Do you find work tough? Or people who don't do well should only blame themselves?

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
maybe?
if the work me chose is something totally new to me but have yet to experience such :o

trumperater

No work is tough unless a lot of intellectual work is required like those coding/ deep analysis kinds. Most work are just following SOP and getting used to the routine if any. Being underappreciated or being in a toxic work environment does not incentivize ppl to perform well regardless, would rather lie flat especially if job is low paying.

Capitalist

1. Is it luck? Some people just tend to have good career luck to do well. So right time right place right people etc.

2. Is it capabilities? Some people are just talented and have chance to shine and really deliver what they promised.

3. Is it just the whole job market/economy not doing well? So everyone are jaded and tired of just being a worker to enrich bosses.

4. Just behkan, stop complaining and admit you are nobody.

How do y'all navigate work and do y'all find work tough?

I never enjoy working no matter which job, from the bottom of my heart I hate the idea we need to be at work just to exchange money and be nothing but a 牛马

But for survival, just have to deal with it yet is been 10 years I'm nowhere near promising and I feel ashamed of myself.

Also, honestly seems like doing well and promoting is really not as easy? Most people around me are also just doing average. (Maybe caz you are who you mix with, so I no chance mingle with people who are doing extremely well since I belong to behkan)

What y'all think? :frown:
For me, after a while, or rather, as we age ... it's pointless to compare ...

Amongst my close circle of friends, i.e. will catch up one-twice a month, ... amidst the 'excelling ones' ... one is an equity partner in an accounting firm - drawing a 'guaranteed' $750K pa. (yup, I've perused his appointment letter/contract) ... one is in a senior role in a brokerage - average $500K ~ $1mil pa., .. one is in hedge fund - past 4 years average $1.2m pa (total package) ...

.... and I'm doing, on a decent/average year, ... $220K~250K pa.

I'm way past comparing IR8A forms. :s13:

When we catch up over prata + teh halia, or single malts, .. or pinot noirs, ... we're all reduced to our silly selves.

I'm in my late 40s, .. and we have known each other more than half of our lives.

Eh-kan or beh-kan, ... each to their own.

We live and lead our own lives. Neither lenders nor borrowers. :s13:

chaiscool

Amongst my close circle of friends, i.e. will catch up one-twice a month, ... amidst the 'excelling ones' ... one is an equity partner in an accounting firm - drawing a 'guaranteed' $750K pa. (yup, I've perused his appointment letter/contract) ... one is in a senior role in a brokerage - average $500K ~ $1mil pa., .. one is in hedge fund - past 4 years average $1.2m pa (total package) ...

When we catch up over prata + teh halia, or single malts, .. or pinot noirs, ... we're all reduced to our silly selves.

I'm in my late 40s, .. and we have known each other more than half of our lives.

As long draw salary not satki liao. Higher ceiling is all own biz

cosmothecat

Everything is fated

For example, you born with low IQ, no matter how hard you try and work, you can never be Albert Einstein

But but but, if you are born with Albert Einstein level of IQ but you choose to lie flat, be a beach bum, then it is yourself to be blame for not achieving greatness in life. Many in Singapore are in this category, got potential but lazy.
No work is tough unless a lot of intellectual work is required like those coding/ deep analysis kinds. Most work are just following SOP and getting used to the routine if any. Being underappreciated or being in a toxic work environment does not incentivize ppl to perform well regardless, would rather lie flat especially if job is low paying.
See, already got one example

Gweedkur31

"you are the average of the five people you spend the most time with", Jim Rohn.

Maybe need an environment change.. Be lucky by reaching out more, asking for help, trying new things, meeting new people, dun expect a return for helping, keeping expectations lower..

We can have more than 50% are worse than average, and most of us would like to think that we are at least equal or better than average. In Sg hypercompetitive landscape, it is easy to do "well" but still fall short..

NardinJohn

1. Is it luck? Some people just tend to have good career luck to do well. So right time right place right people etc.

2. Is it capabilities? Some people are just talented and have chance to shine and really deliver what they promised.

3. Is it just the whole job market/economy not doing well? So everyone are jaded and tired of just being a worker to enrich bosses.

How do y'all navigate work and do y'all find work tough?

I never enjoy working no matter which job, from the bottom of my heart I hate the idea we need to be at work just to exchange money and be nothing but a 牛马

But for survival, just have to deal with it yet is been 10 years I'm nowhere near promising and I feel ashamed of myself.

Also, honestly seems like doing well and promoting is really not as easy? Most people around me are also just doing average. (Maybe caz you are who you mix with, so I no chance mingle with people who are doing extremely well since I belong to behkan)

What y'all think? :frown:

Think the most important is being able to wayang well, which is imo the most important skill to have. Quite often, if you look closely at who gets promoted, it's the ones who can wayang. Some of these people wayang, but are also decent at their job. But a good portion wayang only but don't actually do anything. They know how to steal credit for other people's work, and how to make the boss think they contribute a lot when they don't actually do anything.

