Durian 2012

Beta_Tester

i had a 2.7++ kg red prawn x 2 last time.. that one really big.. eat until blur.. that was last 2 season. scary

Beta_Tester

got a ang hei that was pretty big, about 2.5-3kg for $10. in fact the whole basket was $10 each. however it was just slightly wet inside, very very slight. how do we actually ensure that it is not wet inside if we pick the durians ourselves?

think u gotta shake it. if u can hear the seeds ''move'' or make some sound.. or at least feel something inside moving means the seeds nv sticks (wet), dry will move abt more. i think. :o

msw8908

So how do you know if a durian is good or fresh? Here are some steps you can try when looking for a good durian:
1. Look at the tip, if it is too dry means it is no longer fresh. A little dry is okay.
2. Look at the bottom, if it is crack it may be over-ripe or not so fresh. But it still can be delicious.
3. Smell the durian, if there is a strong smell, it is most likely good. If there is no smell, it is probably not ripe.
4. Use your fingernails to scratch the durian, if it sounds hollow it is likely to be a good one.*
5. Put the durian close to your ear, shake it and listen carefully, if there is a 'moving' sound, it is likely to be good.
6. Look for holes around the durian, if there is tiny hole somewhere, there is likely to be a worm (larva of an insect) that has burrow into it.

msw8908

Heard Penang durians in full swing but can't seems to find good Penang durians in Singapore. Any recommendation?

Waiting for Boon Tong D24, cheap and reasonably good. Had too much of MSW recently.

midreef

Bought some MSW from Ah Seng durian at Ghim Moh on Wednesday. They were heavenly, went back for some more on Friday. Yummy....

Crexzz

trying my luck. ....... anyone online now n knows of any 24hours durian stall or any stall that's open now?

:p

lufu

I check it out the next time i go...

being on Durians dosage : Sunday, Wed, Sunday, Wed, Sunday, Wed, for the past weeks :vijayadmin::D

Jin jialat, moi getting buibuis

I was mistaken. It has the pattern when I made a repeat visit.

Eviltrap

Anyone got any recommendations for durian stall with dining in? Looking for one to go feast with my colleagues. Hopefully not chop carrot type like Geylang ones. :o

tan1688

i got 6.9kg of mao shan wang from JB jalan dedap johor jaya
1kg = 30MYR thus spend $84 for 4 big durian each 1.7kg like that
sob sob so expensive ... i pre-order ahead with ah seng my long
time supplier he stashed up the better ones, taste very good,
meat not too moist not dry, seed is flat small...

those local JB uncles there also bought alot each 5-6msw,
then within 10mins after the bus comes, all msw finish liao ..
they pay with thick stacks 50 myr ..

went to taman sentosa, terbrau market, many stalls selling,
price quoted 28MYR-32MYR/kg MSW, though i compare their
MSW small is about 1KG nia, then the meat very moist watery,
some customers complain and dun want to buy, durian uncle
angry ...

tan1688

Anyone got any recommendations for durian stall with dining in? Looking for one to go feast with my colleagues. Hopefully not chop carrot type like Geylang ones. :o

u can go combat durian at balestier toa peh kong temple, combat uncle got premium durians, the price he sells is $12-$15kg for msw bah.. there are
tables and chairs can seat eat slowly :)

combat uncle won't any how open price chop you dah, but his durians
expensive .. opens from 6-7pm onwards..

Beta_Tester

Think my friends gonna order some for their family party. Combat. Lol.. wasted can't go. Can't jiak.

Eviltrap

u can go combat durian at balestier toa peh kong temple, combat uncle got premium durians, the price he sells is $12-$15kg for msw bah.. there are
tables and chairs can seat eat slowly :)

combat uncle won't any how open price chop you dah, but his durians
expensive .. opens from 6-7pm onwards..

Thanks for the recommendation! :s12:

tan1688

Paid $12 per kg. I did not call to reserve, but I went quite early at about 5.30pm. Can see that most people have called to reserve.

if you want kiasu a bit reserve also can lah, no extra charge mah,
tell combat uncle reserve the big mao shan wang durian >2kg one.
Combat uncle Facebook + hp

small durians boh hwa, paying for husk only

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.