Discussn : Anyone here already achieved FRS $213K or ERS $426K ?

mgx-alander

Moi mid 30s SA abt 180k.. OA 120k no hse yet but shld be able to hit with SA after buying house if someone willing to marry me :sad:

No cash top up but i kept moving my oa to sa on a 1:2 ratio every year

Mephist0pheLes

I am turning 40 soon and wondering if anyone here managed to reach either the CPF Full Retirement Sum (FRS) $213K or better still Enhanced Retirement Sum (ERS) $426K before you reach 55yo ?

Can share ? Thanks ya.

PS : I'm asking coz I run my own biz. Though Medisave contribution is compulsory by CPF, FRS or ERS contribution is own time own target.

35yo, 239k in SA

aeng

how and when can topup to ERS?

4k per month, + my boon keng 4rm rental 4k. go retire in thailand or jb, woon woon jiak tom yum
when you're min 65, then you decide which plan to sub to, basic, std or escalating, n how much you want to put (BRS, FRS, or anything between FRS and ERS)

belmont_a

Achieve FRS by combining both OA and SA amount when I was 40yrs old.

I on/off got top up since 25yrs old and been doing 6-month T-Bill and 1 yr SSB since 35yrs old Avg 3% return every maturity.

When COVID hit, moved most of my OA to SA. IMHO is a mistake as I am planning to buy another HDB, now not much in OA to reduce cash component of a HDB house down-payment.
it’s possible to buy more than one hdb?

antonpoh

No need to worry If u have FRS amount in SA now, it will grow with the yearly increment.

Have you think about the young generation who just start working at aro 23yo. How are they going to catch up with the FRS when they hit 55yo.

Phongchi

I am not convinced of ERS. If I need to tie up another 250k (ers calculation for 55yo in 2029), and I collect abt 4k (ERS) when 65yo, I rather leave that extra 250k beside me as liquid cash. 250k divided by 20 years (by then I will be 85yo) is 12.5k annual and I can spend abt 1k mthly. Frs give me ABT 1.6k plus that liquid 1k is about 2.6k liao.

So... I am not willing to tie up my 250k into ers. And my calculation is with interest on my 250k yet.

Elfblade

If someone dumps all OA saving into property…Their OA CPF will be always like empty…so not easy to reach FRS.
Not really, I bought a HDB using OA, pumped in voluntary contribution of max amount for tax deductible every year. My SA alone will hit FRS in another 2 years time, no need to include amount from OA.

coyote

If someone dumps all OA saving into property…Their OA CPF will be always like empty…so not easy to reach FRS.

FRS is OA+ SA. So long as with contribution, SA is to reach FRS, OA should be for property and should always be as low as possible.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.