Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore? 月薪5000元,在新加坡能过得好吗?

TiedInsurer

That's really sad it is so low.
Yes. The sad reality is, Singapore citizens actually earn even less then that, as the PRs earn about $300/mth more then the citizens, so they pull up the median. Real sinkie median wage for those aged 30-39 is likely closer to $4.8k.

Those who do make it into NTU/NUS are only a small fraction. IIRC 20% ~ 30% if each generation. In the past, those who didn't get in could still fall abck on private degrees to earn a decent living, but even that backup plan has disappeared, given the downturn in private university salary and employment rates.

AnTzX_

5k i dun tink will be good... i now have 1 full time(2.8k) with 3passive(another3-4k) i m actually quite happy already... :o

cyke69sg

Yes. The sad reality is, Singapore citizens actually earn even less then that, as the PRs earn about $300/mth more then the citizens, so they pull up the median. Real sinkie median wage for those aged 30-39 is likely closer to $4.8k.

Those who do make into NTU/NUS are only a small fraction. IIRC 20% ~ 30% if each generation. In the past, those who didn't get in could still fall abck on private degrees to earn a decent living, but even that backup plan has disappeared, given the downturn in private university salary and employment rates.
Nowadays is about investing. Not working.

Eventually working will only be for poor people.

cyke69sg

Must learned how to make your $$$ grow cause salary is a fixed income.
Salary can grow. Also depends on the structure of work/active income. Can be variable also.

So not fixed income technically. That one is like pensions annuities or long term bonds.

TiedInsurer

Nowadays is about investing. Not working.

Eventually working will only be for poor people.
Yes. We are entering late stage capitalism. In another 100 years, if your parents not rich, then you will have to work, but working can't make you rich, or give you enough to start investing, given the failure of wage levels to keep up with inflation over the past 30 decades. It will be for subsistence only.

cyke69sg

Yes. We are entering late stage capitalism. In another 100 years, if your parents not rich, then you will have to work, but working can't make you rich, or give you enough to start investing, given the failure of wage levels to keep up with inflation over the past 30 decades. It will be for subsistence only.
Yes. We are at the beginning of that era now.

Which is why I do feel some duty to still put effort to help secure my kids for the future.

If I can still contribute significantly it makes no sense for me not to.

larrytok8888

5k take home ? for whole family (if 2 person working, ok) more of a single thing.

1 person for whole family 3-4pax including spouse ? 100% not ok. lol

cyke69sg

Last time watch movie $5.00 and now weekend is $13-$14...

Mcdonald meal last time is $5.00 and now is $9-$10...:)
Actually I look at price of food vs how much salaries have gone up. vs how much property prices have risen
How much stocks have risen.
I think food prices have not gone up as much. In fact it is relatively cheaper to eat out now than ever before.

TiedInsurer

majority sinkiekias earn below median but still surviving
The question asked is, "Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore?".

If merely want to survive, actually $1k for whole family of 5 should be enough. Food is basically free. Every night go to the trash bin behind the bakeries, and you can get unlimited supply of free bread. Accommodation-wise, my Malay neighbor have 2 kids who live in the living room. I every day walk pass can see them, because they leave window and door open for ventilation. There's no privacy but it's still accommodation.

The issue is that merely surviving is not the same as "life is good".

pohw0008

I'm a peasant holding a low SES job,taking home 3k nia though still can save few hundreds
If my company is not providing meals, not only I do not have enough to eat 2 meals but also have problem surviving so taking home $4k means can save $1k extra ,of course that means I'd be happier than now though it takes me another 5-7 years to get $5k
5-7 years later $3k not enough liao.. need $4k already.. then u will still need another 5-7 years to get $6k..

cyke69sg

The question asked is, "Do you think your life will be good if you have a salary of S$5000 in Singapore?".

If merely want to survive, actually $1k for whole family of 5 should be enough. Food is basically free. Every night go to the trash bin behind the bakeries, and you can get unlimited supply of free bread. Accommodation-wise, my Malay neighbor have 2 kids who live in the living room. I every day walk pass can see them, because they leave window and door open for ventilation. There's no privacy but it's still accommodation.

The issue is that merely surviving is not the same as "life is good".
What is "merely surviving"?

For some having food water and peace is surviving .

TiedInsurer

Actually I look at price of food vs how much salaries have gone up. vs how much property prices have risen
How much stocks have risen.
I think food prices have not gone up as much. In fact it is relatively cheaper to eat out now than ever before.
There was a friggin long period where hawker prices didn't really move, between 1990 to 2010. That was the greatest time to eat out. It got so ridiculous that eating out was actually cheaper then cooking yourself.

But recenly one-shot catch up already. Eating out inflated by about 50% over the past 5 years. Wages didn't go up that much.

drkcynic

Then take 8h of life everyday to earn how much then is good?
That's not my point. The point I was trying to make is how much effort do you need to earn that 5k/mth that will likely determine whether it is a good salary or not.

For example I can take on 3 jobs 18 hours a day to earn 20k/mth but is that a "good life"? Or work 8 hours a week to earn 5k/mth.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.