EC or resale flat?

TOKARA

remaining 15% cash or cpf, has to maintain min $148k in oa account?

derong07

hi all, quick question

can one apply for EC (say TOP around 2016)
while you still have 2.5 years MOP to clear ?

can we still apply, wait till it top/get keys and
sell off current hdb unit ?

appreciate some input.

From HDB website :-
[/u]

hi, may I know ur current flat is a BTO flat or resale flat?

if u have bot a resale flat without grant, then u can apply for an EC (as long as the TOP date of the EC is after ur MOP). However, if u bot a BTO direct from HDB or a resale flat WITH grant, then u will have to wait till ur MOP is over before u can apply for an EC.

hope this helps. :)

aptget

if u have bot a resale flat without grant, then u can apply for an EC (as long as the TOP date of the EC is after ur MOP). However, if u bot a BTO direct from HDB or a resale flat WITH grant, then u will have to wait till ur MOP is over before u can apply for an EC.

thanks for the reply. its a resale without grant. I'll go plan on the EC now :D

chilli2

hi all, quick question

can one apply for EC (say TOP around 2016)
while you still have 2.5 years MOP to clear ?

can we still apply, wait till it top/get keys and
sell off current hdb unit ?

appreciate some input.

From HDB website :-
[/u]

As long as there is a MOP need to be served you cant apply despite TOP of the EC is 2 or 3 year later.

As requirement you must sell your existing hdb flat 6 month before EC TOP

henrylbh

As long as there is a MOP need to be served you cant apply despite TOP of the EC is 2 or 3 year later.

Should be sell within 6 months after TOP.

If you sell 6 months before, you will have no where to stay!!!

henrylbh

My answer same as chilli2.

best call HDB

Just curious , since your HDB is resale without grant. Why still balance 2.5 yrs MOP?
I

I thought whether got grant or not, resale or bto, there is a MOP of 5 years.

derong07

Hi guys, kindly give HDB a call to clarify and confirm k if u all dun trust me ya. haha. :s13: I also didn't know of this difference last time.

There is actually a difference in eligibility to purchase an EC if your existing flat is a BTO, a resale with CPF Housing Grant, or a resale without CPF Housing Grant.

btw....here's a link from HDB website: HDB InfoWEB: Eligibility to buy Executive Condominium : Buying A New Flat

"Are you, your spouse or any of the essential occupiers listed in the application an existing owner or ex-owner of a:
Flat bought directly from HDB
DBSS flat bought from the developers
Resale flat bought under the CPF Housing Grant Scheme

If you belong to any of the above categories, you may apply to buy an EC on condition that a 5-year period (excluding any period of subletting of the whole flat) has lapsed from the *date of taking possession of the flat to the date of application for a new EC"

derong07

Note that "resale flat bought without any CPF Housing Grant" is not mentioned.

One example that u can apply for an EC even when ur MOP is not up:
=> Mr & Mrs ABC own a resale HDB bought from the open market without any grant and their MOP is on 31st Dec 2014
=> They plan to buy a unit at Waterbay EC which will TOP on 31st Mar 2016
=> They are eligible to purchase (assuming all other EC criteria are met as well)

henrylbh

Not that we dun believe what you said. But you didn't make it clear.

if u have bot a resale flat without grant, then u can apply for an EC (as long as the TOP date of the EC is after ur MOP).

However, if u bot a BTO direct from HDB or a resale flat WITH grant, then u will have to wait till ur MOP is over before u can apply for an EC.

Without grant, you still need to fulfil 5 yrs MOP before you can apply for EC if you purchased the resale flat after Aug 2010. If before mar 2010, the MOP is only 1 yr.

derong07

Not that we dun believe what you said. But you didn't make it clear.

Without grant, you still need to fulfil 5 yrs MOP before you can apply for EC if you purchased the resale flat after Aug 2010. If before mar 2010, the MOP is only 1 yr.

No worries. :) it is always advisable to call up HDB to double check.

I think u misunderstood what I wrote. If u bought a resale flat without grant, u can apply to purchase an EC as long as the TOP of the EC is after your MOP. This is only possible for resale flat owners who bought without grant.

derong07

If you don't even know of the difference than please don't act like you know and advice people in the forum and mislead them and after that come up with excuses as in oh i did not know of the difference blah blah all that crap. Please at least do your homework before giving any advice. Thanks

May I know why are u saying this?

I think I have to rephrase everything I wrote. I'm just trying to be helpful here and I do not get anything in return by answering some qns here.

I am not coming up with any excuse and from my 1st reply to the qn till now, I have been maintaining my stand abt the "resale without cpf housing grant" vs "bto flats/resale flat with grant".

I said I didn't know of this difference last time. And the difference I am referring to is that if u have bought a resale flat without grant, u can actually apply to purchase an EC (as long as the EC's TOP date is LATER than ur MOP date).

my facts are right so i'm asking u to clarify with HDB if u dun agree. why u need to accuse me and flame me like this?

derong07

People have eyes to see and decide there is no need to flame you. You can go one and type out your long whining explanation. My advice to you if you do not know find out first confirm and than advice in a public forum. There are lot amateurs here. I rest my case.

this is super weird. u come in here and whack me. then now u rest ur case. i may look silly to try to explain to u. but i hope u will just read thru the whole thread again before u try to stir something.

like i said, u can call HDB to ask. that's what i did previously when i was in doubt. and i'm juz sharing my past experience. some ppl may appreciate but some may not. but i certainly am not here for u to vent ur frustrations. maybe u have unpleasant experiences before. i juz hope u feel happier after all tis. :)

derong07

btw folks....I realised james910 is a troll. do check out his other postings in other threads.

henrylbh

No worries. :) it is always advisable to call up HDB to double check.

I think u misunderstood what I wrote. If u bought a resale flat without grant, u can apply to purchase an EC as long as the TOP of the EC is after your MOP. This is only possible for resale flat owners who bought without grant.

You mean if I have occupied my resale flat (without grant) for 2.5yrs to-date, I go and apply for EC tomorrow if the expected TOP is end 2015?

derong07

You mean if I have occupied my resale flat (without grant) for 2.5yrs to-date, I go and apply for EC tomorrow if the expected TOP is end 2015?

yup, you got it. :)

as long as the TOP is later than ur MOP. i just called HDB to check again just now. :s13:

this is something which i didn't know also until my colleague encountered this situation not too long ago.

CRViper

correct me if im wrong but I thought can only apply EC/BTO/purchase private properties only AFTER meeting the MOP even though construction/TOP is at a much later date?

aptget

Lol... This was my argument with a friend as well.

To my knowledge as long as MOP has not been met, one can't buy ANY unit. Even agent friend also say so.

Any way I going to call HDB cos I have a $100 bet riding on this LOLOL. But why do I have this feeling I am going to lose ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.