Does future proofing actually exist?

watzup_ken

Future proofing only exists if you don't have a high expectation of your computer to be honest. Some people can buy a comp and use it for years till it fails cause they are not exactly expecting top notch performance.
Also, by saving up and buying an entire rig at one go may not help u save as much as intended. Changes in the tech space is fast and chances is that u will end up having to change majority of the parts. As compared to a person upgrading parts and selling off older parts, he/she may incur a lower cost. That's my opinion.

wadsad

wont take long to adjust to a bigger screen. is when downgrade to smaller screen, then is hard to adjust. :s13:

Nakedtoes

yea, most likely ram, can try to capture the error msg for the blue screen... :(:(

i dun have the old ram with me anymore... the ram are not spoiled just that after sometime the contact with mobo is sensitive..

kokitty

wont take long to adjust to a bigger screen. is when downgrade to smaller screen, then is hard to adjust. :s13:

hahaha.... sad but true.

Monitor i went from 15 to 17 then 19 every 2 years and this year i am looking at 27 incher lol

Just like mobile phones screen size, once you go big, can never go back lol.

Francis85

Mine 27" T260HD lasted me for 7 years, then i decided to retire it, hooted a 34" Dell.......

hahaha.... sad but true.

Monitor i went from 15 to 17 then 19 every 2 years and this year i am looking at 27 incher lol

Michel Merlin

Being cheap hence easy to replace helps being future-proof

One important factor in being future-proof is to get worn-out (and if possible recyclable) after having worked properly and got amortized, and before getting obsoleted, hence being faster replaced.

Look at human and other living beings: we get worn-out before getting obsolete, are easily recycled, inexpensive to build (just a tiny work and 9 months to wait) hence quickly amortized and replaced.

Versailles, Fri 26 Feb 2016 22:28:40 +0100

what88

Future proofing only exists if you don't have a high expectation of your computer to be honest. Some people can buy a comp and use it for years till it fails cause they are not exactly expecting top notch performance.
Also, by saving up and buying an entire rig at one go may not help u save as much as intended. Changes in the tech space is fast and chances is that u will end up having to change majority of the parts. As compared to a person upgrading parts and selling off older parts, he/she may incur a lower cost. That's my opinion.

I am one of them, my laptop and desktop is almost 5 years, non-gamer thus hardly go to upgrade anything except monitor.

what88

hahaha.... sad but true.

But LL when back to office, monitor screen is much smaller than home one...23" vs 17"

mini_cow

My office PC specs are surprisingly good for a 4 year old rig. Dual nec monitors at 1200p and quaddro card! Lolx

Skyline34_

2 cents layman view: GPU is still the most challenging to 'future-proof' for gamers who demand the best possible graphics

You go highest end Xeon CPU + 4x Highest Model GPU = Future Proof liao lor.

It's possible just not economical.

mini_cow

2 cents layman view: GPU is still the most challenging to 'future-proof' for gamers who demand the best possible graphics

You can't future proof a product that continues to have significant performance increases year on year.

Now if SLI doubles the firepower yes. But sadly it doesn't

Skyline34_

agree - and personally, still prefer a single gpu solution to a sli/xfire setup

hence i am resigned to the fact that i'd likely need to upgrade my gpu 18mths from now haha

You can't future proof a product that continues to have significant performance increases year on year.

Now if SLI doubles the firepower yes. But sadly it doesn't

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.