Do this type of Cholesterol need to take med?

cyke69sg

maybe you consult another doctor for a second opinion... (coz your 80 mg statin is the highest I have ever seen).

*my brother heart disease patient and LDL needs to maintain at below 70. His statin only 10 mg.
Was your brother statin Atorvastatin or Rosuvastatin?

mummynew

Atorvastatin dose range can be up to 80mg (max).

That's why wondering why he was prescribed with so high dosage unless his initial numbers were sky high that needed such aggressive dosage. :unsure:

*my brother experienced his first near heart attack episode about 7 years ago (cold sweat, chest pain, weak) and A&E into hospital with very high BP. Treated and CT etc and he stabilised. Upon discharged, cardio told him must maintain his LCL to below 70 (due to quite a large plaque in his heart artery). His Rosuvastatin (Crestor) statin prescribed was only 10 mg which is equivalent to about 20 mg of Atorvastatin. So 80 mg of Atorvastatin is 'scary' to me.

cyke69sg

That's why wondering why he was prescribed with so high dosage unless his initial numbers were sky high that needed such aggressive dosage. :unsure:
Most likely that was the case.

The doctors will see his lipid profile and see that it is within targets not excessively low, patient also does not complain of any side effects or problems at the current dose. Hence no need to change anything.

If doctor geh kiang reduce dose then the level creep higher to be out of target range then will kena scolded by everyone left right centre.

Don't fix what ain't broke.

Now if TS were to complain that he has muscle aches, or fatigue, or memory issues. Then that would be a different matter.

mummynew

Most likely that was the case.

The doctors will see his lipid profile and see that it is within targets not excessively low, patient also does not complain of any side effects or problems at the current dose. Hence no need to change anything.

If doctor geh kiang reduce dose then the level creep higher to be out of target range then will kena scolded by everyone left right centre.

Don't fix what ain't broke.

Now if TS were to complain that he has muscle aches, or fatigue, or memory issues. Then that would be a different matter.

My brother's polyclinic doctor did reduce his Atorvastatin dose (from a higher dose) till the current dose of 10 mg. Gradual reducing till this number coz his lipid profile remains stable with it (target is still LDL below 70).

wongminmin

ur doctor want to cheat ur money arh?
why issue 3 ? i only given atorvastatin/rosuvastatin

fenofibrate -100mg
atorvastatin -80mg
ezetimibe - 10mg

Somemore, ldl is less than 3.3 . chiu only 3.

Just tell the doctor u want to try control via diet and lifestyle.

u got ur right to decline treatment.

However, if u got hbp or diabetes, best to keep ldl low.

can try jiak oatmeal over statins. :censored:

begintoend

I think jus need to ask doc to review the dosage, looks a bit too high

You will certainly need to take if you are doing nothing super ultra pro max significant to your diet and lifestyle.

Jus book another consult lor.
Anyway poly is diff doc...

cyke69sg

My brother's polyclinic doctor did reduce his Atorvastatin dose (from a higher dose) till the current dose of 10 mg. Gradual reducing till this number coz his lipid profile remains stable with it (target is still LDL below 70).
Your brother polyclinic doctor is it the same doctor ie FP or just MO pool?

cyke69sg

ur doctor want to cheat ur money arh?
why issue 3 ? i only given atorvastatin/rosuvastatin

fenofibrate -100mg
atorvastatin -80mg
ezetimibe - 10mg

Somemore, ldl is less than 3.3 . chiu only 3.

Just tell the doctor u want to try control via diet and lifestyle.

u got ur right to decline treatment.

However, if u got hbp or diabetes, best to keep ldl low.

can try jiak oatmeal over statins. :censored:
TS said is Polyclinic. So cannot be want to cheat money.

There might be other issues

Does TS have heart attack before? Stroke? Major cardiovascular risk? Family history? Familial hyperlipidemia?

wongminmin

TS said is Polyclinic. So cannot be want to cheat money.

