Durian 2014

Kaki369

Is this ah teck?

Duriannight001.jpg

Minus the hair, and u got ur Ah Teck! I think this is the brother leh?

Gotta agree with Uncle Ender, his XO and Lao Tai Po is tok kong!

By the way Uncle Ender, do u mind sharing the potomg pasir stall details ie location, owner name and whats good please?

Thank you

orlengtao

Not trying to take sides or promote for anyone but price would be a secondary concern for me.

Primary concern would be the supply, I rather get durian from a stall that has its supply from a single source rather than mix of sources. Reason is simple, the QC and reliability of the former mentioned is higher.

Think about it, why 717, 818, Combat and Sindy (for eg) are so successful and have such a huge fan base? Reason is simple, they built a long lasting relationship with their supplier already. As such, quality is stable evdn though there are some misses. Nothing is perfect. U want perfect, go to the farms, reason being is perfection is defined by freshness in my opinion.

A stall I mentioned here gets his supply from multiple sources, quality and reliability of supply is thus unstable. To an extent where the seller himself is unable to control the quality. People say for investment, its wise to diversify and not put all ur eggs in one basket.

Me say for durian sellers, diversification is disasterous if u cant control ur supply. While its good consumers are given a wide choice of durians. From experience, I'd rather stick to the specialist or old timers with not too much variety to get quality and my money's worth.

MSW is graded by 2 important factors shape and weight. Good shape ie kidney and fat rugby, 1.8-2.5kg are usually classified AAA. And most imptly, grown on the hilltops. Sad to say these are usually exported to China and HK with SOME shipped to our shores. Basically KOK = Better Quality MSW with the abovementioned characteristics and of super duper freshness as its harvested and sent to SG straight.
ah seng durian quite famous 1 wor . recently just supplied durianmobilization. i find his supply of durian consistent and solid for the past 2 outing i went. I believe their fan base does not lose to the two store you stated.

orlengtao

:eek: I buy from there since it is "reputable" and near my house. Even ieatishoot also get him as a supplier for their event

duno wor. maybe he had an unpleasant experience with ah seng durian?

I've tried both of the stalls before and i must say that both stalls botak kho and ah seng have similar quality for their durians. Although i live near bukit batok (i live at cck), i will travel to ah seng due to them having a wide range cultivation to choose from!

madcampus

Just went to Combat in Balestier, bought 3 MSW durian at $12 per kg. Total damage = 5kg = $60. Brought back home, all 3 were damn good. Quality and consistency is there.

Wonder if the MSW price will drop. Will surely be back to buy more for elderly relatives.

Ender

By the way Uncle Ender, do u mind sharing the potomg pasir stall details ie location, owner name and whats good please?

Thank you

Sure, it's at the fruit stall at blk 148, facing the carpark, beside Broadway kopi tiam. Usually buy MSW from him. The reason I'm a regular, is becoz my in-laws stay there, pick up the kids there almost every other days. Sorry don't know the name of the fruit stall, but won't miss it as it's the only fruit stall there. The durian seller looks like Ah Teck, but he claim he has no relationship with him.:s13:

One day must try Lao Tai Poh, never try before.

Ender

Just went to Combat in Balestier, bought 3 MSW durian at $12 per kg. Total damage = 5kg = $60. Brought back home, all 3 were damn good. Quality and consistency is there.

Wonder if the MSW price will drop. Will surely be back to buy more for elderly relatives.

$12/kg, I think i can start to buy msw liao.

Kaki369

Sure, it's at the fruit stall at blk 148, facing the carpark, beside Broadway kopi tiam. Usually buy MSW from him. The reason I'm a regular, is becoz my in-laws stay there, pick up the kids there almost every other days. Sorry don't know the name of the fruit stall, but won't miss it as it's the only fruit stall there. The durian seller looks like Ah Teck, but he claim he has no relationship with him.:s13:

sWEE! Thank you :) quote ur name huh?

tekster

Thank you

this one location is where ah bro?

tekster

where is broadway kopitiam uncle ender?

ralliart_ray

Just bought 3 x D13, 1 x MSW and 1 x whitemeat (dont know what breed, anyone? Durian uncle told me its called small seed)

9509705712_984f6c754b_c.jpg

9509706420_fa817ccaa4_c.jpg

9506910781_a0f21db43f_c.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.