Donation based FA TA seminar/workshop

Milo-Dino

*edited
Thanks all for the feedback. It is noted that donation isn't the ideal way so I'll be setting a small fee.

Time/Venue
I plan to hold it on Saturdays: 6th and 27th December on a small scale.

*Update:
6th Dec: Full
27th Dec: Full

Please leave me your emails if you are interested in future workshops.!
Due to overwhelming response, will probably conduct more in 2015

Contents
Based on the simple set of 8 pages of notes (tentatively 3 hours, can stretch longer by abit if people are willing)

FA side:
- Economic outlook/situation
- Group structure / Business model
- Financial health of the company
- Understanding corporate announcements (*updated*)

TA side:
- support resistance (simple concept)
- Japanese candlesticks
- Common chart patterns
- Advance TA tools (brief introduction)
- Fibonacci
- Elliot Wave Theory (general idea)

*May do a live charting demo too if time permits

Register interest
Please drop me a PM if you are interested. Do include your email too.
Thanks!

*** I have setup a blog for the workshops I'm holding as well as facebook page. You can google it "milofata" and it should appear.***

simon_84

Any donation is just addition blessing, be it coffee money or a plate of chicken rice

if the contributor want to donate the funds raised to charity then it would be good to state the minimum amount.

Some-one

good idea but definitely, it has to be a non-profit based and also, you might be sorely disappointed that nobody donates after the seminar.

Milo-Dino

if the contributor want to donate the funds raised to charity then it would be good to state the minimum amount.
yea you are right...

maybe need to state minimum amount (after all printing of notes will cost afew cents).
Nice idea to have part of collections to go to charity

alexchia01

If say someone conducts a seminar on Simple FA and TA, say for 3hours or so.

At the end of the talk, there will be a donation/feedback box for participants to contribute any amount (even $0) according to how much they feel the seminar has helped them.

Would this be feasible or totally waste of time and energy to the contributor?

Main aim for the contributor is to provide education to the public.
Any donation is just addition blessing, be it coffee money or a plate of chicken rice

If your objective is to educate the public, then don't ask for any donation.

If your objective is to support a charity, then state it upfront and collect money.

Don't do things with unclear objective.

Paul Lee

At the end of the talk, there will be a donation/feedback box for participants to contribute any amount (even $0) according to how much they feel the seminar has helped them.

Personally I dun think it would work. You are counting on the altruistic nature of the participants to cover your cost. If like you said, you stated main aim in educating the public, then you must be prepared to do it for free.

Of cos, having attended a few 'free' seminars myself, I'm aware that there's no free lunch in this world. And most of the 'free' seminars are like a stripe tease show. They flashed some skin and asked you to cough up money for the full Monty.

No donations required - my company is willing to take in no experience traders and even give them some money to prove they can do it with our FOC training, as long they show they are serious about learning (100+ hours weekly). I made numerous offers but only a few bothered to come.

Of cos no one will come. There's only 168 hours a week and you expect someone to commit more than 50% of that on some 'FOC' training?? That's worst than a full time job! :s22:

zawoo86

Personally I dun think it would work. You are counting on the altruistic nature of the participants to cover your cost. If like you said, you stated main aim in educating the public, then you must be prepared to do it for free.

Of cos, having attended a few 'free' seminars myself, I'm aware that there's no free lunch in this world. And most of the 'free' seminars are like a stripe tease show. They flashed some skin and asked you to cough up money for the full Monty.

Of cos no one will come. There's only 168 hours a week and you expect someone to commit more than 50% of that on some 'FOC' training?? That's worst than a full time job! :s22:

Also curious.. market only open 40 hours a week. why need 100+ hours?!

Milo-Dino

Thanks for Paul for your advice :)

That's what my friends told me as well.

People nowadays only want "cheap and fresh"

Guess I'll just stick to educating friends I know... at least they will be appreciative and buy me a drink or a meal :s13:

Mecisteus

can just share trading tips and analysis through websites. almost zero costs.

you get $$$ from advertisements and donations.

wahkao3

Invite this FATA master Dr Tee? He looks good. I sure listen to his seminar one :o

==================================
[GPGT]This stock market FATA master good or not?Should I pay 3k for his seminar?Learn from him can huat?

Hi everyone. Saw this ad today. Here is the real FATA master who teach TA+FA, both say buy, then can buy.

his seminar is around 3k
Anyone going? Go liao can huat? anyone can pls feedback on his course? How successful are you after his course? learn from him liao can huat big big in stock market? :o

No link shown to avoid being accused of advertising
UdqbrzQ.png

no advertising intended. I am not related to Dr Tee in anyway. I do not have interests in his stock seminar. so pls dont delete or give me infraction:o

wahkao3

Thanks for Paul for your advice :)

That's what my friends told me as well.

People nowadays only want "cheap and fresh"

Guess I'll just stick to educating friends I know... at least they will be appreciative and buy me a drink or a meal :s13:
i be your fren can? I also want free lesson from u :o

Futureskid

There are free seminars as well that can be "neutral", because their objectives may not be aiming to make your money straight away, but hoping u can trade in their market. For instance like SGX hoping u can contribute their volume after that, property agencies or developers on property market view, hoping that u to invest as well.

Nothing is free, but objectives maybe different

focus1974

Good ! :)
I will attend and donate depending on the value derived from the workshop.

So $0 is possible if I failed to see any value (a lot of foc seminars peddling courses are like that) and I have to incur loss of parking fees in the city area and my time ..

Can you strip-tease a little of what you want to share in the free worshop? ::)

Nobody can resist a free workshop ! :) Me included.

Milo-Dino

Good ! :)
I will attend and donate depending on the value derived from the workshop.

So $0 is possible if I failed to see any value (a lot of foc seminars peddling courses are like that) and I have to incur loss of parking fees in the city area and my time ..

Can you strip-tease a little of what you want to share in the free worshop? ::)

Nobody can resist a free workshop ! :) Me included.

Based on the simple set of 8 pages of notes I did up in a single night for a session with my friends...

FA side:
- Economic outlook/situation
- Group structure / Business model
- Financial health of the company

TA side:
- support resistance (simple concept)
- Japanese candlesticks
- Common chart patterns
- Advance TA tools (brief introduction)
- Fibonacci
- Elliot Wave Theory (general idea)

The last time I did this... I thought will take 1.5hours.. end up took 3 hours of me non-stop talking and showing charts... with 1-2 toilet breaks in between :s13:

Milo-Dino

There are free seminars as well that can be "neutral", because their objectives may not be aiming to make your money straight away, but hoping u can trade in their market. For instance like SGX hoping u can contribute their volume after that, property agencies or developers on property market view, hoping that u to invest as well.

Nothing is free, but objectives maybe different
Actually I feel the best seminars are those that give you the right basics...

There is no "sure win" method. Even if there's a trading system that works right now, there's no guarantee it will continue the next month or even the next day.

Thus getting the fundamentals right and having the right understanding of charts/FA is important

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.