There might be other issues

Does TS have heart attack before? Stroke? Major cardiovascular risk? Family history? Familial hyperlipidemia?
Since day 1, i go polyclinic.... they issue more and more medicine. keep asking me do this checkup that checkup. ask me to take vaccine....listen to simi talk... talk to simi care manager.... waste my time. :cautious:

felt like complaining to moh.

cyke69sg

Since day 1, i go polyclinic.... they issue more and more medicine. keep asking me do this checkup that checkup. ask me to take vaccine....listen to simi talk... talk to simi care manager.... waste my time. :cautious:

For most people that's GOOD!

First and foremost the charges are low for all the medicine and checkups.

People go to clinic is want things done. Want some medicine (otherwise go doctor for what? Go see sinseh TCM or naturopath or alternative medicine specialist better).

Doctor checkup is good also. What you expect Polyclinic to be doing? Remember Polyclinic is not alternative medicine naturopathic medicine, TCM, holistic simi dunno what ok?

I rephrase your post to

Since day 1, i go polyclinic.... they issue NO medicine. keep asking me NOT TO do this checkup that checkup. NO CHEKCUP. NOTHING! ask me NOT to take vaccine NO VACCINES! ....listen to simi talk... talk to simi care manager.... waste my time. THEY DO NOTHING!!!!! :cautious:

cyke69sg

Find it really weird when people complain go Polyclinic that the doctor give medicine and do checkup and recommend vaccine

What you expecting?

Is like complain everytime go Starbucks they recommend me drink Coffee!
Is like complain everytime go Seafood Restaurant they recommend me eat seafood!
Is like complain everytime go KFC they recommend me eat fried chicken so unhealthy!
Is like complain everytime go car workshop they recommend me change oil, service brakes, flush transmission and brake fluid!

wongminmin

For most people that's GOOD!

First and foremost the charges are low for all the medicine and checkups.

People go to clinic is want things done. Want some medicine (otherwise go doctor for what? Go see sinseh TCM or naturopath or alternative medicine specialist better).

Doctor checkup is good also.

I rephrase your post to

Since day 1, i go polyclinic.... they issue NO medicine. keep asking me NOT TO do this checkup that checkup. NO CHEKCUP. NOTHING! ask me NOT to take vaccine NO VACCINES! ....listen to simi talk... talk to simi care manager.... waste my time. THEY DO NOTHING!!!!! :cautious:

good? hahahahah
i saw 1 elderly carry 1 giant big bag of medicines... $130+ guess what? no money to pay! lol

checkup aren't free.
and u need to take time to do check these pointless checkup. After checkup, still need to get appt to see doctor..... and this keep repeating.

cyke69sg

good? hahahahah
i saw 1 elderly carry 1 giant big bag of medicines... $130+ guess what? no money to pay! lol

checkup aren't free.
and u need to take time to do check these pointless checkup. After checkup, still need to get appt to see doctor.....

Need balance.
You talking extreme.
The other extreme is NO MEDICINE. Give advice on how to live healthy only.
People also dun like.
When got bad cough and cold sore throat go see dr and NEVER GET ANTIBIOTICS will have some people very unhappy also. Say go see doctor no use. Waste of time also.

Hard to please people.

Easier when the objectives are wants are clearly defined from the start.

Next time you go to the Polyclinic you tell them what you want what you don't want. Help them to help you have a pleasant experience. Problem is the doctors and nurses don't know what each and everyone likes or wants. Also they have some guidelines to follow. So it is sort of one size fits all.

You must tell them you dowan medicine or only want what medicine. And what checkup you want what you dont want.

Also sign the indemnity form to absolve them of any negligence if you dont want any treatment or tests that they feel are important for your safety. Don't sabo them please.

NO ONE CAN READ YOUR MIND!

Try to put yourself in their shoes.

Doctor is do what one? Write prescription for medicine, do checkup, order tests. You don't like them do what they do you go see for what?

