best outcome. If edmwers are not happy but they do not represent the consumers, then you have no say. This has absolutely in the hand of consumers, not the government.

keewee0415

Errrrr 10c considered wealth..........?
If you collect 200 empty bottles and cans discarded by the rich who dun give a **** about the 10 cents rebates everyday, you are making $20 everyday.

Keep up the grind daily and you make extra $600 every month that you don't have to declare to IRAS.

Notbbfa

If you collect 200 empty bottles and cans discarded by the rich who dun give a **** about the 10 cents rebates everyday, you are making $20 everyday.

Keep up the grind daily and you make extra $600 every month that you don't have to declare to IRAS.
use the same amount of time used on giving tuition or doing grab, will earn more or not.... :s22:

whatheheck

once u remove the 10 cents refund, no one will bother to return the bottles through the machine

they can always beo the costs of all the manpower and costs of vending machines after a year or so and adjust amount to collect and return . won't be expecting a 100% recycling which isn't sustainable anyway

keewee0415

use the same amount of time used on giving tuition or doing grab, will earn more or not.... :s22:
Maybe but you look at the profile of the people fishing through thrash.

Unemployed uncles/aunties who may not be well-educated or primary school kids from poor families.

Do you want to be tutored by these people if you have a choice?

And probably the old people may not have driving licenses too.

Notbbfa

Maybe but you look at the profile of the people fishing through thrash.

Unemployed uncles/aunties who may not be well-educated or primary school kids from poor families.

Do you want to be tutored by these people if you have a choice?

And probably the old people may not have driving licenses too.
Post #25:
Errrr nothing better to do/earn then u take the time to collect those bottles lor

keewee0415

Post #25:
And if you noticed, there are groups of senior citizens going around dumpster diving for old newspaper, cardboard packaging for shopee/amazon/Lazada deliveries, cut them up nicely and deposit into recycle bins to accumulate points for NTUC vouchers in some neighbourhoods that have this facility. Need to earn 1000 points to get a $10 NTUC voucher.

In Singapore, as long as you are willing to work, you won't starve. So says some boomer.

guile

This recycling thing has been in Germany for decades. It almost a way of life over there to recycle.

Will probably take a few decades before it will be become a culture here as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.