Door bell with camera recommendations

winningeleven

How do you guys install all these doorbells? Need to drill hole into the door? Mine is new bto. Thinking of getting Xiaomi one which comes with 3m tape but not sure people can just rip up and go?

Hi. I am using xiaomi doorbell and posted a mini review over the same discussion a few days ago. I just stick it on the door without drilling to wall or door.

The 3M tape is very sticky and they are going to rip off with rear cover damage if they try to pull it off. A alarm will also sound when it separated from the rear cover. Anyway no one would bother to steal.

Since your is a new bto. I suggest u should do it once and do it a good wan. Don't save on xiaomi. As your bto should have the wired connection ready for door bell. Get those other recommended models here

Rooney3

Hi. I am using xiaomi doorbell and posted a mini review over the same discussion a few days ago. I just stick it on the door without drilling to wall or door.

The 3M tape is very sticky and they are going to rip off with rear cover damage if they try to pull it off. A alarm will also sound when it separated from the rear cover. Anyway no one would bother to steal.

Since your is a new bto. I suggest u should do it once and do it a good wan. Don't save on xiaomi. As your bto should have the wired connection ready for door bell. Get those other recommended models here

I already got the normal door bells but currently feeling a need for video to monitor people who might potentially be loitering outside. That's why was considering something easier to install.

Sure will take a look at the review. You got it from qoo10? Need to get our own China adapter for the speaker plug right?

djr81

I remove the door bell and just use 1 of the screw hole and drill 1 new hole.. the left over hole i stuff newspaper and then just putty over it and paint.. done

:s22:

I already got the normal door bells but currently feeling a need for video to monitor people who might potentially be loitering outside. That's why was considering something easier to install.

Sure will take a look at the review. You got it from qoo10? Need to get our own China adapter for the speaker plug right?

winningeleven

Oh I see. Xiaomi doorbell comes with motion detection setting. U can set how "sensitive" u want. Such as immediate capture and video it or only after 3, 6 seconds and up to 30 second.

I just set it up about 10 days ago and the battery life shown thru my MI home app is now left 50%. I wondered how it could last up to 6 months. I will be happy to see it can go up 3 to 4 months.

Do remember that to connect the MI home app thru the door bell. U need to set your region to China

I got it thru lazada for $68 with speaker inlcuded. Seller is Singapore based shop. China power plug is using 2 straight pins. I used a $2 adapter bought from the misc hardware shop .

CaptainWu

How's the performance? There seems few comments mentioned about the lag where you need to wait when someone press the bell and for phone alert and video.

Oh I see. Xiaomi doorbell comes with motion detection setting. U can set how "sensitive" u want. Such as immediate capture and video it or only after 3, 6 seconds and up to 30 second.

I just set it up about 10 days ago and the battery life shown thru my MI home app is now left 50%. I wondered how it could last up to 6 months. I will be happy to see it can go up 3 to 4 months.

Do remember that to connect the MI home app thru the door bell. U need to set your region to China

I got it thru lazada for $68 with speaker inlcuded. Seller is Singapore based shop. China power plug is using 2 straight pins. I used a $2 adapter bought from the misc hardware shop .

chrisongtj

I'm using Ring Doorbell 2... battery powered so you are free to put anywhere you want. The battery easily last 1-2 months (i'm kiasu and below 50% i will charge already). Longest i've used it is 3 months single charge. It takes few hours to charge like powerbank so really no issue.

Motion detection usually accurate within 2-3 seconds push to my phone. Recording has a slightly lag about 3-4 seconds, so you may miss the first few seconds when a stranger is walking to the door. I find it's so useful, my Qoo10 packages I usually tell the delivery person to hide it behind my gate or on my shoe rack. My unit is at the end of corridor so no passerby anyway. Even can answer when I'm overseas.

You will realise how many shady people are in your neighbourhood after installing this.

There is a subscription which is a negative but overall the service works very efficiently.
I initially wanted Nest doorbell and firealarm but their subscription not supported locally, dont want to risk it. There are actually CCTV laws in SG HDB so just be sure to position your doorbell carefully, I angle mine slightly so doesnt seem like I'm facing directly at my neighbours. Worst case if your neighbours complain, town council can make you take it down, so be nice.

chrisongtj

How do you guys install all these doorbells? Need to drill hole into the door? Mine is new bto. Thinking of getting Xiaomi one which comes with 3m tape but not sure people can just rip up and go?

