do u do SRS?

lowsesforever

For high earners, SRS is worth it. Assuming you earn within the $500k to $1M range, every extra dollar you is taxed at 23%. Whereas if you put it into SRS and withdraw it later, even if you withdraw before 62 years old (assuming you set up an SRS account when retirement age was still at 62 years old), you only need to pay 5% penalty. So if your goal is to FIRE, maybe work income becomes zero and just need to pay the penalty (which is still much cheaper than the 24% in taxes). Of course if you earn lesser and pay lesser income tax, the benefits of SRS might not be worth it

tatsit

what is good to invest using SRS? tbill and SSB not really that good already

Peanut15

got save so much meh
anyway i went to play play n put in a bit then sit there do nothing earning that mere interest until one agent told me to buy ssb then i go n buy a bit lo
some went to buy t bills but now t bills all time low right
LLST liao
$ put in cant take out

if u ask me i think use the $ buy gold/silver better than put in SRS
tax also dont know save how much , if any!!! (still dont know how to calculate) :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
u can also put into SRS, then buy ETF (even gold etf?).

if you are 40 years old, u can treat it as a 20 year insurance investment plan. Assuming you earn more than 120k income, each 1k deposit is a $110 - $190 saved at year 1. (if you put in CPFSA, it's 11-19% at year 1 earned, and additional 4% compounding interest every year).

If you earn less than 80k annually, then it may not be worth depositing.

win_man

Have to do SRS past few years as tax bracket quite high. My SRS just whack all in Bonds and Amundi.

Shion

Senior Mentor
of coz must do srs... better to pay for future self than to pay for ahem... :s12::frown:

moi only put in the last month... chiu ish can still use the $ and put into 6 months tbill earn a bit of interest 1st before putting into srs... :s12::frown:

Yes, put inside SRS every month from now until retirement age then take out to use, no tax iirc. Early withdrawal before retirement age will be taxed.

Dividends

Yes, top up every year for tax relief now and additional income after I reach 62..

Acetron

Sequent of event
1 Jan - Park $15300 in SRS
10 Jan buyed n21u - 12,600 @ 1.21
Mar div - $252
Jun div - $245.7
Sep div - $253.26
Dec div - S$253.26

Total div earned- S$1004.22
Total tax saving - S$2295
Total saving - S$3299.22
Return - 21.56%

repeat the above in 2026

Dividends

Srs or cpf sa top up for tax relief not worth it
Even u at high income bracket, it is like 11.5% x 8000= $920 only but ur money stuck until 65
I saved $4k in taxes each year topping up 15.3k to SRS and 7k to CPF (back when I haven't hit FRS). That's quite significant in my opinion.

Not sure about others, but in my case, I will invest the funds and not touch it till retirement anyway even if I don't put them inside SRS or CPF. So the money being stuck won't matter.

soyabean89

Sequent of event
1 Jan - Park $15300 in SRS
10 Jan buyed n21u - 12,600 @ 1.21
Mar div - $252
Jun div - $245.7
Sep div - $253.26
Dec div - S$253.26

Total div earned- S$1004.22
Total tax saving - S$2295
Total saving - S$3299.22
Return - 21.56%

repeat the above in 2026
which broker u use to buy srs funded sg stock?
ocbc? or?

Iamnobodyla

Under which tax bracket then more worth it to put in srs ?

if 7%, every 1000 put in save $70 only

Laneige

u can also put into SRS, then buy ETF (even gold etf?).

if you are 40 years old, u can treat it as a 20 year insurance investment plan. Assuming you earn more than 120k income, each 1k deposit is a $110 - $190 saved at year 1. (if you put in CPFSA, it's 11-19% at year 1 earned, and additional 4% compounding interest every year).

If you earn less than 80k annually, then it may not be worth depositing.
but if ppl earn this much the SA full still can put in meh
somemore so brave, later govt bring goal post away how
but 11% - 19% is a lot-

Peanut15

but if ppl earn this much the SA full still can put in meh
somemore so brave, later govt bring goal post away how
but 11% - 19% is a lot-
CPF contribution every year is capped at 102k of yr income. It's not like people who earn more get more CPF SA.
If u earn a lot, means u can treat SA as a risk free alternate 4% saving account, with immediate 11-15% interest. Good to have some less risky investment

Under which tax bracket then more worth it to put in srs ?

if 7%, every 1000 put in save $70 only
People usually recommend 120k. Which means u need to pay $7k income tax. Every 1k is $115 saved.

but Annual income (after all the deduction) of 80k also need to pay more than 3k.Can probably start a bit.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.