Is like say from day one i watch Football they keep kicking the ball with their feet and try to score goal then only can score a few goals or no goals in games. WASTE OF TIME WATCHING!

wongminmin

Find it really weird when people complain go Polyclinic that the doctor give medicine and do checkup and recommend vaccine

What you expecting?

Is like complain everytime go Starbucks they recommend me drink Coffee!
Is like complain everytime go Seafood Restaurant they recommend me eat seafood!
Is like complain everytime go KFC they recommend me eat fried chicken so unhealthy!
Is like complain everytime go car workshop they recommend me change oil, service brakes, flush transmission and brake fluid!
recommend me?
i didn't book care manager appt.... they just push me inside without my acknowledgement.

recommend me?
i nv tio flu in my whole life... and they highly recommend me to take flu vaccine.... despite my highly rejection. lol

i tell u 1 funny story......
i told the doctor in the face " i dun want to take these checkup"
then she explain to me , then ending saying...."i help u book, if u really dun want, u can cancel it later"
then i said ok.
then i go counter.... the counter said they can't cancel cause this is arranged by the doctor.

simi recommend????????????? this is hard selling!!!
imagine those elderly dunnoe 1..... they did so many useless things.

cyke69sg

recommend me?
i didn't book care manager appt.... they just push me inside without my acknowledgement.

recommend me?
i nv tio flu in my whole life... and they highly recommend me to take flu vaccine.... despite my highly rejection. lol

i tell u 1 funny story......
i told the doctor in the face " i dun want to take these checkup"
then she explain to me , then ending saying...."i help u book, if u really dun want, u can cancel it later"
then i said ok.
then i go counter.... the counter said they can't cancel cause this is arranged by the doctor.

simi recommend????????????? this is hard selling!!!
imagine those elderly dunnoe 1..... they did so many useless things.

Ask you.
Why you go polyclinic anyway?

Just learn to say no.

Maybe nowadays polyclinic also got pressure to sell things. Sounds like it from what you say.

Better still maybe dont go polyclinic. There are some clinics quite open minded and patient centred. They will only do what you want.

Go private maybe end up more pleasant for you.

Even in Canada the patients will switch doctors one. They want to find one that fits their agenda.

Mecisteus

The numbers don't really mean anything.

All boils down to various factors like

Age, family history, medical history, diet, lifestyle, condition of arteries, etc

Example someone who is in the 20s and with sky high cholesterols. This guy is less likely to get stroke in the next 5 years compared to a 50 years old.

wongminmin

Need balance.
You talking extreme.
The other extreme is NO MEDICINE. Give advice on how to live healthy only.
People also dun like.
When got bad cough and cold sore throat go see dr and NEVER GET ANTIBIOTICS will have some people very unhappy also. Say go see doctor no use. Waste of time also.

Hard to please people.

Easier when the objectives are wants are clearly defined from the start.

Next time you go to the Polyclinic you tell them what you want what you don't want. Help them to help you have a pleasant experience. Problem is the doctors and nurses don't know what each and everyone likes or wants. Also they have some guidelines to follow. So it is sort of one size fits all.

You must tell them you dowan medicine or only want what medicine. And what checkup you want what you dont want.

Also sign the indemnity form to absolve them of any negligence if you dont want any treatment or tests that they feel are important for your safety. Don't sabo them please.

NO ONE CAN READ YOUR MIND!

Try to put yourself in their shoes.

Doctor is do what one? Write prescription for medicine, do checkup, order tests. You don't like them do what they do you go see for what?

Is like say from day one i watch Football they keep kicking the ball with their feet and try to score goal then only can score a few goals or no goals in games. WASTE OF TIME WATCHING!
dun understand what u talking about.....

i said this again.
-Yes.... if got illness... best to do checkup and get treated asap.
-However, the patient want to get treated anot, it is up to themselves. Doctors don't have rights to override. We are not living in North korea.

-Yes... doctors are the professional.... we should listen.
-No, we can only listen partial.... they are just textbook doctors.... i googled or ask chatgpt can find out specify what wrong with my health, and do the remedy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.