Dry Cabinet

EJB

Both as good when compared to usage, however the DHC is more worry free as the settings can be controlled from the outside without the need to let the humidity settle.

The AD version you need to wait 24 hours after setting it, and see if it reaches your desired humidity before you set it again and wait another 24 hours.

DHC is more straightforward, but might not agree with your wallet.

calkel20

Do we need the meter to be calibrated? Mine was in action since 2008... Think almost times up to get a new one or just get the meter down to the center to get it fixed...
Any suggestion? Using a 60L Digi Cabi one.

Oh, and i found out one of my Ricoh GRDIII kena fungus. So does that mean it's not good to put inside the cabinet and mix with the rest?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

harky

i finally get DHC-60
it cost S$238.00
bought it @ qoo10. original is $250, use the coupon for discount :D

I3ws2s9.jpg

aCXTzT1.jpg

EJB

i finally get DHC-60
it cost S$238.00
bought it @ qoo10. original is $250, use the coupon for discount :D

I3ws2s9.jpg

aCXTzT1.jpg
I was on 50, then DHC-80, then I gave up...

10556316_10152319028044370_7761040125277824330_n.jpg

One time :D

blues_bleu

Hi guys,
just got my new digs cabi yesterday DHC-100.
there's a few thing i need to know if i can do or not.

hope you guys can give me some pointer.

1- i have got a brand new unopened lens, can i put it in the cabinet together with the box?
2- must i remove the strap from the body before placing the body into the cabinet?
3- must i remove the lens from the body when placing the body in the cabinet?

thanks a lot.....

EJB

very big le LOL
Bo pian, 80L running out of space. Told my mom I wanna stack another 80L kena say unstable. I upsai to 160L liao my mom ask me why I never stack instead.... *sweat*.

Hi guys,
just got my new digs cabi yesterday DHC-100.
there's a few thing i need to know if i can do or not.

hope you guys can give me some pointer.

1- i have got a brand new unopened lens, can i put it in the cabinet together with the box?
2- must i remove the strap from the body before placing the body into the cabinet?
3- must i remove the lens from the body when placing the body in the cabinet?

thanks a lot.....
1. Not that it is going to appreciate or remain in value because it's not opened, but if you have the space, why not?

2. Generally need not, but do remember straps absorb perspiration/water. Putting them into the cabinet makes the dehumidifier works harder and longer to get the humidity to the desired level. That's why I use straps that are easily removed before I keep the equipment. Optech Straps or CSLR C-Loop straps or even BlackRapid are some good options.

3. No hard and fast rule, people I know don't even remove the batteries, but personally I decouple all my equipment before keeping them so that the next time I take out my equipment I don't have to do so. I don't necessarily use the same lens everytime, so no point for me to leave them attached on - preference thing. When travelling, it's a different thing.

blues_bleu

Bo pian, 80L running out of space. Told my mom I wanna stack another 80L kena say unstable. I upsai to 160L liao my mom ask me why I never stack instead.... *sweat*.

1. Not that it is going to appreciate or remain in value because it's not opened, but if you have the space, why not?

2. Generally need not, but do remember straps absorb perspiration/water. Putting them into the cabinet makes the dehumidifier works harder and longer to get the humidity to the desired level. That's why I use straps that are easily removed before I keep the equipment. Optech Straps or CSLR C-Loop straps or even BlackRapid are some good options.

3. No hard and fast rule, people I know don't even remove the batteries, but personally I decouple all my equipment before keeping them so that the next time I take out my equipment I don't have to do so. I don't necessarily use the same lens everytime, so no point for me to leave them attached on - preference thing. When travelling, it's a different thing.

Hi, thanks for the advice.

also is there any way to switch off the led light on the digicabi cabinet.
coz when i switch off the lights, this thing is still shinning bring and my little devil is curious and keep pressing the button.

harky

dont think so...
y nt u use some sticker to cover it

Hi, thanks for the advice.

also is there any way to switch off the led light on the digicabi cabinet.
coz when i switch off the lights, this thing is still shinning bring and my little devil is curious and keep pressing the button.

EJB

Not advisable, the humidifier and the front control display are all individual components.

The light indicates if the humidifier is at work.

doran_lum

Hi, i'm getting the EPL7 with kit lens first ... do i need a dry cabinet or until i get more lens ?

Gribber

Can Dry cabinet put Plastic like Battery case which is plastic made and Camera bag with the camera?

any concern?

i dump almost any of my camera stuffs into my dry cab.
no issue.

Some people say that dry cabinet doesn't go well with batteries, but i too - just put my camera with battery on into my dry cabinet.

No problem.

croc1977

i dump almost any of my camera stuffs into my dry cab.
no issue.

Some people say that dry cabinet doesn't go well with batteries, but i too - just put my camera with battery on into my dry cabinet.

No problem.
huh? i tot dry cabinet good for putting batt also?

EJB

Can Dry cabinet put Plastic like Battery case which is plastic made and Camera bag with the camera?

any concern?

You can technically dump anything you want into the cabinet. However, bags, are worn around the body, and might pick up your perspiration and/or moisture along the way, this will cause the dehumidifier to work extra hard and longer hours.

For the above reason, I do not keep my neck straps and bags into the cabinet. YMMV.

I additionally, keep my battery chargers, AA batteries, DSLR batteries and also brother label printer and my LEE/Haida filters inside. Most items that says 'store in a cool dry place' will fit well into the cabinet.

I would however, store my camera electronics over bags/straps.

kinlet

hey guys,
im planning to get a dry cabinet since i have a cash voucher for olympus from the ITshow.
i have 4 lens now, and one camera, what size do you guys suggest i buy? They only have 4 types on sale

https://www.shopatolympus.com.sg/accessories/dry-cabinets.html
DB-36 DRY CABINET
AD-060N DRY CABINET
AD-100N DRY CABINET
DHC-120 DRY CABINET

is it ok to put my leather gloves/bag in too? or is it better not to mix?

Also, if i go travelling, is it ok to turn off the dry cabinet and put a couple of silica gels instead? I might leave behind a couple of lenses i don't need at home.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.