The ones who can't wayang are stuck at the bottom forever, regardless of whether they contribute or not.

There's this JHK in my office. Somehow, he always knows the boss's schedule. He's always an hr or two late, when the boss will be late or absent. But he's never late on the rare occasions when the boss is coming in on time. During work hours, he watches K-dramas or goes to the gym. He probably only does real work for no more then an hr everyday. But somehow he managed to convince the boss that he is very busy, and very productive, which he uses as a reason to reject any and all work the boss tries to send his way. Technical knowledge is also sibei jialat. Keep giving wrong advise to the juniors, and when things go wrong, throw the juniors under the bus. He's doing well. Promotion every other year. Faster than most.

Quite true , when we boys meet up we hardly do any comparison… just try to enjoy the makan and drinks chatting along what little bad things we done back at sec sch days lolx …

harky

Usually once career start , path mostly fix liao ...

Really need go jump coy every few year to break free from low ses path
this i agree.. as least jump every 2-3yr... i regret i nv do it.
because most boss see exp.. if u dont jump mean ur exp is only that few scope.

IAmChiobu12M

Think the most important is being able to wayang well, which is imo the most important skill to have. Quite often, if you look closely at who gets promoted, it's the ones who can wayang. Some of these people wayang, but are also decent at their job. But a good portion wayang only but don't actually do anything. They know how to steal credit for other people's work, and how to make the boss think they contribute a lot when they don't actually do anything.

The ones who can't wayang are stuck at the bottom forever, regardless of whether they contribute or not.

There's this JHK in my office. Somehow, he always knows the boss's schedule. He's always an hr or two late, when the boss will be late or absent. But he's never late on the rare occasions when the boss is coming in on time. During work hours, he watches K-dramas or goes to the gym. He probably only does real work for no more then an hr everyday. But somehow he managed to convince the boss that he is very busy, and very productive, which he uses as a reason to reject any and all work the boss tries to send his way. Technical knowledge is also sibei jialat. Keep giving wrong advise to the juniors, and when things go wrong, throw the juniors under the bus. He's doing well. Promotion every other year. Faster then most.
Can this jhk open a class to teach? Idm paying to learn. Spend 1x money learn something that can be useful for next 20 years lol.

IAmChiobu12M

Everything is fated

For example, you born with low IQ, no matter how hard you try and work, you can never be Albert Einstein

But but but, if you are born with Albert Einstein level of IQ but you choose to lie flat, be a beach bum, then it is yourself to be blame for not achieving greatness in life. Many in Singapore are in this category, got potential but lazy.
So which am I? I think I no low IQ but not high IQ just average IQ but living worse than low IQ probably. And I'm quite dedicated?

harky

Most impt I think you need to be able to find a mentor that is willing to guide you and not keeping things for himself. This is what we call贵人 in life.
me lor.. i give everything.. i guide.. topid lor

cosmothecat

So which am I? I think I no low IQ but not high IQ just average IQ but living worse than low IQ probably. And I'm quite dedicated?
Don't know you in real life

But you need to honestly self evaluate whether you try or work hard enough to maximise your true potential

Many people lie to themselves that they are working very hard but from 3rd party's perspective, that person is actually lazy

IAmChiobu12M

Don't know you in real life

But you need to honestly self evaluate whether you try or work hard enough to maximise your true potential

Many people lie to themselves that they are working very hard but from 3rd party's perspective, that person is actually lazy
So let's explore 2 sides and start with lazy. Assuming is really lazy. But why some people damn lazy and even evil still living well?

nakata97

Moi behkan, so moi no blame anyone…

Can only blame moi parents for bringing this char siew to this world

TiedInsurer

Can this jhk open a class to teach? Idm paying to learn. Spend 1x money learn something that can be useful for next 20 years lol.
From observing him:
  1. Try to become buddy buddy with the boss. Find out what the boss values, and what the boss pays attention to.
  2. Work hard on areas where you know the boss will be looking. There's no need to bother working hard on areas where you know the boss isn't scrutinising.
  3. That's it
So in our case, our boss feels that employees who do their work well and on time, is just doing what they are paid to do. In other words, that's just the bare minimum and isn't praiseworthy. So there's no value in working hard in this area. Just put your name on a reasonable number of projects, without actually doing anything. Let the other people who are also on the project do the actual work.

What the boss actually values, is people who go above and beyond. This means "volunteering" for things like helping to plan the company's Corporate Social Responsibility programmes, participating in all the initiatives that the boss proposed, "helping" to organise training programmes etc. Some words in "", because once again there's no need to actually do anything. Just join and put name there can liao.

Of course, being such a snake will draw a good number of complaints from the colleagues, but the boss generally believes him over his colleagues, because the boss believes that there's no way a model employee who has so much initiative and goes above and beyond, is actually just wayang only.

cosmothecat

So let's explore 2 sides and start with lazy. Assuming is really lazy. But why some people damn lazy and even evil still living well?
Hitler was evil but he was very successful (for a while until his destiny ran out)

So ya, if you are destined to be top ruler, you will be one regardless

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.