Can use double sided tape in the beginning but if you are certain of the position then better to drill it in.

I got my contractor to drill for me (i marked the holes myself) during my reno. 2 min installation for Ring.

winningeleven

How's the performance? There seems few comments mentioned about the lag where you need to wait when someone press the bell and for phone alert and video.

Is not consistent. Sometime it would, some time it won't. If u want instant or even accept lag of 5 seconds. Xiaomi doorbell is not right there.

Rooney3

I'm using Ring Doorbell 2... battery powered so you are free to put anywhere you want. The battery easily last 1-2 months (i'm kiasu and below 50% i will charge already). Longest i've used it is 3 months single charge. It takes few hours to charge like powerbank so really no issue.

Motion detection usually accurate within 2-3 seconds push to my phone. Recording has a slightly lag about 3-4 seconds, so you may miss the first few seconds when a stranger is walking to the door. I find it's so useful, my Qoo10 packages I usually tell the delivery person to hide it behind my gate or on my shoe rack. My unit is at the end of corridor so no passerby anyway. Even can answer when I'm overseas.

You will realise how many shady people are in your neighbourhood after installing this.

There is a subscription which is a negative but overall the service works very efficiently.
I initially wanted Nest doorbell and firealarm but their subscription not supported locally, dont want to risk it. There are actually CCTV laws in SG HDB so just be sure to position your doorbell carefully, I angle mine slightly so doesnt seem like I'm facing directly at my neighbours. Worst case if your neighbours complain, town council can make you take it down, so be nice.

Ring is supported locally and it's subscription too? I thought have to get it from overseas?

djr81

Ring dont support oversea market..

But if u go to their live chat they will still help u..

And you can purchase from direct ring.com or other reseller website in usa.

Ring is supported locally and it's subscription too? I thought have to get it from overseas?

Rooney3

Just to confirm for new btos you know the default doorbell that is available. Is it straightforward to remove it and replace it with the Ring2?

Makes more sense to replace it than to install the Ring2 separately on the gate right?

djr81

Ya.. u can use the door bell hole and then just putty it... then use the 2 wires to the
doorbell. The doorbell height also good not too high and not too low...

Just to confirm for new btos you know the default doorbell that is available. Is it straightforward to remove it and replace it with the Ring2?

Makes more sense to replace it than to install the Ring2 separately on the gate right?

squidy

Sad....my electrician told me HDB doorbell is run by battery and he can't help me to wired my nest to the power source :( just cancelled my order of my nest already. Anyone has a electrician that knows how to do this?

djr81

Can 1 lah.. he just dont wan to be responsible if anything happen.. so u cant blame him.. but the reason he give is abit :s22:

NNLErkl.jpg

U see can still see the plaster.. that is the original door bell area

FhE9SvG.jpg

dtqE6a6.jpg

That is the original door bell location provided by hdb so i pull telephone cable to my kitchen cabinet. I use telephone cable also bo tai chi.. The hdb if not wrong is using 1.5mm or 2.5mm which is enough to power downlight if 1.5mm and 2.5mm for power point .. :s22:

NxtZVb5.jpg

Im using a 6vdc adaptor so this 1 will keep charging the battery like hp. This is the most easy method liao.. but the best is still the 24vac setup which i had done on another place which will have the white ring glow...

Sad....my electrician told me HDB doorbell is run by battery and he can't help me to wired my nest to the power source :( just cancelled my order of my nest already. Anyone has a electrician that knows how to do this?

Rooney3

For those who install it on the wall or door separately from the HDB default doorbell, do you guys get the add on chime for the Ring 2?

If not how is it going to sound the bell in the house.

djr81

Yess i got the chime.. the chime buay pai got 2 setting 1 is door bell sound and the other is motion sound.. for motion sound got dog barking sound :s22:

Cuz without it maid or other person would know.. cuz is only you and the person u share the access will be able to see and hear the notice from the hp..

For those who install it on the wall or door separately from the HDB default doorbell, do you guys get the add on chime for the Ring 2?

If not how is it going to sound the bell in the house.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.